We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Town Finally”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
African Dreams Guest House
Ranked #24 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cape Town Finally”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

After an extraordinary tour of Kruger, St Lucia and The Drakensburg - could African Dreams live up to our now high expectations? Without a doubt! The views are to die for - the rooms both luxurious and convenient. The kitchenettes are a great touch giving you an alternative to eating out if you need one. The location is ideal - 10 minutes to the Cable Car - or 15 minutes to the waterfront (in winter out of rush hour!)The pool was pristine - our boys braved a dip but it was short. Thank you Fanie and Jeanette for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Book the Lion's Den if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    18
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We had an AWESOME experience staying at African Dreams B&B. Our hosts were welcoming and the room was comfortable & clean. Jeanette and Fanny shared great day trip ideas and tips to make make sure we did not encounter typical tourist frustrations. Our breakfast was typical of most B&B's in the area and tasted great. The location is close enough to Cape Town and other attractions to be convenient but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet, away from the fast pace of busy towns.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cincygirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

For once, accomodation that lives up to its billing! Jeanette and Fanny were the perfect hosts. Friendly, helpful and generous. Certainly value for money. If we ever visit Capetown in the future we will not look any further than African Dreams....Perfect!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richardlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at African Dreams at the beginning of our holiday in South Africa and it was indeed the beginning of our African Dream. We stayed for four nights, Jeanette and Fanie were amazing, nothing was too much trouble for them and we were made to feel totally at home. The location and rooms are delightful. Camps Bay can be a bit windy but the guest house seemed to be in a sheltered spot, the pool was always inviting and the views stunning. We will definitely return on our next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suepeterpamjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed in the Elephant Room for 2 stints, one of 4 days, one of 5 and would recommend it to anyone.... Camps Bay is lovely although can be a bit windy especially higher up. However, the guest house itself has great views over the bay from both the rooms and the pool... It was a great spot to unwind after a day's sightseeing. As other reviews here say, Fanie and Jeanette are spectularly helpful and nice people and really couldn't do enough for us (even gave us a lift into town to turn up for a trip when our taxi didn't arrive on time). Even before we got there, Fanie was acting as our unofficial tour guide, helping on further accomodation and trips/itinerary etc.
Definitely recommended...

Room Tip: Elephant room is a nice one next to the pool. Their penthouse room I think was called the Lion room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed at this GH for 4 nights and didn't want to leave !!! Fanie and Jeanette are great people !! They let us feel like we were home and were willing to help us at anytime ! They take the time to advise you and are just the kindest people we've ever met !
The room (Lion's Den) was fabulous with amazing view on Camps Bay and the sunset!!
The breakfasts were always very good with plenty of food! I would recommand this place to anyone who would like to feel at home and to have a friendly stay !! I will definitely go back there next time !! Thank you again so much for everything you did to make our stay unforgettable ! Charlotte and Julien from France

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

African dreams guest house was a kind of guest house we wanted. It has sensational view, clear- blue pool & good location!! You can have your silence but at the same time it takes less than 5 min to campsbay.
We did ' guesthouse- hoping', but this was definitely the best one & only one we want to stay again. Owner of the guesthouse were full of information about the town & full of hearts. They are really friendly and always willing to help you.
I would recommend to friends& family !!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inasuitcasein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Bay Atlantic Guest House
0.3 mi away
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#5 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Gouverneur Guesthouse
Le Gouverneur Guesthouse
#2 of 54 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Finchley Guesthouse
Finchley Guesthouse
#19 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Surprise
Villa Surprise
#27 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Dreams Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Dreams Guest House

Property: African Dreams Guest House
Address: 17 A Francolinrd | Camps Bay, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — African Dreams Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the slopes of Table Mountain in the heart of magnetically beautiful and picturesque Camps Bay, African Dreams Guest House delights guests with elegant, private and relaxed bed & breakfast accommodation. Known for our warm hospitality and service, African Dreams provides an extensive range of services and facilities to cater to all the needs of our guests. Allow yourself to be pampered in our exclusive in-house beauty salon, or simply lie back and relax at the pool with a cocktail, taking in the amazing panoramic views of the mountain and shimmering beaches. African Dreams combines outdoor living with excellent facilities and services, as well as a unique and warm South African charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your African Dreams Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Dreams Guest House Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing