We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon Sept 2011”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Camps Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camps Bay Resort
Christchurch, Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Sept 2011”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We couldn't of asked for a better place to have our honeymoon. Camps Bay is a beautiful place and Camps Bay Resort is in a perfect position for all local amenities. The apartment was a classic studio and was very spacious and very clean. It had every facility needed to make it a very comfortable, memorable stay. The staff were very friendly and efficient, we went on quite a few tours whilst there which reception were more than happy to book for us and confirmed all details and ensured we were informed of any time changes immediately.

Every-one is so happy and greet you as you walk past them. The pool is kept clean and the sun-loungers are padded so very comfortable.

Cape Town is only a short distance away and would cost approx. £10 each way by taxi but they have a hop on hop off red and blue bus service that is 120rand (approx £10) (140rand summer season) per day which allows you as it says... hop on and hop off at the designated stops which is a much better way of seeing Cape Town, the beautiful bays and Table Mountain. The buses are every 20mins (red bus) & 45 mins (blue bus) from morning til late afternoon.

We would recommend any-one to come here, it is suitable for every-one, couples, familes or solo, you will love it!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purpletones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Camps Bay Resort, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we will see you in a years’ time for your anniversary and to catch up on all the news of the past year?

Kind regards
Karin Rauwerdink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    161
    59
    25
    15
See reviews for
112
171
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We had the most amazing room - the view was lovely and the decor was stunning. We would return in an instant. Our room was St Tropez.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Camps Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
St Tropez is one of our superior rooms with a private balcony and if you do not need a kitchen this is the ideal room to stay in. It does however have a coffee station and a small fridge. We have an additional 2 rooms in this category each with a balcony and beautiful views called Santorini and Clifton.

Regards
Karin Rauwerdink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We had a great stay at the Camps Bay resort. This is a real gem in such a fabulous location in up market Camps Bay. This property is about 3.5 star and is correctly marketed as such.

We were in the older (almost art deco) section close to the beach and the two bedroom apartment was clean, spacious and had a view of the rolling surf. We could walk out our door and along the beachfront to the camps Bay Village (about 50 meters). Highlights: Thorough booking process, great staff, rates reflective of star rating (ie: great value), most of all - the position. Lowlights: None at all. Camps Bay Resort is not 5 star but it has a 5 star location....

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for the older section at the front. However, the newer section at the rear h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Camps Bay Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for the positive review.
Our 2 and 3 bedroom apartments are the ones in front with the views. Smaller units do not always have this so please request before you arrive and we will do our utmost to accommodate you accordingly. Aside from the position our sunsets are also the most spectacular so do come and have a look.
Regards
Karin Rauwerdink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

I stayed in Park Studios for 4 months on and off. I loved the self catering aspect to the guest house - as i usually prefer eating at my own time and buying food that I like. My stay was made easier by the housekeeper provided to me - Elgonda. She was such a pleasure as she was not only a housekeeper that sought to the well being of the studio but went beyond duty when needed. I use to wake up with Elgonda watering the outside garden which was the best start to my morning. Her professionalism was always on top form. I would not have enjoyed my stay without Elgonda. Lulama was the other housekeeper who stood in for Elgonda on her off days. She was also amazing.


Park Studios 2 is a lovely quaint place that is well suited for any couple wanting privacy and a place that they can make their own. The studio is ideal for long term stay but can also suite short term stay. It is secure based on the security gate and where it is situated in Camps Bay. I never felt like anyone disturbed me as I wanted a private studio.


If i retired from work, Park Studios would be my ideal place of retirement. I miss staying in the studio.

Regards,
Margy Cloete

Room Tip: I found Park Studio 2 to be the most central, with the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameron a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Camps Bay Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Margy
It’s guests like you that make it great to be in the hospitality industry and as you stayed so long you became like family. You are missed by all. Park Studio is great and well situated being a football field away from the busy beachfront. It consists of 5 apartments with two of them looking out onto the pool, Park Studio 2 being one of them. We love receiving return guests and hope to see you in the future.
Kind Regards
Karin Rauwerdink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Just a quick note to thank all the staff at The Camps Bay Resort for all there help in making sure myself and two friends got to do our shark dive in Gansbaai. Due to poor weather and only a short space in which to do the dive all the staff went out of their way to help us achieve the dive. The hotel is very nice, clean and in our case fantastic views. A hidden gem location wise.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt17671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Camps Bay Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for your kind words.
Shark cage diving attracts many tourists to visit Cape Town and surroundings. This takes place in Gansbaai a 2 hours drive from the Camps Bay Resort and can be booked a night before if need be. Pick up can be quite early but you will not regret this as it will be a day outing you will never forget.
Regards
Karin Rauwerdink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

They made our stay in Cape town memorable. Beautiful location, marvelous staffs and always ready to help. We loved it. It was our first time to south africa and when ever we are there then there is only one place for us to stay and that is Camps Bay Resort

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Camps Bay Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
As a team we would like to thank you for your positive review. Although we have a 3 star property we always strive to provide 5 star service.

We are very proud of our staff and know our guests are always in good hands.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future in order for us to create more memories together.

Kind Regards
Chantel van Wyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

This was my second stay at the Resort. The staff is amazing and I felt very safe there. The units are big and i had a bath and shower.
The breakfast voucher is also a great bonus at Primmi Piatti just around the corner and you can use it the whole day for lunch, dinner or breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and a shower and a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Camps Bay Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Dear valued guest

We are very proud of our staff members and are pleased you had a wonderful time with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers and we do hope to see you back here on a future occasion.

Kind Regard
Karin Rauwerdink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
2.2 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Resort

Property: Camps Bay Resort
Address: 32 Camps Bay Dr, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa (Formerly Camps Bay Village)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Camps Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range and a stones throw from the most beautiful beaches in Cape Town, Camps Bay Resort is perfectly located for your dream holiday in this idyllic location. Within walking distance from an abundance of day and night activities, cafe's, sundowner spots, cocktail venues, fantastic restaurants and places to be seen, staying at Camps Bay Resort is both fun and convenient. A favourite pastime at Camps Bay Resort is to soak up the sun at the two swimming pools located on the property. Boasting a selection of 47 rooms, studios and apartments which are serviced and immaculately prepared, you'll find the perfect accommodation for your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camps Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Resort Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing