We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Mauritius
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed for 4 nights, location is excellent just around the corner from a lot of restaurants/bar and you can walk to the water front.
The staff are very friendly and I found the rooms very clean but it can be noisy from the street outside.
They can also organize airport transfers which was very well done.

Room Tip: If you are driving yourself there and don’t know the area b sure to get a good map and directions as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel.
We are delighted that we could be of service to you. Our location in Cape Town City Centre is one of our greatest assets and the proximity to the African Craft market and many restaurants, bars and coffee shops are great attractions within walking distance of our hotel.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    423
    114
    23
    3
See reviews for
95
291
90
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
309 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Very good location in the city center,one block from main shopping streets and restaurants. Nice lobby/bar , family room if you need. The normal rooms maybe a little small . Friendly and helpful staff . Good value .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to note that you found all our services useful and convenieint. Our location is one of the features that many of our coproprate and leisure guests mention as their primary reason for staying in our hotel.

We do hope we can be of service to you in future and we look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel at the end of a superb tour of South Africa. The location is great and the staff are just wonderful, but the rooms are quite small although consistent with the very reasonable tariff. However on the two nights we stayed the right hand lift, which seemed to be the default one, made a rumbling noise which seemed to shake the whole building. This kept us awake and spoiled what would otherwise have been a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelaideview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel and I was pleased to note that you found our location favourable and that our team was helpful during your stay.

My sincere apologies that you experienced noise during your stay from the elevator and this matter has already been addressed with the company that services the elevators to ensure that this does not occur in the future. The instruction has been given to them to isolate any lifts that are noisy whilst they source the necessary belts to make the repairs.

We do hope we can be of service to you in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 7 nights in March. It was both of our first visits to Africa. I can't express how nice and professional the front desk staff were. They were so helpful at giving directions and advice. Not to mention they always had smiles on their faces and were very friendly. I could go on and on. 5 star service.

The location of this hotel is phenomenal. It is steps away from restaurants, a pharmacy, a huge market to buy gifts, taxis, the hop on and off bus route, ect. You can't go wrong.

We are two females in our late 20's so night life is walking distance away. Its TONS of security all over the area. Even though it gets dark at night, we never felt unsafe.

The rooms were very clean, a little small but you are in cape town... there is so much to see and do...who stays in their room?

Free breakfast was also a plus. I see the complaints about it "getting old". But it's free and how much variation can one have with breakfast. There is a coffee machine (the one that can do lattes, espresso, cappuccino,ect), yogurt with fresh fruit, eggs, pastries, breads, deli meat, juices...my point is it's more than I eat on a normal basis at home and a great way to trim a little off the cost of a vacation.

The cost of the hotel for a major city was very reasonable.

I just want to say thank you to all the staff for making our first time in Africa so memorable.

When I come back, I will return to this hotel.

xoxo,
marissa

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariswil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
I was very pleased to learn of your positive experience at our hotel recently and in particular your gracious compliments relating to our team members.

Our intention is to create a memorable and enjoyable experience for all of our valued guests and it is gratifying to learn that we exceeded your expectations.

I will certainly pass on your thanks and good wishes to the employees concerned.
We look forward to being of service to you when you are next in Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Nicely located hotel, which gives you what you payed for.
Notwithstanding, if you are traveling with your spouse (or couple), make sure you ask for two twin beads, since the double bead isn't big enough for two to sleep.
People at front desk are very nice and will help you on every need.
Please note that the rooms do not have nice views at all: you will be among buildings.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sromero27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Many thanks for your positive review of Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre during your recent stay with us. I was pleased to note that you were satisfied with our services and in particular the interaction with our team members. The City Centre Precinct has recently experienced a significant upgrade with many new restaurants and entertainment areas that appeal to many of our guests.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Holiday Inn Express and we were very satisfied with our choice.
We booked a transfer from the airport to the hotel and a driver picked us up. It's 250 ZAR, I dont know if there are cheaper ways, but for us it was very convinient.
Service personnel is very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are of good size and clean, the bathroom was quite new.
Breakfast is normal hotel style, toast, scrabbled eggs, fresh fruits etc.
The hotel is located directly at St. Georges Mall and very close to Greenmarket Square. At night there were always Security Persons on the street so we felt very safe, even walking back in the dark.
So for the price it is a good value in the city centre, close to everything.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cococay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words expressing your overall stay with us. Compliments however small, can go a long long way and it also provides us with a good barometer in gauging how we are doing, which in your case was fantastically well.

Safe travels wherever you may be at this time and thanks again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed here for two nights to explore the city. I had done extensive searching on Trip Advisor to get a good, safe affordable hotel in Cape Town, and I feel that we made a good choice. Airport pickup was easily arranged through the hotel by email, which eased my concerns a lot. The day of departure we were able to leave our bags in a locked room in the lobby until we were ready to pick them up. The location is centrally located. The rooms are very modern and uniquely decorated, and very comfortable and clean.
And the breakfast included every morning....WOW. Best breakfast I have ever had at a hotel. It was simply amazing. I could have spent all day eating breakfast there. Croissants, yogurt, ,cheese, eggs, fruits, coffee...
Staff was friendly and helpful to us when we had questions about the area.
It was a reasonably priced stay, but more expensive than budget, I would say it was worth the money. I also stayed at another hotel just about a mile away that was the same price that was older and not as nice, so I'd definitely recommend the Holiday Inn over any older ones. Would definitely stay again!!
The location is good, just be careful walking around the city at night.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minniglobetrekkergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Your comments about our hotel are much appreciated and we thank you for the positive remarks regarding our location and facilities offered.

I was pleased to learn of the compliments regarding our Food and Beverage offering and that you found your stay to be comfortable.
We hope to see you in our hotel upon your return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
797 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
955 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,249 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#66 of 109 in Cape Town Central
326 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing