We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$882
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$489
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$623
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$489
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveller rating
242
482
136
25
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
482
136
25
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetpedestrian mallhi expressst georges mallcentral locationper daybudget hotelgreen market squaregreenmarket squarecompany gardenswalking distancestayed at this hotel for nightsreception staffdouble bednight lifethe breakfast areatable mountain
Filter
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 889 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed for 4 nights, location is excellent just around the corner from a lot of restaurants/bar and you can walk to the water front.
The staff are very friendly and I found the rooms very clean but it can be noisy from the street outside.
They can also organize airport transfers which was very well done.

Room Tip: If you are driving yourself there and don’t know the area b sure to get a good map and directions as you have to drive up a pedestrian road.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel.
We are delighted that we could be of service to you. Our location in Cape Town City Centre is one of our greatest assets and the proximity to the African Craft market and many restaurants, bars and coffee shops are great attractions within walking distance of our hotel.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Very good location in the city center,one block from main shopping streets and restaurants. Nice lobby/bar , family room if you need. The normal rooms maybe a little small . Friendly and helpful staff . Good value .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Many thanks for your wonderful review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to note that you found all our services useful and convenieint. Our location is one of the features that many of our coproprate and leisure guests mention as their primary reason for staying in our hotel.

We do hope we can be of service to you in future and we look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel at the end of a superb tour of South Africa. The location is great and the staff are just wonderful, but the rooms are quite small although consistent with the very reasonable tariff. However on the two nights we stayed the right hand lift, which seemed to be the default one, made a rumbling noise which seemed to shake the whole building. This kept us awake and spoiled what would otherwise have been a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelaideview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel and I was pleased to note that you found our location favourable and that our team was helpful during your stay.

My sincere apologies that you experienced noise during your stay from the elevator and this matter has already been addressed with the company that services the elevators to ensure that this does not occur in the future. The instruction has been given to them to isolate any lifts that are noisy whilst they source the necessary belts to make the repairs.

We do hope we can be of service to you in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 7 nights in March. It was both of our first visits to Africa. I can't express how nice and professional the front desk staff were. They were so helpful at giving directions and advice. Not to mention they always had smiles on their faces and were very friendly. I could go on and on. 5 star service.

The location of this hotel is phenomenal. It is steps away from restaurants, a pharmacy, a huge market to buy gifts, taxis, the hop on and off bus route, ect. You can't go wrong.

We are two females in our late 20's so night life is walking distance away. Its TONS of security all over the area. Even though it gets dark at night, we never felt unsafe.

The rooms were very clean, a little small but you are in cape town... there is so much to see and do...who stays in their room?

Free breakfast was also a plus. I see the complaints about it "getting old". But it's free and how much variation can one have with breakfast. There is a coffee machine (the one that can do lattes, espresso, cappuccino,ect), yogurt with fresh fruit, eggs, pastries, breads, deli meat, juices...my point is it's more than I eat on a normal basis at home and a great way to trim a little off the cost of a vacation.

The cost of the hotel for a major city was very reasonable.

I just want to say thank you to all the staff for making our first time in Africa so memorable.

When I come back, I will return to this hotel.

xoxo,
marissa

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariswil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

I was very pleased to learn of your positive experience at our hotel recently and in particular your gracious compliments relating to our team members.

Our intention is to create a memorable and enjoyable experience for all of our valued guests and it is gratifying to learn that we exceeded your expectations.

I will certainly pass on your thanks and good wishes to the employees concerned.
We look forward to being of service to you when you are next in Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Nicely located hotel, which gives you what you payed for.
Notwithstanding, if you are traveling with your spouse (or couple), make sure you ask for two twin beads, since the double bead isn't big enough for two to sleep.
People at front desk are very nice and will help you on every need.
Please note that the rooms do not have nice views at all: you will be among buildings.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sromero27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Many thanks for your positive review of Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre during your recent stay with us. I was pleased to note that you were satisfied with our services and in particular the interaction with our team members. The City Centre Precinct has recently experienced a significant upgrade with many new restaurants and entertainment areas that appeal to many of our guests.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews