We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your Home in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Your Home in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed here for a total of 6 nights during August 2014 and since we travelled away from Cape Town to visit the Winelands for a couple of days once and to do a safari for another couple of days, we wre fortunate enough to be able to experience 3 different rooms.

Each room was imaculately detailed and had its own charm. They were all spotless and very comfortable.

They also offer breakfast to their guests that we looked forward to each morning. It was always delicious and more than enough.

However, what separates DysArt, in my opinion, is its owners and their staff. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like we were family that they hadn't seen in awhile. They suggested dinner locations, things to do, arranged for cars, etc. We took all of their advice and had the time of our lives.

We will definitely go back to Cape Town as we have a number of things we still want to do but, ultimately, we want to go back to Cape Town to see our new friends at DysArt again.

Room Tip: If there is a bad room, I'm not aware of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    38
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
34
282
26
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We had a delightful 2-night stay here. It's up some steep steps (no lift) so be warned if you have heavy bags, although usually there is someone to help you. Our room was large, airy and spotlessly clean, with a balcony overlooking the pool.
The hotel itself is also light and airy, with artwork by local artists on the walls and a friendly hotel cat.
Lovely varied breakfast, friendly and efficient staff, two dip-pools (one heated in summer, although they are installing a solar heater to warm one of the pools in winter as well).
There are restaurants and a fantastic deli nearby, and it's a short walk to the waterfront. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights when we arrived in Cape Town for our honeymoon earlier this month, and wished we had booked in for longer. The hotel was spotless, with unusual art decorating the walls. It had a small pool and although we were lucky enough to get good weather we did not brave a dip! Lovely area with seats and tables though where we enjoyed a couple of evening glasses of wine.
Our room was lovely, spacious with a comfortable bed and a large, modern bathroom and a small balcony for admiring the sunset. We had very kindly been given a bottle of bubbly in our room to celebrate our honeymoon- very thoughtful and much appreciated.
The staff were all very helpful, ordering many taxis for us to get around the city, and served a lovely breakfast buffet that included smoked salmon, fresh sour cream and chives, bread, cereal, cheese and meat in the morning- you could also order a hot breakfast. We had a number of chats with Dennis who was very helpful and helped to make our stay a good one.
The hotel was a little off the main road and not every taxi driver knew where it was, but it was easy to direct to. Lots of restaurants nearby, and the Hussar Grill was recommended to us where we enjoyed an evening meal. Only a few minutes taxi from the waterfront.
We would love to stay again if we return to Cape Town- thank you so much for a wonderful (short!) stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachael794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here in July 2014 for 4 nights with my wife and a friend.
Perfect location close to beach and city. Was easy to get around. The staff were very friendly.
It's a perfect little spot with personal touch. The breakfast was delicious with hot breakfast made to order. The staff will make you what ever you wanted which I thought was really sweet.
Loved it . Will defiantly go back there when ever in cap town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sash V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Dysart hotel! We planned only to stay there the first two days of our south Africa tour, but we had such a lovely time that we came back at the end of our trip to relax a bit more in this lovely hotel. Beautiful place, great location en very lovely staff!
If we even come back to Cape town we will definitely stay at the Dysart hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I cannot rate this place highly enough. My husband and I visited Cape Town with another couple. It was our first time in Cape Town, and we weren't sure where to stay. We stayed at Dysart for a week, and it was perfect for us! They have two buildings right next to each other on a quiet street off of the main drag in Green Point. It was secluded but a 5 minute walk to nice restaurants (try El Burro for delicious margaritas and Mexican food and go to Manos for a nice steak!) and shops in Green Point and a 20 minute walk to the V&A. We and our friends were put in the building next to the main one. This building only has two rooms (though they are planning to add a few more rooms), and it was great for us since we felt like we had the whole house to ourselves. Our room had a nice patio that overlooked the small plunge pool and lounge chairs outside. The main building (25 feet away from ours) has a nice outdoor seating area with a larger pool and more lounge chairs. We also ate our breakfasts out here except for the last day when it was raining.
And, the breakfasts... They are delicious (fruit, bread, yogurt, smoked salmon etc), and you can order a hot breakfast every day and the LOVELY ladies in the kitchen will make you delicious cappuccinos and lattes.
The staff is amazing, and like I said, treat you with such hospitality and warmth that you feel like royalty or at home :) They always called and made reservations for us and had a few recommendations to give as well. They made every effort to serve us. We were able to chat with the owner, and he even invited us up for a glass of wine. I think the best example of how far they will go is this: shortly after arriving at the airport to leave Cape Town, I realized I had left my passport in my room! My husband and I frantically called the hotel and talked to one of the lovely ladies. They sent someone immediately to the airport and dropped it off. I am not sure if it was one of the owners who dropped it off, but she wouldn't accept money from us and just said it was a service on behalf of the hotel.....
The rooms are decorated in an eclectic manner, the bed was very comfortable. Only downsides are parking on the small street, but again, the staff help with this. Additionally, there isn't a ton of privacy from the bathroom to the bedroom as it's a frosted glass door, but my husband and I didn't mind. The shower is amazing too!
Stay here! I don't think you will regret it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

A place, where everything is just right: the welcome, the decor, the high quality bedding, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and the knowledgable owner, who moved from Germany to Cape Town a couple of years ago. Great position in Green Point, close to both city and waterfront. A true five-star experience.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dieter791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dysart Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dysart Boutique Hotel

Property: Dysart Boutique Hotel
Address: 17 Dysart Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dysart Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dysart Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dysart Hotel Cape Town Central
Dysart Cape Town
Dysart Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing