We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“let down by some staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #49 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2010

The rooms are tiny with only 6 hangers and no wardrobe to put 12 nights worth of clothes for 2 people.
There was a flood in one of the rooms on our floor the 15th, which I acknowledge was not the fault of the hotel but we had to walk up the stair for 2 days as the lifts were broke from water damage. Also of the night of the flood the hotel decided to hire 2 industrial carpet cleaners to suck up the water at TWO o’clock in the morning when we had to be up at 5 for a game reserve trip. After only a few hours of broken sleep and waiting in the hotel lobby for our pick up for 45 minute we was told that how pick up time had gone back from 0600 to 0930 and the hotel reception should have told us. So back to bed for a couple of hour listening to the hot air blowers and de humidifiers that were put outside our door for the next 4 days. Three days latter when had booked onto the cape peninsular tour we were again let down by the hotel reception that forgot to tell us that this tour had been brought forward from 0840 to 0800 which meant that we missed the first 2 hour of the trip while we waited for a car to pick us up and transfer us to the bus. Breakfast was OK and the location just off of Long St was good.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexjohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2010

Holiday Inn Express, Cape Town, South Africa
Cape Town is one of the most 'complete' destinations that one can visit. It is God’s own country!
We visited the town in October 2009 and the weather being perfect, we were part of a fairly large tourist contingent. My research told me that I would have to plan our stay carefully so as to make the most of the four-day visit. So the first thing on my mind was the convenience factor.
An intensive browsing session of the net threw up Holiday Inn Express among quite a few others which fit the criteria I had in mind. I immediately fell for the location.
The hotel is a tiny embodiment of smart convenience. Set in a tree lined city square, done up in glass and chrome, one would not have guessed the level of comfort it affords when you retire for the night. Yes, the quality of sleep is good despite the rather small-sized bed for twin sharing. I was reminded of one of our stays on Broadway, New York where for want of space, most three -star hotels give you just the bare minimum to tuck into. But despite being small, the Holiday Inn Express takes care of your every need. For one, the bathroom is well appointed, the breakfast cafe opens out to a varandah which overlooks the green square. Watching the part- business and mostly -handicraft sellers settle in for the day on the cobbled grounds below while you take in a leisurely and filling breakfast is a pleasure in itself. I like studying locals to get a feel of the new place so this is definitely an added attraction.
The hotel staff is extremely helpful. While conceptually the hotel is based on a ‘minimum -service -required’ model, one immediately gets the flavour of efficiency and alertness. Whether it is organising a cab for the day or sketching out a program for sightseeing, the friendly receptionists are always there for you with a smile.
The biggest advantage of staying in Holiday Inn Express was the proximity to the central district and the Waterfront. We walked there most of the time and took a cab back after dinner. The day we decided to stay in we just had to walk round the corner for some delicious Italian or Spanish food in fairly plush restaurants.
The hotel is clearly meant for visitors who have their sights set on roaming the beautiful Cape tirelessly. It is central, safe and close to all the amenities one would be looking for on a holiday of this nature.
Cape Town of course would call for another review and it would be hard to do justice in just so many words!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndraniBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Have recently stayed at theHoliday Inn Express Cape TownCity Centre.Very impressed with the service & cleanliness of the rooms although the rooms are a tad on the small side .Breakfast is included & is more than adequate.Walking distance to Greenmarket Square & a bit further to the V & A though not too far.If you have a hire car & GPS the secret to finding the Hotel is to put in " 144 Longmarket Street" & this will take you to St Georges Mall where the Hotel is,otherwise ,unless you have the coordinates , the GPS will not show an address in the Mall as ,for some reason it does not recognise it as a street.Hope this helps as we had some trouble late on the first night.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We liked this hotel. It is an economical hotel with good service and nice and clean facilities.

A few key notes:

1. Room and location: while the room is not big, it is quite new and the layout is very efficient. The bathroom was small but very smartly designed to maximum space. Our room had a view of Table Mountain. The location of the hotel is fine, but do be aware of your surroundings in Cape Town even if it is daylight and there are people around.

2. Staff: The hotel staff were very helpful and nice. They made recommendations and helped us navigate around.

3. Food: The breakfast was good. While the selection was not big, it included all the essentials we like. They included muffins, bread, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruits, eggs, bacon, and cold cuts. Drinks included different types of coffee, tea, juices, milk.

There is a restaurant close to the hotel. It is called Fish and Wine Sense. It is a new restaurant. The service was great and the baked line fish and ostrich were excellent!!! It was so good, we went back the next night!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Poor security. My key card unlocked another door on another floor. No drawers provided in room, small open hanging space only, a desk and a couple of small shelves. Nowhere to put anything. Literally lived out of suitcases for 4 nights. Couple of pleasant, helpful girls on reception. Included breakfast adequate. Central position to some city sights and markets. Had to walk long distance to buy milk when unwell, as male receptionist reluctantly sent only one long life serve to room well over an hour later after second request so no point in having tea making in room. This person let the whole establishment down. Hop on Hop off bus stop not too far away. Trip to Robben Island booked out for days ahead.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattfinish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Knowing the Holiday Inn Express brand as well as I do, it was with inside knowledge about what to expect at the hotel.
BUT, what I did get was better than expected.
Friendly service, clean hotel room and good location.
The bedroom we were assigned was 1001 and was a corner room. There was plenty of room for our suitcases and the sleeper couch being pulled out in the form of bed.
There is also a safe in the rooms which isn't standard in the UK.

We ate 3 times at the Doppio 0 which is diagonally accross the road to the hotel. Great food at great prices. And you can charge to the rooms.

If there is one thing that I would suggest is that the staff make sure that people are aware that there is a charge for the valet parking (R50 per night).

There is also 30 minute conmplimentary WIFI access to priority club members.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jogarrhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

The Holiday Inn Express is a nice basic hotel with very friendly stuff.
The rooms aren't so big but there is everything you need in it.
It is a bit difficult to find when you arrive by car, so you better call the hotel for directions when you are in the area - my GPS system took me somewhere else...
The hotel has a valet parking service which is not so convenient whenever you want to get in and out of your car - you need to go through the valet parking guys.
As I mentioned, the rooms were ok (surrounded by buildings though) and the bed was comfortable.
The problem is that I could hear very clearly every time someone came into his room or went out. The doors slam was very loud and even woke me up a few times early in the morning. I could also hear voices through the walls which indicates that they are probably too thin.
For the price they charge and based on its location (has restaurants and close to bars and clubs) I still would recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eldik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,034 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#40 of 110 in Cape Town Central
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 110 in Cape Town Central
865 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
Hotel on St Georges
#75 of 110 in Cape Town Central
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £56 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing