We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dysart Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Ranked #15 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

First time in Cape Town but i felt at home very quickly due to the very friendly staff of this perfect boutique hotel. The rooms are great, very big, clean and modern.
The breakfast is amazing, the terrace and swimming pool very nice and the location of the hotel very convenient as well.
And the staff was great. The cooker, the maid, the reception and the owner of the place. Everybody was very friendly

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    37
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
34
275
26
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Dysart is amazing!!! Dysart is situated close enough to the city that you can walk to nearby restuarants but far enough away that the you do not feel like you are in a big city. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is delicious! I can't imagine staying at a better hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Had no idea what to expect when i got to this place, but I miss it already. Breakfast and the morning staff were insanely nice, helpful and make some very good coffee, which made me excited to wake up everyday. Met the owners, and overall the place was legit! No complaints from me at all, and that's rare.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jordan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

General:

I really enjoyed the personalised approach of staying in a small hotel (circa 8 rooms) instead of a large corporate hotel in Cape Town. Boutique is an often overused word the world over but the Dysart certainly justifies the use of it; as it sums up the place very succulently. On arrival I was welcomed with a complimentary pool side drink before being given a tour of my room/the hotel; my luggage had already been spirited upstairs.

I stayed at the Dysart Boutique Hotel for 3 nights 8 to 10 Apr 14, booked via hotel.com.

Room:

I was in a Grand Deluxe Sea facing double room with balcony (room 6). The room was stylish, light, airy and spacious with double doors opening out onto a small (approx 1 m deep) balcony which ran almost the width of the room, with a sea/stadium view. The room was immaculate, air conditioned, came with a mini bar fridge (very reasonable prices - approx 100 RAND for a bottle of wine), LCD TV, tea/coffee making facilities. The double bed was comfortable and came with two separate single duvets (very mainland Europe but a nice feature).

The modern tiled bathroom was spotless, with a large shower (big enough for two) and twin sinks. It came equipped with decent quality Gilchrest and Sommes soaps and shower gels. Fresh fluffy towels were replaced daily.

Location:

The location is perfect, set back away from the busy noisy roads it is an oasis of calm in Green Point. Having stayed in both Cape Town Central (see separate report) and stayed in Green Point I certainly prefer this location. The area was safe and an easy gentle 15 minute stroll to the V + A Waterfront (along Main Road and then Portswood Road). If you don’t fancy walking, taxis are cheap and plentiful. It is a great area for going for an early morning jog along the sea front (8 mins away) or through Green Point Park. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within safe walking distance.

Service:

A smiley welcome by all staff who were always keen to help.

Facilities:

The small infinity pool (there are two) was a welcome relief after a day of sight seeing. There are plenty of sun loungers and loads of pool side fluffy towels.

Wifi:

Free reliable wifi both in room and next to the pool

Food/Restaurant:

Breakfast is served in warmer weather next to the pool (see picture). A fabulous buffet range of meats/cheeses/smoked salmon, yogurts, juices, fruits, fresh coffee, bread etc etc with an option of a cooked breakfast. It was certainly a breakfast to look forward.

The hotel does not serve dinner but there are loads of decent restaurants within walking distance; I ate at the following:

The Hussar Grill – (http://www.hussargrill.co.za) 107 Main Road, 5 mins walk from Dysart. Great steaks, meats are a speciality and a favourite with Cape Town locals so worth booking in advance, it was packed on a Tuesday night in April. Summary: Good atmosphere, great service, fabulous food, reasonably priced – a definite recommend.

Bistro 1800 in the Cape Royal Hotel - (http://www.caperoyale.co.za/about-1800/) 47 Main Road, 5 – 8 mins walk from Dysart. The food was good but the service was very poor and the place totally lacking in atmosphere; the restaurant was empty and we were seated outside under a covered veranda at the front of the hotel. As it got dark the waiting staff didn’t turn the outside lights on and one table were using the light from their mobile phones to read the menu and the specials board became invisible. It appears to be mainly a tourist venue. Summary: no atmosphere, poor service, although good food and reasonably priced – a maybe recommend if you can’t get in elsewhere.

Beluga – (http://www.beluga.co.za), off Ebenezer Road in an old foundry, circa 15 mins walk from Dysart (mostly along Main Road). A great vibe about this restaurant, another favourite with Cape Town locals, we booked in advance and it was packed on a Thursday night. Weather was pleasant so we ate outside in the court yard. Summary: Great atmosphere, really good friendly service, fabulous food, reasonably priced – a definite recommend.

Airport Transfer – I used the taxi service recommended and booked by the hotel costing RAND 320, seamless pick up by Alex the friendly taxi driver.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have a private patio - some rooms at the front have a small balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catttto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

A wonderful hotel with the friendliest, most helpful staff. The facilities are great, funky art, comfy beds, lovely pool area for enjoying the sun and the greatest asset, the fabulous people who work there but treat you like family. The location is great, lots of excellent local restaurants and only a 20 minute stroll to the V&A, yes we did walk day and night and it felt perfectly safe to us. Book it and enjoy yourselves.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zapcat97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed at the DysART for the second time and was more than satisified again! Friendly and stylish as usual. The property has become larger as there is now a new heritage Victorian house right next to the DysART I knew with an additional pool for all guests. It is newly renovated and shows the same love for art and detail.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc_Grete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Spent two nights at the end of our South African holiday and it was a good way to end, would have loved to have stayed longer. Very nice boutique hotel, spacious and comfortable rooms with beautiful and artful decor. Good location, easy walk to the Waterfront on a quiet street. Our room had a a beautiful view towards the water and the stadium. Nice breakfast and public areas with two pools which we unfortunately did not have time to use. The staff were very lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieAnne1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dysart Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dysart Boutique Hotel

Property: Dysart Boutique Hotel
Address: 17 Dysart Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dysart Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dysart Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dysart Hotel Cape Town Central
Dysart Cape Town
Dysart Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing