We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location; Medium Service...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #46 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed in this Holiday Inn for 3 days and loved the location. It was in the middle of the bazaar with lots to walk around and explore with. Clean. Good breakfast with friendly people. There were two things - getting in and out of this place is a bit of a hassle as it is difficult to get in and out. The other letdown was that I booked the shuttle service to the Airport from the hotel at kept waiting for it to arrive.... 30 minutes later I just had to get an alternative and was close to losing my flight... a rather unnecessary complication in an otherwise good stay... the hotel has to be more careful on how they manage their service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amit_Sengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Amit_Sengupta
Thank you for your review recently and at the outset I would like to offer our sincere apologies for the problem that you encountered with our hotel during your stay at our hotel.
Our aim is to provide all our guests with a seamless and memorable experience and regrettably this was not the case during your stay.
All of your comments, especially regarding the delay with the airport shuttle pick up have been noted and the appropriate action will be taken to remedy the areas requiring improvement.
Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed just one night with my family, we had rooms rooms beside eachother which was great, ive stayed in many hotels around the world and have to say the best check in I've ever had was at your hotel, didnt get the guys name but he was very welcoming. Breakfast was also lovely. Next time we come back it will be for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1krissy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear 1krissy8

Thank you for kind recommendations on the service received by the team and I will most definitely share your kind words with all of the fellow team members at the Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Right in the centre of Cape Town. Really good quality accommodation and helpful staff. We had a 'family' room with three beds which was very good value. Quiet, comfortable and we had a great stay. Had to pay for car parking, but this was right next to the hotel and secure, so quite happy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Tom G
Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay. I was pleased to read of your positive comments regarding location and convenience. I note your comments on friendliness at our front desk. We do offer limited parking which is on a first come first serve basis and is located below the hotel or in the adjacent building.
We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Clean, good location, good spread at breakfast.

I did request a smoking room months befor arriving and did not get one - was too much of a hassle to change.

Receptionists were welcoming and friendly.

The biggest downfall was the parking ....!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigitte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Brigitte H
Thank you for your review of our hotel and it was pleasing to note that overall we did exceed your expectations. My sincere apologies for the smoking room not being allocated as requested.
Thank you for the wonderful comments of our receptionists.
I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel upon your next visit to Cape Town.
Thank you
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I travelled to Cape Town for the weekend and was just looking for a simple hotel that was relatively cheap and was in a good location. I got exactly what I paid for and more. The customer service at the front desk was excellent and everyone always had a smile on their face which made the hotel feel homier. The hotel is close to Long Street, a market and a short distance to the waterfront. The only issue I experience was poor internet connectivity but I wasn’t there for the internet. Overall, great experience and would recommend the hotel if you just want a basic, cheap hotel with good service in a great location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotty6_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Scotty6_87
Thank you so much for your recent review of Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. I was most pleased to read of your positive experience especially relating to the staff at the hotel. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you.
I can ensure you that your comments will be shared with our entire staff as this acts as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre a leader in excellence.
I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel when you are next in Cape Town.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and had a great experience. The best thing about the hotel is location, location, location. The hotel is 2 blocks away from Long Street, which is basically the hub for all the eating places, bars and night life. There is a street market right outside the hotel, which gives an opportunity to connect with the locals and buy South African Goods. The rooms were a little small (considering I am from US and here, room sizes are big), but wasn't a big issue, for the two of us. The breakfast had a buffet style arrangement and there were a lot of choices. The front desk was very helpful, they would arrange taxi for you, they also arranged the Cape of good hope tour for us. They upgraded us to a better, bigger room, as our room was still not serviced and they didn't want us to wait. All the restaurants were close by. Table mountain is about 15 minute drive from the hotel. V&A waterfront is a 15 min walk from the hotel. Overall, very satisfied with my stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toobrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear toobrown
Grateful thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. It was pleasing to note your positive experience and we appreciate your feedback and comments. Our location is definitely very convenient for both our leisure guests and our corporate guests.
We hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Booked a twin room , two adults , one night
Confirmed two days prior that room was twin for two adults one night.
Arrived receptionist had took it upon herself to give my twin to someone else and give my friend and I a double. Her colleagues who where awesome gad to deal with her mess. I was firstly offered a wheely bed , then a mattress on the floor , for R1250 per night. I was eventually given the disabled room and my friend kept the double room. The manager made it sound the next day like she had done me the favour. All other staff where great. Bed was comfy. Room clean although a death trap in my opinion. I explained although I understand cape town to be the gay capital of South Africa I had yet not decided to ho to the other side.

Room Tip: Put under special instructions ... Do not give my room away.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Aileen G
Thank you for your review recently and at the outset I would like to offer our sincere apologies for the problem that you encountered with our hotel during your stay. The required room type not being available that you had requested is sorely regretted. We have been experiencing extremely high occupancies recently and unfortunately an error was made on our part. The offer of the second room on a complimentary basis was made not as a favour but rather as compensation for inconvenience that you experienced.
Our aim is to provide all our guests with a seamless and memorable experience and regrettably this was not the case during your stay.
Again, my sincere apologies for this unfortunate incident.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#35 of 111 in Cape Town Central
994 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,314 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 111 in Cape Town Central
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parliament Hotel
#38 of 111 in Cape Town Central
589 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 111 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
Hotel on St Georges
#75 of 111 in Cape Town Central
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £63 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing