We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$169
Taj Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$489
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$130
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$623
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$489
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$350
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveller rating
242
482
136
25
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
482
136
25
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetpedestrian mallhi expressst georges mallcentral locationper daybudget hotelgreen market squaregreenmarket squarecompany gardenswalking distancestayed at this hotel for nightsreception staffdouble bednight lifethe breakfast areatable mountain
Filter
Updating list...
563 - 568 of 889 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This hotel has it all: location, cleanliness, reasonable price with excellent breakfast included and the most well trained, accommodating staff you will find. We have stayed at hotels all over the world, many fancier but this is a top value!

Room Tip: Room #1401 is very quiet
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback on your recent stay and the service that you received at our hotel.

I will definitely share your comments with my entire team to further enforce the good work that they are doing in ensuring that the Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre team becomes known for their outstanding service levels.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Walking distance to Green market and abt 30min walk to V&A waterfront. Money changers are plenty outside the hotel and many street stalls selling handicraft, clothes, bags, etc, just outside the hotel. With security at the entrance, we felt really comfortable.

Also walking distance to the road near Strand St., with a Shell Petrol station and where there are plenty of car rental companies, very useful if you intend to rent a car for a scenic drive to cape point. We strongly recommend doing this compared to joining a day tour, as it is much cheaper and you get more freedom with a self drive. Road signs are plenty, so you need not worry abt getting lost.

Do note that this is an "express" so the double beds are rather small, so if you do not mind separate beds, maybe you can request for twin beds instead. Free 30mb internet access per device is good. With Iphones, Ipad, and netbook these days, limiting 30mb to 1 device doesnt really affect us.

Reception staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Double beds are small, so request for twin beds if you dun mind separate beds.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_HEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words expressing your overall stay with us. Guest comments and feedback can go a long long way and it also provides us with a good barometer in gauging how we are doing, which in your case was fantastically well.

Safe travels wherever you may be at this time and thanks again for taking the time to post your review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

good prices, functional rooms, friendly staff. The lack of lunch or dinner in the hotel is really no problem at all: there are at least 2 excellent places no more than 2 minutes away. If you are driving, be sure to get clear directions beforehand. Finding it can be confusing. Otherwise, recommended highly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alpha69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

I was delighted to read your positive comments about our hotel and especially the positive comments about location and the proximity to restaurants in the area.

Our objective is to provide the very best service at a reasonable price and I am pleased that our hotel suited your needs.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Lovely sweet hotel with the most engaging staff (especially Yolanda) who are always helpful and very pleasant. The rooms are big and bright, clean with a nice updated decore. The hotel is located in a great area of Cape Town, close to all the attractions so a car is not needed. If you have a car, there is parking (but it is tight). Breakfast is ok, nothing to write home about.

Now the BUT

The internet that they give you is 30 mb and then it logs off (that took me 5 min) and its impossibly slow.

The rooms that overlook St. George are noisy and even though I was on the 10th floor, it was loud.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Many thanks for your very positive review of our hotel, especially regarding our team, who will always ensure guest comfort and satisfaction during their stay. I was pleased to hear that you found our location convenient.

May I offer my sincere apologies for the area where we have let you down. Our internet offering is 30 MB per room per day and this is usually sufficent for day to day usage. Addtional Internet usage is available to purchase at a nominal rate and my apologies if you were not made aware of this in advance.

Regarding the noise levels, being in the City Centre there is unfortunately noise from the stall owners that set up the stalls on the pedestrian walkway, we do try and ensure the noise levels are kept as low as possible.

We do look forward to being of service to you in the future and welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Recently had a business trip to Cape Town and stayed at the HIE on my points for the weekend. Well located. Clean, well appointed rooms. Desk staff were terrific. Great breakfast at hotel. No dinner restaurant but a couple restaurants across the street on the Mall. Doppio's is terrific, good food and good value. Very comfortable for a single woman traveler!

Room Tip: Had some construction going on below; ask for a higher floor.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre a leader in excellence.

The positive review of Doppio Zero is wonderful to read and I will ensure that your comments are passed onto the management and owners of the restaurant.

Regarding the construction, unfortunately it is being done in the shop on the corner, although it is not part of the hotel we are trying as much as possible to work with the owners to ensure the least amount of inconvenience to our valued guests.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews