We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, in quiet neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Ranked #18 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Very nice B&B (or small boutique hotel) with warm hosts. Is in a residential neighborhood and indeed is probably a reincarnated house. Rooms were modern and clean. Breakfast was exceptional and the breakfast kitchen-staff were instant family. One of the more memorable B&Bs in my 30 years of traveling. Location is a solid 20 minute walk to the Waterfront along a poorly lit road with not much pedestrian traffic.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExNeddiesBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

From Alex, the 'nicest taxi driver in Cape Town', to Martin who mans the desk in the evenings and at night, the people who work at dysART are charming and attentive. The Guesthouse is in a nice in-town residential pocket of Cape Town. We walked to restaurants in the evening and jogged along the seafront every morning. They've done amazing things with the space they have and it's all beautifully designed. I was on the top floor of the house and my room had a large balcony and an amazing shower/bathroom. I stayed for business and it was a great place to work (quiet, good connection) and relax.

The hotel staff are very helpful. Martin called dozens of restaurants when we arrived late from London after most kitchens were closed. He couldn't confirm anything so Alex helped us track down (by car) a restaurant still serving- and he refused to be paid for the ride because he was on his way home. While I waited for my ride after checking out the owner offered me a glass of wine as he was enjoying one himself, and some help with tracking down a lost coat at the airport. Not at all the kind of service you would get from a large hotel!

Deserves 5 starts and more.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in was the best of the three I saw. It is on the top floor with a large balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juana123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Everything about our stay at dysART was wonderful. After a week on safari, the ability to relax and enjoy Cape Town was a joy. We had a small patio off of our room, that was surrounded by an age-old grape vine. We were spoiled by the heated floors in the bathroom and our bed area. All of our reservations were made by the staff....Peter, our host, was most gracious and willing to help us with whatever we were interested in learning. Just a short walk away is access to restaurants and attractions. Peter arranged for private tours that we took, which were amazing. Do NOT miss the wine country. Spectacular. Would stay here again, for certain.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We had a very good experience with the DysArt hotel. A good located hotel, you can easily walk to the Waterfront or to the city. Very friendly people and always willing to give advice about sightseeing, good restaurants. They make reservations for restaurants and taxi’s for you if you want. For me it was a safe feeling that there is someone present at the reception area day and night. So there is someone to help you with anything for 24 hours. The breakfast was outstanding, nice and fresh with a great variety. The room was clean and quite big. On our check-out day, we had a late flight and because our room was not occupied for the next night, we were allowed to keep our room for the day. So we could leave our luggage in our room, and we took a shower before we had to leave to the airport and were not charged for that. That is really good service!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 178AstridZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The dysArt Boutique Hotel may have permanently spoiled us and significantly raised our expectations for future holiday accommodations. Set in a lovely residential area, the dysArt has just 6 beautiful, large and comfortable rooms. The bathroom is also large with a great shower, two sinks, and up scale amenities. The bed is super comfortable, and has fine linens and really nice pillows. Our room, #1, opened onto the pool deck, while other rooms had private courtyards or balconies. All rooms have ac, tv, dvd and minibar. Our room also had a couch and a desk. Wifi is available at no charge and parking is on the street. A lovely buffet breakfast with good choices is served daily and weather permitting can be had on the pool deck. Want a hot breakfast? No problem, no request is too much bother.

The dysArt is within a 5 minute walk to several excellent restaurants. If you like beef, The Hussar is a must. Want some great pizza? Try the Big Route and you won't be disappointed. There are also a wealth of restaurants and some very interesting shops at the V&A Waterfront, which is a $3 to $5 cab ride, or if you don't mind a hefty walk, you could probably walk there in 20 to 30 minutes.

But, what makes this hotel/guest house sparkle are the wonderful owners and staff who are intent on ensuring you have a fabulous time in Cape Town. The owners Frank and Lo will help you plan every day and every meal. They will help book tours with a local driver, Alex, who is kind, polite, knowledgeable, fun and reasonable. Zinny, Neva, Dennis, Morton and Constance make the place run like a fine tuned engine. They too will help with planning, answer questions, call taxis, fix breakfast, help order food for delivery or whatever you may need.

We spent 9 terrific days at the dysArt and when we left we found ourselves saying goodbye to a house full of friends.

My husband and I travel extensively and without hesitation we can both say that the dysArt is a real gem and will not disappoint.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Depending on time of your arrival you may be able to select your room. Room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geonannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We spent 4 nights in CapeTown at Dysart Hotel in August and we had a great time.
Peter, our host, was very nice in giving advices and recommendations.
Everything was perfect. We travelled with children and they had a terrific time as well.
It is cosy and intimate and every detail is very well chosen.
I would like to recommend this place to any body visiting Cape Town. The location is so nice since Green Point is an excellent starting point to visit the area.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Massimo30061967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Excellent breakfast, and a lovely well thought-out room with fabulous shower room. But what I appreciated most of all was the the genuine sense of interest shown by the staff. They took such care to ask about the kinds of experiences I hoped for whilst in Cape Town, and indeed the rest of Southern Africa. Their excellent, relevant recommendations for great restaurants, day trips, shopping and even safari has made this my absolutely dream holiday :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,472 reviews
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
117 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,852 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,352 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dysart Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dysart Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 Dysart Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £113 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dysart Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Dysart Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dysart Hotel Cape Town Central
Dysart Cape Town
Dysart Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing