We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Villa Rosa
Ranked #12 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Villa Rosa is a lovely place to stay in the Sea Point area. The staff are absolutely amazing. They are constantly there to assist you with any need, and they work hard to keep rooms clean and customers happy. The breakfast is consistently a delicious way to start the morning. I'd especially recommend trying the Gooseberry jam. The view from the Villa Rosa is breathtaking, and it is located in a prime area next to the sea with many local stores and quality restaurants. I would certainly stay at the Villa Rosa in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnstaceyCapeTown, Owner at The Villa Rosa, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thanks! We're so glad that you enjoyed yourselves and we certainly enjoyed having you all to stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best wishes
Team Villa Rosa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    56
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
68
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Villa Rosa was a great place to start my stay in Cape Town. Lynn and the rest of the staff are so friendly--they felt like family just after our first week there. The rooms were very nice and spacious. The location is perfect--just two blocks up from the promenade where you can jog and the salt water pool. I would highly recommend this quaint spot for your stay in Cape Town!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lili P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnstaceyCapeTown, Owner at The Villa Rosa, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
thanks! hope you're firmly back in your routine! Enjoy your studies.
Best wishes from Team Villa Rosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I had a great experience at Villa Rosa. The staff was kind and hospitable, ready to help with any concerns I may have had. the building itself is beautiful and located in a great location in the city near the sea. I would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Different rooms are larger than others and so cost more or less, but all are beautiful and have a wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ope2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnstaceyCapeTown, Owner at The Villa Rosa, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
We're always happy that guests enjoy their stays with us, and we look forward to seeing you here again one day in the not too distant future. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We were amazed with Capetown and probably will get back there again.
The Villa Rosa is nice and very comfortable place to stay, close to restaurants, water front and beach.
We stayed in deluxe room (which is much bigger than standard) and i were happy with interior, service and super friendly staff.
Hotel offers breakfast, which i think need a bit of improvement, as my husband is quite big man and can't get full with toasts and jam,
but if you would ask me, for definite i will get back to Villa Rosa again.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are much bigger for a bit difference in a price
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ViviGM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnstaceyCapeTown, Owner at The Villa Rosa, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Well, we'd love to have you both to stay again! Don't forget our breakfasts aren't for the fainthearted - with lots more besides toast and jam - cereals, fresh fruit, croissants and ciabbatas, eggs, cold cut meats, various cheeses, tomato, cucumber, so no need for anyone, big or small, to go hungry!
Best wishes
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We travel from Canada to Cape Town every year. We ALWAYS stay at Villa Rosa! Lynn, Heather and their staff are incredibly welcoming, extremely kind and very helpful.
Villa Rosa is like a home away from home. It has a cozy, warm atmosphere. The rooms are superbly decorated, with lovely bathrooms and a view of the mountains. Breakfast is fresh and yummy! Families and children are always welcome. My daughter says that Villa Rosa feels like a castle.
Villa Rosa is in a fantastic location! It is close to shops, cafes, restaurants, grocery stores and banks. The sea is a short five minute walk, with a wonderful promenade for cycling or walking.
We plan to always stay at Villa Rosa when in Cape Town and highly recommend it all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnstaceyCapeTown, Owner at The Villa Rosa, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thanks for the lovely review, just as lovely as the guests we get! I love it that we're your daughter's castle.........then she's the princess.
We look forward to having you to stay again and again.
Best wishes
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Lynn and Heather have been very good hosts, their staff are very nice people, it's a beautiful old house with excellent breakfast and comfy beds!
Villa Rosa is situated in Seapoint which is lovely. Everything (shops, restaurants, even hairdressers and beauty treatments!) within walking distance, beachfront, busses running to the centre of Cape Town ... wonderful place.

Room Tip: We found High Level Road quite busy at night, so we would recommend guest, who need quietness to sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnstaceyCapeTown, Owner at The Villa Rosa, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Villa Rosa, in Sea Point and in South Africa! We hope we'll see you here again!
Best wishes
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rueschlikon, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Villa Rosa is very well located. Heather and Lynn are great hosts. Their staff are very friendly and helpful. The house is cosy and everything is in walking distance. We have enjoyed our stay there and will go back when we are next time in Cape Town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#29 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
#8 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#13 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parker Cottage
Parker Cottage
#1 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Rosa

Property: The Villa Rosa
Address: 277 High Level Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa Rosa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Rosa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing