We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”
Review of The Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Villa Rosa
Ranked #25 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I had a great experience at Villa Rosa. The staff was kind and hospitable, ready to help with any concerns I may have had. the building itself is beautiful and located in a great location in the city near the sea. I would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Different rooms are larger than others and so cost more or less, but all are beautiful and have a wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ope2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnstaceyCapeTown, Owner at The Villa Rosa, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
We're always happy that guests enjoy their stays with us, and we look forward to seeing you here again one day in the not too distant future. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    64
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
83
42
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We were amazed with Capetown and probably will get back there again.
The Villa Rosa is nice and very comfortable place to stay, close to restaurants, water front and beach.
We stayed in deluxe room (which is much bigger than standard) and i were happy with interior, service and super friendly staff.
Hotel offers breakfast, which i think need a bit of improvement, as my husband is quite big man and can't get full with toasts and jam,
but if you would ask me, for definite i will get back to Villa Rosa again.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are much bigger for a bit difference in a price
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViviGM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnstaceyCapeTown, Owner at The Villa Rosa, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Well, we'd love to have you both to stay again! Don't forget our breakfasts aren't for the fainthearted - with lots more besides toast and jam - cereals, fresh fruit, croissants and ciabbatas, eggs, cold cut meats, various cheeses, tomato, cucumber, so no need for anyone, big or small, to go hungry!
Best wishes
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We travel from Canada to Cape Town every year. We ALWAYS stay at Villa Rosa! Lynn, Heather and their staff are incredibly welcoming, extremely kind and very helpful.
Villa Rosa is like a home away from home. It has a cozy, warm atmosphere. The rooms are superbly decorated, with lovely bathrooms and a view of the mountains. Breakfast is fresh and yummy! Families and children are always welcome. My daughter says that Villa Rosa feels like a castle.
Villa Rosa is in a fantastic location! It is close to shops, cafes, restaurants, grocery stores and banks. The sea is a short five minute walk, with a wonderful promenade for cycling or walking.
We plan to always stay at Villa Rosa when in Cape Town and highly recommend it all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnstaceyCapeTown, Owner at The Villa Rosa, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thanks for the lovely review, just as lovely as the guests we get! I love it that we're your daughter's castle.........then she's the princess.
We look forward to having you to stay again and again.
Best wishes
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Lynn and Heather have been very good hosts, their staff are very nice people, it's a beautiful old house with excellent breakfast and comfy beds!
Villa Rosa is situated in Seapoint which is lovely. Everything (shops, restaurants, even hairdressers and beauty treatments!) within walking distance, beachfront, busses running to the centre of Cape Town ... wonderful place.

Room Tip: We found High Level Road quite busy at night, so we would recommend guest, who need quietness to sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnstaceyCapeTown, Owner at The Villa Rosa, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Villa Rosa, in Sea Point and in South Africa! We hope we'll see you here again!
Best wishes
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rueschlikon, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Villa Rosa is very well located. Heather and Lynn are great hosts. Their staff are very friendly and helpful. The house is cosy and everything is in walking distance. We have enjoyed our stay there and will go back when we are next time in Cape Town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have had many very pleasant stays at Villa Rosa over the last few years The staff are very friendly, the service has always been excellent, rooms very clean and comfortable. The venue is well located and situated close to the beautiful Seapoint beachfront walkway, Overall a wonderful experience

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The Villa Rosa is a very comfortable, older home which has been fitted out with all the modern comforts. It is in easy walking distance to the Sea Point shopping centre, where kosher food is available, two synagogues are nearby and the water front is a short walk away. Lynn was an excellent host I felt as though I was in a home, rather than in an impersonal hotel. She went out of her way to ensure that my needs were met and that my stay was most enjoyable. The room price includes breakfast, which was generous and good. I would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne_rutland_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnstaceyCapeTown, Owner at The Villa Rosa, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thanks! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come back one day in the not too distant future, and stay longer!
Best wishes
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Cascades on the Promenade
#44 of 109 in Cape Town Central
385 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#11 of 156 in Cape Town Central
514 reviews
Sundown Manor
#1 of 12 in Fresnaye
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
161 reviews
Maartens Guesthouse
#3 of 12 in Fresnaye
228 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Rosa

Property: The Villa Rosa
Address: 277 High Level Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa Rosa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled under the watchful eye of Lion’s Head stands the Villa Rosa, a charming turn of the century Victorian Villa. Cape Town’s most loved boutique accommodation perfectly situated in Sea Point, within an easy stroll to the beach. Our super comfort, sleep easy beds with exquisite linens, organic essential oil soaps and the fluffiest towels create an effortless feeling of well-being and harmony.Start your morning with a delicious breakfast ranging from homemade muesli, organic yogurts, hand selected local cheeses and imported Italian cold cuts, or a sumptuous breakfast of the day. Seasonal fruits and homemade preserves to name just a few. Our staff are delightful and cannot wait to make your stay with us unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Rosa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing