We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it and We'll be back, Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #46 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
1 review
“We loved it and We'll be back, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Excellent Hotel in the hub of the city of Cape Town and very convinience, safe, clean, friendly and helpful staff and security tight. ideal for business, leisure and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tshilidzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thank you very much for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre a leader in excellence.

Kind Regards
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    411
    108
    23
    3
See reviews for
94
282
89
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in total in Jul/Aug. We arrived early at the hotel,11am and we had not made any prior arrangements for early check in.however,the staff at front desk managed to get us a room within the hour as we waited at the lounge.the room was spacious in comparison to other holiday inns.The buffet breakfast was also wider than most holiday inns which was great! The location of the hotel is right at the centre of the city giving easy access to any place in cape town.Suprisingly,it was not noisy at all and we enjoyed our sleep!It was our first time in Cape town and were here for Holiday.The reception staff were very helpful in giving us information and in particular what we were interested in.There are nice restaurants right by the hotel which offer great variety for food.For the price we paid,it was definitely worth it and we would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciko_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We chose this hotel based on location (right in the heart of Cape Town) and price, but were very pleasantly surprized by the quality of the rooms and overall building. Our room was very newly refurbished, clean and modern. The overall hotel was also at least equal to many others at a much higher price. In addition, the breakfast included in our reservation was great (full buffet including eggs, bacon, fresh baking, expresso, etc.). Free internet in the small business center. Excellent and friendly service as well. We would not hesitate to go back and would highly recommend this moderately priced property to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RugbyGuy1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding the Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

The hotel was a great value and included the breakfast buffet. The rooms were okay and clean, but the rooms were very small as was the television. There wasn't attention to details - the shower head holder in both rooms was partly broken and wouldn't adjust to move up and down and one room was missing the luggage rack. The internet was outrageously expensive - the hotel only gives you one 30 minute internet voucher regardless of how many nights you stay. Luckily there is an internet cafe around the corner. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there are good restaurants nearby. The downtown district is deserted at night, so I wouldn't want to wander out too far on my own, but we generally went to the waterfront and then were let off by a taxi at the hotel door so that wasn't a real issue. In summary, the hotel was cheap enough to overlook the shortcomings, but if you can find a bargain closer to the waterfront that would be better.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank plains26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
118 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

This Hotel is a good budget option in downtown cape town. Had a corner room which I think is more spacious than the standard rooms and had lots of windows including in the bathroom. Main negatives are the very expensive Internet (get a sim card at vodacom for your smartphone, 3G is very cheap in SA) and the TV was very small with limited programming. You'll need to drive on the pedestrian driveway to get to the parking. There were no major problems and the room was clean so would recommend based on value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

I have just returned from a week in the Cape Town with my teenage daughters, and I can thoroughly recommend this hotel. It chose itself as the only one in Cape Town that I could use my Priority Club points with, but in fact it exceeded my expectations.

Service was excellent, from Cindy on reservations to the reception staff and security at the entrance/garage. I had emailed them previously to ask for connecting rooms on the upper floors with a view to Table Mountain, and that is exactly what Cindy arranged for us - perfect!

It was a bit of a challenge to find the hotel with our hire car on the first day but in hindsight the directions they provided were spot on - it was just a bit hairy driving through the pedestrianised shopping streets in an unfamiliar city. Parking was 50 R per day in the secure underground car park, we had no problems with th ecar park but I could imagine it could be a challenge to park in high season

Rooms were standard mid range quality and had everything we needed. If I am being picky, lighting in the rooms was a bit dim (especially as we were visiting in mid winter with it getting dark early) but this seems to be standard in hotels everywhere now and HIE is no different to other hotels I use so it wasn't really an issue. Free internet access would have been good, we got vouchers for 30 mins free that were adequate, and would have had to buy more vouchers from reception. But in fact I had bought a pre pay sim card from MTN with an internet bundle at the airport which I used in my smart phone so I managed without needing the hotel access. Costs using the MTN sim card were 5 R for 75MB or 15 R for 300MB, I made heavy use on the phone and spent 20R total over 6 days, it would have been a lot more expensive using hotel vouchers.

There's no restaurant at the hotel but most nights we ate at the Doppio Italian restaurant virtually next door which was excellent value for money and good quality. Complimentary breakfast in the hotel was fine, just what you'd expect and there was plenty of choice.

Location was good, we could walk out into the city centre shopping streets, although being in the city centre it was too far to walk to the waterfront for the full tange of restaurants and on the couple of evenings that we ate there we took the car. During the day we felt perfectly safe walking around the area, but at night as it was very quiet so we didn't take any chances and we either went to the waterfront by car or over the road to the local restaurant

I'd certainly use the hotel again, either travelling with my family or on business.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on upper floors with a view to Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleHaye5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
370 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of April, and early May for part of our South African vacation and had a nice time. Initially finding the hotels location was DIFFICULT even with a GPS. Without calling the front desk I don't know if we'd have ever found it. The room was small but adequate, service was good, breakfast was adequate, one thing I really have to blast is the cost of the internet, it was something in the neighborhood of 35 USD per day! Truly beyond ridiculous. I have read on more recent reviews that the hotel now is going to have complimentary internet, which it really should be for this type of hotel. That said, we did some really fun stuff...Table Mountain, Shark Cage Diving in Gansbaii, went to the true south tip of Africa at Cape Agulhas, went to a cool little brewery/pub in Napier for the southernmost brewery in Africa (Napier Beer... pretty decent too!) Saw the penguins at Boulders Beach and walked along the Cape Town waterfront, all of it was fun... I had used points to stay at the hotel so that made it worth our while. They charge for parking at this hotel but its fairly reasonable. There are also some neat street markets right around the property and we also at at a really good Ethiopian restaurant nearby... lots of stuff to do around there. I'd stay there again especially if the internet is complementary, which might let me get more business done!

Room Tip: High floor, Table Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#64 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
#39 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing