We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I did not enjo Diamond Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Diamond Guest House
Ranked #29 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I did not enjo Diamond Guest House”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I did not enjoy my stay at Diamond Guest House and advise you not to stay there.
Firstly, the location is not practical unless you have a car. It's a good 30 minute walk to the beach area (where the restaurants and shops are). Walking back would take even longer as it's all uphill. There is a local bus, but you have to get a prepaid ticket and they are not frequent.
We booked a "Junior Suite with Garden View". It was not a suite and we did not have a garden view. Our room was on the lower floor, which felt like a cave, and the view was of bush land scrub. The décor in the room was extremely dated, the room was dusty, and there were power sockets hanging out of the walls.
There was no air-conditioning, and we had to sleep with the windows closed as we were on the ground floor and it didn't feel secure.
The bathroom was full of mould, and the tiles on the floor were so slippery that I fell over a few times. There was no bath - only a shower, with some of the parts missing off the fittings.
The breakfast was average.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bendrusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    20
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
49
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The location of this Guest House is just perfect: a few minutes drive down to Camps Bay (if you absolutely have to go there?) and 10 minutes to central Cape Town, also during the Christmas Holiday season. Parking just outside the house. Very friendly and helpful welcome by the hostess Sigge. We loved the rooms and the pool area, with stunning views of the sea, the surrounding mountains and the sunset. Clean and tidy rooms and bathrooms, most comfortable beds. Very calm and quite area. We slept with open windows listening to the sea breeze. Very good breakfast, but unfortunately only white bread being served (some rye/dark bread is on our wish list!) We also appreciated the courtesy bar in the lobby, the bathrobes and slippers in the rooms, and the sweet house cat Amie! Still, we feel that the room prices might be slightly high, considering the overall standard of the house, where a bit of paint here and there plus some more watering of the plants (which all looked dry and thirsty) would make wonders.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I'm just finishing a 10 day stay at this B&B, which in fact is much more than a B&B. The physical infrastructure is about 3.5-4.0 star with nice rooms, cleaned daily, beautiful dining and outside seating areas, including a small swimming pool, also cleaned daily. The location in Camps Bay is excellent and just 10-15 minutes by taxi (about $5) to get to Cape Town downtown. Camps Bay itself has great restaurants (you can eat like God for $40 including wine) and is a beautiful residential area. The best thing however is that the 2 ladies who manage Diamond House, Helga and Ziggy, are both originally German but speak English like natives and organize absolutely everything for guests including restaurant bookings, taxis, outings and whatever else. Seldom have I had such excellent service (provided at no extra cost) and with such good humor. Albert Kerkenaar, Switzerland

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorsten, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The Diamond Guest House is THE place to stay in Cape Town. It is a very friendly, clean, quiet and has a wonderful view. Thanks again to Helga and her team. She is one of the reasons to come back to the Diamond House. :-) In December we visited Cape Town for the third time and we stayed at the Diamond House for the third time. And we will come back! I think, this says it all.

Room Tip: The Kingfisher Suite has a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silke-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The location of this guest house is amazing. You have a great view of Camps Bay and Lion's head. The guest house is nice and clean and has very comfortable beds in spacious rooms. Service is excellent and management is very helpful when booking restaurants and trips. Breakfast is good quality but varied.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield,
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

My Dad and I have just completed our stay at this charming guesthouse. Exceptionally friendly, clean and with great views of camps bay and table mountain.

Great attention to detail including a very reasonably prices laundry service, amazing choice for breakfast in a lovely open area with views of the sea. Bathrobe and slippers in the room and a little amenity box with tact numbers, 1st aid and sewing kit etc...

We stayed in the dolphin room with fantastic sea views. 30 min walk or 5 min drive into camps bay and a lovely terrace with pool.

Great advice on restaurants and day trips from Ziggy and Helga. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and would highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kay28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We rented a car to stay for nights in Cape Town, so we chose to stay near the beach, at Camps Bay. It couldn't be a best choice! Helga and Sigi are always nice, trying to help at any time. The Guest House is really good, the rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is very good. And it is close to Table Mountain, and to Camps Bay, in a really quiet place, to sleep well at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClauDiasPerezMachado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
African Dreams Guest House
African Dreams Guest House
#24 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.5 mi away
61 On Camps Bay
61 On Camps Bay
#28 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Finchley Guesthouse
Finchley Guesthouse
#19 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bay Atlantic Guest House
0.8 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#6 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Guest House

Property: Diamond Guest House
Address: 61 Hely Hutchinson Avenue, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamond Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Guest House is uniquely situated on the slopes of Table Mountain with breathtaking views of the Twelve Apostles and the Atlantic Ocean. Our beautiful Guest House has seven rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms. There are three Sea View Suites, two Luxury Garden Suites and two Garden Suites. Our seven en suite bedrooms are superbly appointed and spaciously designed with décor that gives a feel of Africa. Each room has ocean, mountain or Nature Reserve views. They have added comforts of air-conditioning, under-floor heating, minibar, telephones, televisions, Mnet and electronic safes.Start your day at Diamond House with a good and healthy full continental breakfast in our sun filled lounge and end it as the vibrant African sun sinks into the ocean with a sundowner on the pool deck. Our friendly English and German speaking staff will gladly offer advice and assistance of what to see and do while here and are only too keen to give recommendations on where to dine out in Camps Bay and Cape Town. We'll make reservations on your behalf and book transport if you prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Diamond Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Guest House Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing