We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Adderley Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Townhouse Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Daddy Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Southern Sun Cape Sun(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (879)
Filter reviews
879 results
Traveller rating
240
477
133
25
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
477
133
25
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetpedestrian mallhi expressst georges mallcentral locationper daybudget hotelgreen market squaregreenmarket squarecompany gardenswalking distancestayed at this hotel for nightsreception staffdouble bednight lifethe breakfast areatable mountain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
630 - 635 of 879 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2009

The hotel is very central, the rooms are modern, fresh and roomy and well - priced for expensive Cape Town. The breakfast is varied and there is parking in the basement. There are several great restaurants in close proximity - Riboville for great, if pricey food and Bukhara just up the road. The staff at the front desk were great.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank libica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We just stayed one night here before flying back to the UK.

First issue was finding the hotel, not easy as it's actually on a pedestrian precinct with no direct access by car. Also, to park you have to drive up the pedestrian precinct!

The rooms were newly decorated and had a nice fresh feel to them. One small problem we encountered was that the door key would not activate the power so the reception had to send someone up to "jiggle about with the key for a while"!

The location is very good during the day with the market only one block away and Long Street just two blocks away. However, the area definitely takes a turn for the worse in the evening and I would not recommend walking about here at night.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EamonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

The hotel is very easy to find. It is on the corner of St Georges Mall and Church Street - very close to Parliament. A rental car is recommended. Parking is provided in "Mandela Rhodes Place" - a hotel and shopping complex located diagonally opposite the Holiday Inn Express. Parking is very expensive (even by South African standards) and I paid ZAR85 for parking from 10pm to 8am!

The hotel is well located for central Cape Town, and you can walk to many tourist attractions - even the V&A Waterfront, but it would be a healthy walk. We did not have dinner at the hotel but at the excellent Col'Cacchio restuarant on Hans Strijdom Street.

Reception desk is on the first floor, accessed by lift or stairs. We had a problem in that our registration sheet had not been prepared, so I had to hand write all my details in despite being a Platinum level member of Holiday Inn's Priority Club loyalty programme. Also I had to argue over whether I had prepaid or not (my paperwork said I had - but the hotel reckons they had not been credited with funds). Luckily it was late evening and reception was quiet.

The room impressed. I was expecting more of the same HI Express that I'm used to in UK and Europe but the room was decorated and furnished to a much higher standard. Very clever use of low voltage lighting (subtle blue LED in the bathroom). Comfortable beds with luxury duvets and choice of pillows. LCD TV (sadly no BBC or SkyNews, just CNN). Tea and Coffee facilities in the room. Deep pile carpeting. Thick blackout curtains.

The bathroom is the usual HI Express type where the main door doubles as the toilet door. All in white tiles - very clean. Nice towels and a complimentary shower gel and shampoo in little bottles. Shower was nice and strong and hot.

We had the free, included continental breakfast at the hotel. It's served on the 1st floor, adjacent to reception in an open plan area which doubles as a bar/lounge at night. Good spread for breakfast including cheese and cold meats. We sat outside on the balcony and watched the Capetonians heading to work.

Overall, a great stay. Excellent location and great value for money. WOuld definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

We stayed for one night when we ended up an extra night in Cape Town at the last minute. We were pleasantly surprised. It's a fairly new modern hotel. The rooms are small but clean and the price was great.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rsm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a short break to Cape Town. The Holiday Inn Express is a modern hotel and has only been open a year. I found the location to be perfect; in the heart of Cape Town's main shopping area and only a 5 minute walk away from the regular open topped Tourist sightseeing bus.

The rooms were a reasonable size with a good bathroom and power shower. Housekeeping was excellent and the hotel had a clean, new feel about it. I was travelling alone so the double bed was quite adequte for me but I think it would be quite cramped for a couple! I did actually overhear two guests complaining at reception and asking if they had rooms with bigger beds but they were told "no"

Breakfast was included in the room rate and whilst not a lavish offering it was perfectly adequate.

The hotel is not located at the main Waterfront area but rather in the city centre but a taxi there will only cost you about £3.00 and can be ordered from the hotel.

All in all a very pleasant stay at a nice hotel which was well located. It was noticably cheaper than those at the Waterfront too.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SJT999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews