We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely - and I mean that with German sincerity”
Review of Cape Rose Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cape Rose Cottage
Ranked #7 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely - and I mean that with German sincerity”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

It is not often that a German can describe something with the adjective "lovley" and not sound like a pretentious douche (no, not the french word for shower). Our three-night-stay at Pam and Steve's Rose Cottage, however, completely and honestly was lovely.
The rooms are in the first floor so you have a good view over camps bay. Better yet, if you turn your head you can see the upper station of the table mountain. If its covered in clouds you know with one look that you should find another activity for the day, since you won't see anything up there (if they even drive). Just as good are Pam's homemade cookies that she leaves conveniently in a cookie jar in your room. It was hard not to wolf them down (thankfully they got replenished every day).
The cottage itself is a good starting point to drive into Cape Town to see the sights there. On the last day we also followed the coast to Chapmans Peak and onwards to the Cape of Good Hope. I can fully recommend it, but book early, otherwise you won't get any rooms.

Pro-Tip: If you using a GPS, do not trust the street names. Use latGPS coordinates Steve sends out. Why? Because there is a Fiskaal Road and a 8 Hoopoe Avenue above Atlantis, ca 55 km to the north. We went there (and back) and while it isn't a scary neighborhood it certainly isn't lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moritz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
311
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Cape Rose Cottage is a real gem. The decor and attention to detail is quite something. We stayed in the garden cottage unit. The room was immaculately clean and stocked with a collection of books, CDs and DVDs, which provided something different to normal hotel rooms. Pam and Steve were extremely hospitable, from welcoming us to Rose Cottage, providing useful advice on supper venues, to helping out when we had a puncture to our rental car. And we can't forget to mention Herbie, the loveable, resident ginger cat. Cape Rose really made our stay in Camps Bay even more memorable.

Room Tip: Ground floor cottage has a private entrance which is ideal if you are looking for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
358 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were looking for a place to end our two weeks in South Africa. After spending time on Safari, Whale Watching, and Diving with the Great Whites we really needed a place to unwind and relax at the end of our journey. Cape Rose Cottage was the PERFECT place to do just that. We met Pam at check-in and were completely amazed and the beautifully appointed bedrooms with their incredible views, the common area was well furnished and complete with honor bar (a nice touch). We hated to leave after our three nights and know without a doubt that on our next visit we wouldn’t stay anywhere else. We are well traveled and have stayed at many B&Bs and Inns and without a doubt Cape Rose is our favorite.

Room Tip: Hussar grill has awesome steaks and game meats. The night we were there Dolph Lundgren was dining at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinoBambinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Lovely bright room. Fantastic sea view out to the bay. Pam & Steve helpful but not too intrusive.

We only had one night unfortunately. It was nice to be able to wake up late and fix our own breakfast without a hotel timetable to hurry us along.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulDS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Cape Rose Cottage is perched above Camps Bay's Atlantic cost, crucially facing West, offering you priceless sun-dipping-into-sea sunsets. The rooms are extremely clean and tastefully decorated by your hosts, Pam & Steve, who are another major reason to stay here. They are warm, welcoming and extremely helpful in planning/adjusting your activities whilst in Cape Town. The rooms are spotless and cozy, with the Aquamarine Suite having the pick of the sea-views. A true home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howick, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Cape Rose Cottage after a disastrous start to our trip having booked into the appalling Village Lodge which we could not bare to spend another minute in.

Pam and Steve took us in at short notice and were absolute fabulous hosts. Cape Rose Cottage was absolutely stunning. We had the Rose suite with a small private patio and garden, and a self-catering breakfast which was absolutely ideal for us so that we could eat whenever we liked. The place was simply stunning and it is clear that a lot of time and effort has gone into making the cottages comfortable and homely for guests.

The sunsets are also breathtaking.

We would absolutely recommend Cape Rose Cottage for a beautiful stay in Camps Bay.

Room Tip: all three rooms are beautiful but if you prefer a quiet couples retreat then take the Rose Cottage a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mretief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here while at a wedding in Cape Town. Owners Pam and Steve made our stay very easy and pleasant . Location is perfect for getting to Cape Town and is nice and quiet.Rooms are lovely and homely.Will be coming back soon

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomdunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#5 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Le Gouverneur Guesthouse
Le Gouverneur Guesthouse
#2 of 54 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Bay Atlantic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rose Cottage

Property: Cape Rose Cottage
Address: 8 Hoopoe Avenue, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Rose Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in Camps Bay, Cape Rose Cottage is a 4 star graded guest house nestled under the Twelve Apostle mountains and is a beautiful haven for the discerning traveller offering breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean, magnificent sunsets, peace and tranquility, beautiful gardens, the sound of birds and gorgeous upmarket accommodation close by to the beachfront and restaurants. Pam and Steve invite you to enjoy three beautiful, romantic and luxurious suites with heavenly views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cape Rose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Rose Cottage Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing