We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #48 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The biggest and most frustrating thing about this hotel is finding it, Even if you have sat nav.
The main entrance is on a pedestrian area only, and is a night mare to find, I had just driven from Durban arrived in CT at 10 pm and 1 hour later and even asking the cops where it was we eventually found it, my advice on this is really plan out how to find it before you go.
The room was normal standard although a little noisy next to the elevator shaft, so I asked to be moved. and was moved the next day.
Breakfast was great plenty to choose from, very helpful staff,
The front desk were very pleasant and very knowledgeable about the area, I get very little time to my self but managed an afternoon off, so wanted to go to Table top Mountain, asked the front desk my options they called first then found out it was closed due to high wind an low visabiltiy saved me wasted journey, So always ask the front desk

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not near the elevator ,it is very noisy, rooms at the back have no view only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Robert D
Grateful thanks for your review of our hotel recently and I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and found our services convenient and our team to be helpful and friendly. My sincere apologies for the frustration you experienced in locating the hotel. We are located on a pedestrian walkway in the City Centre and unfortunately surrounded by one way streets that can be confusing. Detailed driving instructions are available on our website and these can also be emailed through. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Kind regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Parking is a problem. We had to stop and ask in the hotel for directions. The car was then parked for us.

In the bathroom the washing basin was blocked. But I was too tired to complain. There was also no plug at the bed for my CPAP. But I got an extension cable after waiting for 20 minutes.

Bed was comfortable as Holiday Inns are known for. Breakfast is a bit poor. No selection. It's what is says: a budget hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeinOtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear HeinOtt
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel.

I am very sorry to hear you experienced some negative issues during your stay.

Cognisance is taken of all of the points that you have raised and the necessary steps taken to ensure that we address these issues.

As we are a limited-service 3-star hotel, we are restricted by the standards set out for Holiday Inn Express Hotels from our parent company – Intercontinental Hotels Group. These standards included a free breakfast for all guests, however with only certain items we are allowed to set out.

Thank you for your feedback. I hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again in our beautiful city in the near future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

lovely central location. breakfast on site, other meals not possible but plenty of restaurants close by. comfy clean room. definitely happy to come back here. staff very helpful when I wanted to get tickets for cable car up table mountain.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trekkerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear trekkerKent
Grateful thanks for your great review of our hotel recently and I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and found our location and services convenient and our team to be helpful and friendly.
We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and had a great time. The hotel is mid price in a great location. The room was plenty big enough for two adults and one child and the beds were very comfortable. Everything is clean and in great condition. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Highly recommended

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Westy1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Westy1208
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel recently and I was delighted to read of your positive and enjoyable experience. Your very good comments relating to our team and services will certainly be passed on to our team.
I hope that you have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed in this hotel for four days. No wifi in room as they state in description, the staff are very unhelpful and everytime you order a shuttle they provide you with some kayaleetsha taxi which is not safe at all. Got woken up by some window cleaner who bangs on your window in the morning with no comsideration. This was at 08:00am and why he needed to bang on the window still remains amystery. Horrible service with uneducated staff that could nit explain the wifi situation.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ginchil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear ginchil
Many thanks for your review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. My sincere apologies for the areas where we have let you and cognisance is taken of the items mentioned in your review for immediate correction.

Our Internet service is currently under review with the service provider and we hope to have a positive outcome in this regard shortly. We do not have an in-house shuttle and so make use of accredited shuttle companies located in the City Centre. As we are a high rise building we make use of an outsourced company to assist us with our rope accessed window cleaning, my apologies that they disturbed you whilst they were abseiling down the outside of the building.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future so that you can enjoy the improvements that are made following on from the actions taken.

Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed in this Holiday Inn for 3 days and loved the location. It was in the middle of the bazaar with lots to walk around and explore with. Clean. Good breakfast with friendly people. There were two things - getting in and out of this place is a bit of a hassle as it is difficult to get in and out. The other letdown was that I booked the shuttle service to the Airport from the hotel at kept waiting for it to arrive.... 30 minutes later I just had to get an alternative and was close to losing my flight... a rather unnecessary complication in an otherwise good stay... the hotel has to be more careful on how they manage their service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amit_Sengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Amit_Sengupta
Thank you for your review recently and at the outset I would like to offer our sincere apologies for the problem that you encountered with our hotel during your stay at our hotel.
Our aim is to provide all our guests with a seamless and memorable experience and regrettably this was not the case during your stay.
All of your comments, especially regarding the delay with the airport shuttle pick up have been noted and the appropriate action will be taken to remedy the areas requiring improvement.
Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed just one night with my family, we had rooms rooms beside eachother which was great, ive stayed in many hotels around the world and have to say the best check in I've ever had was at your hotel, didnt get the guys name but he was very welcoming. Breakfast was also lovely. Next time we come back it will be for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1krissy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear 1krissy8

Thank you for kind recommendations on the service received by the team and I will most definitely share your kind words with all of the fellow team members at the Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Parliament Hotel
#41 of 112 in Cape Town Central
612 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 112 in Cape Town Central
913 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#58 of 112 in Cape Town Central
402 reviews
Cape Diamond Hotel
#75 of 112 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £69 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing