We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad for a business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #48 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I checked into the hotel with the intention of spending 5 nights and I find myself on google, looking for alternative accommodation.On checking in I was given a foul-smelling smoking room, which was swiftly changed to a non-smoking room on request (well done for that). I can imagine it would be an awesome place to stay for someone on a vibey-holiday, but it is horrible for someone on business, trying to get some sleep, with the noise outside. I'm not sure if there is an option for a room facing a different direction, but I would have liked the option. The room generally doesn't feel clean. There is a stain I can't explain on the carpet. There is no wardrobe space for 5 days of business wear, so if I continue my stay here, I will be ironing every morning, as most of my clothes will stay in the suitcase.

Room Tip: Avoid if you are on business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Shazz R
Thank you for your review recently and at the outset I would like to offer our sincere apologies for the problems that you encountered with our hotel during your stay at our hotel.

We are running extremely high occupancies currently and try and accommodate all guest requests regarding room types and location of rooms however this is not always possible due to availability of rooms. Our open wardrobe with hanging rail with 6 hangers and some shelving are the Intercontinental Hotels Group standard wardrobe design.

Our aim is to provide all our guests with a seamless and memorable experience and regrettably this was not the case during your stay. All of your comments, especially regarding cleanliness and our housekeeping service have been noted and the appropriate action will be taken to remedy the areas requiring improvement.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Intercontinental Hotels Group for your future travel needs.

Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Holiday inn express, you don't expect too much, clean and safe, but here the staff really made a difference, the were friendly, went out of their way to help and just generally great. Hotel is really well located in city bowl, just two blocks from the uber trendy long street and a block from the market square

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, avoids early morning market noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikki p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear nikki p
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the hotel a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed in Cape Town for two weeks and find this location fun and close to all of the attractions. What a beautiful city and I especially loved Table Mountain. Thank you for the memorable views from the room and the room had everything. The front desk and breakfast staff were absolutely kind and friendly. If you are looking for a real customer service experience please come here. Thank you for everything and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: The room with the Table Mountain View - Fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlynPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear FlynPenny

Grateful thanks for your great review of our hotel and I was pleased that we were able to deliver service to your satisfaction. I shall be sharing your excellent comments with our team and we look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Thank you
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed in capetown for a week back in october, the room was clean and the staff were really warm and friendly. The staff were really approachable and helped out if there was anything that needed to be attended to quickly. The breakfast each morning was beautiful. excellent service, excellent staff =)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karry86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Karry86

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I was pleased to learn of your great experience at our hotel, especially the comment relating to our team. Our location in Cape Town is a unique selling point with easy access to top tourist spots, malls and restaurants. We look forward to being of service to you in the future and again thank you for your patronage and great comments.

Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

You know that you will usually get a good experience with a Holiday Inn Express and this property is no exception. The inclusive breakfast was well up to standard.

My room was a little close to the elevators, which meant it was noisy at times, but not terrible.

The hotel is well located for walking out to take a look around, and for getting to the Convention Centre.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank TrevorAndColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear MSJLambert

Grateful thanks for your recent review of our hotel.

My apologies for the location of your room near the elevators. I was pleased to note that all other aspects of your stay exceeded your expectations. Our location and proximity to the Cape Town International Convention Centre and many restaurants, coffee shops and tourist hotspots are unique features which many of our guests find appealing. We do hope to be of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is a good, central, fairly-priced hotel in Cape Town. The rooms were clean and well-apportioned. We had a good view of Table Mountain from our room on the top (15th) floor. Breakfast was free and tasty. The staff was welcoming and helpful. Guests are allocated 100 MB of free wi-fi usage per device per day. The parking lot is small and not the easiest to find when you arrive for the first time (hint: you'll need to drive up St. George's Mall to access it). There are tons of restaurants and shopping opportunities within easy walking distance of the hotel. All and all, we'd be happy to stay here again, although it would be better if the hotel would offer unlimited free wi-fi access.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor (the 15th floor would be best), facing Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cal776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear cal776

Many thanks for your positive review of our Hotel. We are pleased to see that our facilities met with your travel requirements and certainly do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future. Your feedback will definitely be circulated to our Team.

Kind Regards

Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I've stayed at this hotel before and it was pretty average, basically you expect the same at any other Holiday Inn around the globe. However in the past i didnt have a vehicle to park as i used a cab to get to the hotel. It is a major hassle to get a parking spot at the hotel or even find the entrance. It took the hotel staff 40 minutes to get teh access tag for entering the parking which is very narrow, Big vehicles will not be able to park here. eg SUV.

There is complimentary wifi of 100MB per day which is good and the hotel is probably worth the buck but if you intend to park your car here i would opt fpr another hotel.

Room Tip: Lower floors are better, lifts take forver to reach you, plus minus 5 minutes waiting time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yugz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear yugz24

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our Hotel.
I am glad to read that you found the Wi-Fi to be fast. We have recently up-graded our service on offer to guests from 30mb Free to 100mb Free per device per day.

My apologies for the inconvenience caused by the parking, being in City Centre were parking is minimal we have rented parking bays in buildings surrounding the hotel in order to try and accommodate our guests with safe parking for their vehicle.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we do hope that you will continue to make us of the Holiday Inn Express for your travel needs.
Kindest regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Parliament Hotel
#41 of 112 in Cape Town Central
612 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 112 in Cape Town Central
913 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#58 of 112 in Cape Town Central
402 reviews
Cape Diamond Hotel
#75 of 112 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £68 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing