We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well kept guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Diamond Guest House
Ranked #29 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well kept guest house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The location of this guest house is amazing. You have a great view of Camps Bay and Lion's head. The guest house is nice and clean and has very comfortable beds in spacious rooms. Service is excellent and management is very helpful when booking restaurants and trips. Breakfast is good quality but varied.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    20
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
49
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chesterfield,
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

My Dad and I have just completed our stay at this charming guesthouse. Exceptionally friendly, clean and with great views of camps bay and table mountain.

Great attention to detail including a very reasonably prices laundry service, amazing choice for breakfast in a lovely open area with views of the sea. Bathrobe and slippers in the room and a little amenity box with tact numbers, 1st aid and sewing kit etc...

We stayed in the dolphin room with fantastic sea views. 30 min walk or 5 min drive into camps bay and a lovely terrace with pool.

Great advice on restaurants and day trips from Ziggy and Helga. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and would highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kay28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We rented a car to stay for nights in Cape Town, so we chose to stay near the beach, at Camps Bay. It couldn't be a best choice! Helga and Sigi are always nice, trying to help at any time. The Guest House is really good, the rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is very good. And it is close to Table Mountain, and to Camps Bay, in a really quiet place, to sleep well at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClauDiasPerezMachado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Gudrun Germany


Diamond House is a place to relax, a nature garden is surrounding the house. You have a beautiful view to the ocean and on the backside you can see the twelve Apostles, table mountain and lions head. From the terrace or depending the room you book you can see the sunset and sunrise. Helga and Sigi as well the other 2 ladies were very kind and helpful. By having breakfast you have a beautiful view to the ocean. The rooms are different styled nice and clean. In the living room also used as breakfast room I have used the computer for free, there is also a coach corner with a lot of books and a big bowl of fruits.

The location of Diamond house is great close to Capetown, half an hour walk to the beach and to start sightseeing tours. Therefore it´s the best to have a car. From Camps Bay you can took the sightseeing bus, there are 2 routes the blue and the red bus. The blue route is great. I love this place and will going back here on my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GudrunS1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

This B&B is very clean and has a fantastic view over Camps Bay. Watching the sunset from the terrace with a glass of white will be a fabulous memory from our honeymoon for the rest of our lives.

I don't mean to be critical for the sake of it but I want to be realistic. Whilst 1 night at the Diamond House was OK there are a number of areas we would have preferred not to experience:

1) The Garden Room doesn't have any view aside from a boulder and a tree. It's a shame given the fantastic views the rest of the house enjoys and I don't believe - given the house seemed quiet - this is the room we were given

2) There is a charge of 30 RND for wi-fi. We stayed in 5 guest houses in our time in SA. This was the only one that tried to charge for wi-fI. I understand its not unlimited like it is in the UK, however other houses just politely gave us the password and asked we don't download videos, photos, etc. We only wanted to pick up emails, and a charge is unfair given the minimal marginal cost and the over GBP100 per night room cost

3) The fridge in our room generated all night off and on. It made a real noise when 'on' and was even worse than a constant hum.

4) The house is lovely but it is dated. A lot of the decor, appliances and approach are 90's. Please don't be put off by this as it is comfortable and clean, but please be aware in terms of expectations

5) At 8am in the morning we were woken by conversation and laughter in the breakfast room above our bedroom. We by no means resented people having a good time over breakfast. But 8am is fairly early and we would have expected not to be woken by others at this time

6) Breakfast wasn't very good. My newlywed wife doesn't eat eggs but in other B&B's has enjoyed bacon and mushrooms for example. The hot option here was just eggs, no alternative. The fruit was minimal in choice, the cheese old and the sliced bread stale.

I really don't mean to be harsh. It was fine for 1 night. But we stayed in comparably priced B&B's in Franschoek, Wilderness, and Stellenbosch and every one was fantastic without suffering the problems noted above.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonMike1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Beautiful location with great views of the ocean and Table Mountain. Easy drive or taxi to popular resorts in Cape Town. Camps Bay waterfront with many restaurants only short taxi ride away (only cost £2.50!). Excellent accommodation with clean comfortable rooms, breakfast area has great views and delicious breakfasts. Spacious pools area very good for relaxing. Staff all friendly and helpful. I would strongly recommend this guest house and will stay here when we next visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

.... guest house, facilities, breakfast, very helpful and friendly. Only draw back is 1/2 hr walk to Camps Bay but ok to do, having a car would make it more than perfect. Having said this I did everything that I wanted to from Diamond House. I'd definitely recommend and re visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janieog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
African Dreams Guest House
African Dreams Guest House
#24 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.5 mi away
61 On Camps Bay
61 On Camps Bay
#28 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Finchley Guesthouse
Finchley Guesthouse
#19 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bay Atlantic Guest House
0.8 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#6 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Guest House

Property: Diamond Guest House
Address: 61 Hely Hutchinson Avenue, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamond Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Guest House is uniquely situated on the slopes of Table Mountain with breathtaking views of the Twelve Apostles and the Atlantic Ocean. Our beautiful Guest House has seven rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms. There are three Sea View Suites, two Luxury Garden Suites and two Garden Suites. Our seven en suite bedrooms are superbly appointed and spaciously designed with décor that gives a feel of Africa. Each room has ocean, mountain or Nature Reserve views. They have added comforts of air-conditioning, under-floor heating, minibar, telephones, televisions, Mnet and electronic safes.Start your day at Diamond House with a good and healthy full continental breakfast in our sun filled lounge and end it as the vibrant African sun sinks into the ocean with a sundowner on the pool deck. Our friendly English and German speaking staff will gladly offer advice and assistance of what to see and do while here and are only too keen to give recommendations on where to dine out in Camps Bay and Cape Town. We'll make reservations on your behalf and book transport if you prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Diamond Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Guest House Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing