We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay at Table Mountain Lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Table Mountain Lodge
Ranked #123 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
lindfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay at Table Mountain Lodge”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights from 4th-7th Feb 2012. in a 'luxury' room;spacious it was but not luxurious-very basic.The property is badly maintained;Jocks Tap the 'bar' is a very untidy office;the breakfasts were very mediocre;the small patio & gardens were dirty & not maintained & the swimming pool was not much bigger than a cattle trough.We have also written to Portfolio about this property

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robert i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    21
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
41
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Well situated. Comfortable rooms and friendly staff. A great place to stay. The only downside is that normally you have to park on the street, but they made allowances for my wife's disability.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed for two nights and had a slightly unusual but nonetheless delightful room which was not in the main house but we guess at some point must have been converted from another use - however the conversion was very well done and while we didn't have a view of Table Mountain, we did get to look at a particularly fine Hibiscus right outside our front door. The staff were really welcoming and helpful (we didn't feel like driving around Capetown so they found us a brilliant taxi driver who looked after us for the two days we were there!). Also recommended a local Portugese restaurant, Beleza, a few minutes walk away. For the other evenings we took the taxi to and from the V&A waterfront and ate in some excellent restaurants there. We were also able to walk down to the Company Gardens (about 15 min) - highly recommended.
One slightly odd feature is that there are no staff around from around 7:30 in the evening until 6:30 am. This didn't really affect us and on the morning we left early for the airport the lady who had just arrived offered to get us breakfast!
Tamboersloof is a pleasant and quite quiet area.

Room Tip: You might prefer to go for a room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this B & B and were very happy. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating to all of our needs, the beds were comfy and the breakfast was delicious. Some of the rooms have little balconies so you can have your breakfast overlooking the courtyard with a wonderful view of Table Mountain. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyvmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We stayed for 6 nights at this lovely old lodge. Our room had view of Table Mtn and was very comfortable and clean. There was a daily maid service and turn down service at night. Generous breakfast was cooked exzctly to our liking and service was very friendly. The duty managers were fantastic. They gladly impart their local knowledge and answer all questions with a geniune love of Cape Town. Lots of restaurants 5 - 10 minutes walking distance and we always felt safe. Recommend for couples who want to be close to City Centre but in a quiet area.

Room Tip: View on top floor but rooms bigger on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chook13Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2011

The stay was excellent, warm and welcoming staff, there was no problem to arrange and assist with places to go. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_3410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Don't be expecting luxury accomodation but the beds were extremely comfortable and rooms were clean. Decor slightly old fashioned. Breakfast pretty good too.

Good value money and in an ideal location for Cape Town and surrounding areas. Some really good restaurants around and an excellent bar on the crossroads just down from the Lodge. City centre is an easy walk. V&A Waterfront 5 minute taxi ride.

The staff are brilliant and will help you arrange any of your trips whilst in Cape Town and onward journies and car hire/airport pick up. You would not get this sort of service in a hotel.

Wouldn't hesitate in coming back. Very good accomodation.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank denvertdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#90 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Table Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Table Mountain Lodge

Property: Table Mountain Lodge
Address: Table Mountain Lodge | 10A Tamboerskloof Road`, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Table Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Table Mountain Lodge, offering Bed and Breakfast accommodation in Cape Town, is a gracious homestead nestled on the slopes of Signal Hill with breathtaking views of Table Mountain. Originally a farmhouse built in 1885, the Cape Dutch homestead has been restored to its former elegance with timeless charm. Table Mountain Lodge has earned its reputation by providing warm hospitality, excellent service, sumptuous breakfasts and an abundance of fresh flower arrangements throughout the homestead. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Table Mountain Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing