We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #45 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Good location and very helpful staff. Every Thursday there is an interesting fair of food from around the globe, just outside the hotel. A definite must-do! The reception staff helped us plan a day trip to Cape Point and Simon's Town.
Walking to the V&A Waterfront from the hotel is not very advisable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenoftimepass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Queenoftimepass,

thank you very much for your review of Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre.

We are fortunate in being located near many of the tourist attractions and some of the best restaurants Cape Town has on offer.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Judy Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    401
    106
    21
    3
See reviews for
92
272
87
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Lets get one thing straight- the location isn't great. Yes it's central, but it's not safe after dark and their security can only be inside.
We walked at 6pm 4 doors down and were followed by a crazy homeless guy who kept shouting obscenities.
Not the hotel's fault at all, but for anyone saying its a great location needs to understand CT better.
If you want a hotel you can walk around, stay on long street or stay in the waterfront. Otherwise get a taxi.
My main bug bear was that the hotel clearly stated they had complimentary toiletries should you have left anything behind, yet when I asked for a comb, they were mightily confused.
When I explained the sign in the bathroom, I had a "oh sorry we have run out of everything and we don't always offer this service"
I hate misadvertising.

The hotel is clean but it's new so I would expect that.
The bathroom lights are next to the front door which is annoying.

Would I stay again? No because the location is awful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakota75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Lakota75

Thank you so much for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre.

I pleased that you found our hotel to be clean and functional. Our location within the City Centre provides our guests with the ease of access to various restaurants and coffee shops and attractions.

I would like to apologise for the staff being unable to assist with your request for a comb. We do have a "Forget Something" program within the hotel whereby we do provide guest supplies free of charge to our valued guests. All items are available at the reception desk and I regret the inconvenience caused to you by my team being unable to fulfill your request. The necessary steps will be taken to ensure that this does not reoccur.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Judy Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

This was a great business hotel, had everything you need in enough quantity. Location is ideal for moving around town, accessible. Nice restaurants around and not far from the nightlife. The staff were great especially the Hotel Manager who went out of his way to ensure our stay was pleasant enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florencious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Florencious,

thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and everything our wonderful city has to offer.

I hope we can welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express City Centre and Cape Town soon again!

Kind Regards,
Judy Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We had trouble locating the entrance of the hotel, as it is not located on the street. The rooms are clean, but very basic. The bathrooms are one of those units that is installed, it feels a bit cheap. Breakfast was good, but had to wait quite a while for the plates to be refilled. It is also extremely noisy early in the mornings before sunrise, as the streetvendors get their stalls ready for the day.

Room Tip: if you can, away from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euterpe_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Euterpe_K,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased you found our breakfast to be good and room accommodations to be adequate. Please accept my apology however for the noise levels that inconvenienced you and if you found our location to be a bit inaccessible. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City
Level Contributor
207 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I have stayed here 8 nights over the last year and always enjoy my stay.

It is a great location - though make sure you get the Hotel location correct in your satnav as there are many one way streets in the area.

The hotel is comfortable, service excellent and while the rooms are relatively small they are still excellent value for money.

My only issue and the only reason I would consider going elsewhere is the prohibitive Wireless/Internet charges.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear PatrickJones,

It is always wonderful to receive feedback from returning guests!

I am pleased to let you know that we listened to our guests and has since increased the free internet-allowance to 100MB per device per day.

I hope we will have the privilege in welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre in the near future.

Kind Regards
Judy Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed here for a business trip. The good points of the hotel are (i) it's in the middle of the city centre so you can walk everywhere; (ii) it's not expensive (unusual in Cape Town). However the rooms are rather dimly lit and staff is not very helpful: internet access has to be purchased online from an external provider. This means if something does not work the Hotel does not feel responsible. In my case it meant making several calls to the outside provider. The hotel staff was unable or unwilling to help. Breakfast is Ok. Would probably not stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterp_belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear peterp_belgium

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, as feedback from our valued guests is important to understand our guest experience.

We are currently in the process of reviewing our Guest Internet Service provided to our guests and your imput is greatly appreciated.

Kind regards
Judy Coleman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

half way up table mountain wonderful views. I stayed here in 1992 on a business trip whilst I was working in Mossell bay, about 3 hours drive away. This was just before the breakdown of apartheid. It offers a tremendous view over the Indian ocean and the Atlantic ocean and you can see a line where the tho waters meet one being warm one being cold.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay in 1992, unfortunately I don't think you stayed at our hotel as we are a relatively new hotel and we only opened on the 01st March 2008 but I hope that we have the oppertunity to have you stay with us in the future so that you can experience our wonderful hospitality.

Kind Regards
Judy Coleman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Parliament Hotel
#38 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#65 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing