We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$871
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$485
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$619
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$495
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveller rating
242
482
136
25
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
482
136
25
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetpedestrian mallhi expressst georges mallcentral locationper daybudget hotelgreen market squaregreenmarket squarecompany gardenswalking distancestayed at this hotel for nightsreception staffdouble bednight lifethe breakfast areatable mountain
Filter
Updating list...
518 - 523 of 889 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We had 1 night booked here on the 19th May 2012. But ended up staying another 2 nights - 2 days later.
We have stayed in many hotels of various types, ratings and value in many different countries but have to date, not encounted desk staff more friendly and helpful than those here.
We can not single out anyone in particular, they were all great.
On once occasion when it was apparent that we had the incorrect travel adaptor (and the hotel did not have one), one staff member offered to purchase one for us on her way to work the next morning!
Without doubt these are the best hotel reception staff in the world!
The hotel :-
The location is fairly centrally located in the shopping district. The location feels more than safe during the day but during the night the deserted shopping streets (as per most shopping districts around the world) give an eerie feel but nothing really to suggest unsafe.
The hotel itself is modern, doesn't have a restaurant but does have a large bar / lounge area with Tv's and doubles as the breakfast area for the morning.
The buffet breakfast is very nice, there is a wide selection of both hot & cold item, fruit juice, pasteries, ham etc - very nice.
As is usual in SA, the waiting staff can be a little slow in keeping some items topped up (African time! they tell us).
The rooms are spacious, modern and clean - no bath but large & powerful shower. No wardrobe - just a limited hanging space for clothes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitronick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Many thanks for your many compliments about our hotel and our team, who are delivering excellent service to all of our guests.

Our location is one of our strengths and certainly provides all services, shops and entertainment that our guests could wish for.
We do hope to be of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Cheerful, helpful Reception & Reservations staff.Hotel is located on historic ,St. Georges' Mall , convenient to Green Market Square, shops , restaurants and walking distance to tourist attractions . Included is generous , "English style" breakfast, daily newspapers which can be enjoyed inside or on balconies.. We stayed 5 days and found HI Express offered the best value and central hotel experience ..Cheers!

Room Tip: Ask for higher Floor with views of Table Top Mountain
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FirstResponder42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Many thanks for your excellent review of our hotel. I was pleased to learn that you found everything to your satisfaction in particular the interaction with our team members.

Our breakfast is one of the services that most of guests look forward to on a daily basis and we have received many comments regarding our restaurant. Our location is one of the features that many of our return guests find convenient and easy to reach.
We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Excellent hotel with a great location, close to shops, restaurants and the Green Market square. Friendly staff. The breakfast was good and exceeded the HI Express standards. The rooms are a bit small but very clean and comfortable. The hotel is great value for money, we highly recommend to everybody visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moon&Roon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Many thanks for your wonderful review of our hotel during your recent stay. Our location and proximity to shops, markets and restaurants certainly give our guests an advantage when staying ot our Hotel.

Thank you for the comments relating to our employees and I was pleased to note that you found our team accommodating and helpful.
We hope to see you in our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The staff went out of their way to ensure I had a great stay. Exceptionally friendly folks. Thank you I will surely be back next time I am in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braveliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

I was very pleased to learn of your positive experience at our hotel recently and in particular your gracious compliments relating to our team members.

I will certainly pass on your thanks and good wishes to our entire team.
We look forward to being of service to you when you are next in Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our Cape Town visit. It is centrally located on a pedistrian mall. Breakfast is what you would expect at a Holiday Inn Express, which is good and consistant. Room was clean, staff was helpful when needed. I would recomend this hotel if you are not planning on spending a lot of time in your room, meaning that it is clean, safe and centrally located.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pedestrian mall are optimal (front of building).
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoffm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I was delighted to note that you found our service seamless and quick. Our location is one that is enviable and certainly solicits excellent comments from all of our guests.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews