We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming, relaxed, friendly, contemporary ... simply delightful.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dysart Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Ranked #15 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming, relaxed, friendly, contemporary ... simply delightful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

Perfect place to relax and unwind but also conveniently located for those who wish to explore Cape Town and beyond. The owners and staff are very friendly and happy to help and advise on trips, tours, restaurants, etc. The guest house is tastefully designed with a contemporary feel, rooms are clean (as everywhere throughout), spacious and stylish. The pool is perfect for a refreshing dip and big enough for an energetic swim. Personally, I do not hesitate in recommending a stay here whether for a couple of nights or a couple of weeks. My stay at the DysArt was simply delightful and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happynomad50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    37
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
34
275
26
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2009

We spent a weekend in Cape Town on a whim and found the dysART online at the last minute. We weren't really sure what to expect.

We arrived to find an intimate and elegant boutique hotel in an absolutely gorgeous setting. The rooms are truly 5 star, with beautiful stone bathrooms, LED lighting, comfy beds and minibars stocked with delicious South African wines. Breakfast is included and can be served in the dining room, on the patio by the pool or in your room.

The owners - a husband and wife team from Germany - couldn't have been friendlier. Each of their restaurant recommendations was fantastic and the wine they served us in their beautiful pool area was great. They seem to take great pride in their adopted city. I will definitely be back on my next trip to Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCilley02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2009

We are delighted to write a review of the DysART.

Our trip to Cape Town was a combined business / pleasure trip with another couple. It was our first trip to South Africa that took place over the late October-early November period, 2008. The DysART is the best small guesthouse / boutique hotel we have stayed anywhere in our travels. Owners Lo, Peter and Frank, and their team Marten, Alex, Neefa and the other fine ladies are gracious hosts that cannot do enough to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. There is no request or assistance that they cannot render you from super glue to fix sun glasses to restaurants for fine dining. Indeed, every restaurant and winery recommendation was outstanding. These people know the city and Cape Region intimately.

The DysART is new (~18 months old) and immaculate with very modern facilities and beautiful décor. The owners are art lovers and it shows. The rooms are large and very comfortable with some very attractive features such as lots of closet space, access to the outdoors, soft lighting, etc. We stayed in several of them as we were coming and going for several extended trips that took us away from the city. The staff was gracious in accommodating us with luggage storage, laundry (done on site and everything neatly ironed and folded), etc.

The breakfasts are continental style and most satisfying, though the ladies will make you anything you ask for. One can eat inside or enjoy the morning on the patio. The small pool is not heated but on a hot day is refreshing. There is a very comfortable sitting area inside that has a lot of current and topical tourist information. If you can’t find the information you need, the staff will. There is a computer set up at the mini-bar that can be accessed at one’s leisure.

Given that the DysART is a new establishment, we too had a driver that had difficulty finding it from the airport. The Ultra liquor store on Main Street down the hill, as well as the Hyper pharmacy, is a well-known signpost and guide for the unfamiliar. We would recommend having them send Alex out to fetch you, a wonderful man and great driver who will wisk you around town our out to the nearby winelands.

The DysART is an easy 15 minute walk to the waterfront complex and 25 minutes walk to the convention centre. The ladies had no problem navigating the route and felt quite safe doing so. There are several good restaurants down the hill on Main Street (within a five minute walk; e.g. Hussar’s Grill), though Frank can find a fine dining establishment to suit any taste and arrange for Alex to take you there and back.

We felt safe and comfortable at the DysART with Marten (true rugby fan) always there to welcome us every evening regardless of our arrival time. It was like staying with friends and on many evenings we enjoyed conversation and a glass of wine with Frank, Lo and Peter.

In a word, ‘outstanding’ in all aspects. We give the DysART our highest recommendation and want to come back!

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — Not a thing.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Experten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2009

We loved this guest house. The decor was very modern, rooms were large and comfortable, view and pool were lovely, and the hosts were very helpful. The location is very convenient for getting around Cape Town. DYSart is highly recommended if you're looking for something high quality and comfortable but intimate.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NYCFlyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

Great guesthouse with a beautiful terrasse and pool and very stylish and clean rooms.
Full english breakfast with fresh fruit salad, juice etc.
Very useful tips from the host on restaurants, sightseeing, shopping etc.
Perfectly located in Greenpoint and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, many good restaurants and bars.
Within the last 20 years I have seen many hotels, B&B's and guesthouses in Cape Town and dysART is one of the best.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Florian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2008

We found this hotel on the internet, expected a god hotel but ended up at a 5 star boutique hotel but in the size of a Guest House. The atmosphere is very intimate. The owners and the staff makes you feel very welcome and really cares about you, they help you with what ever you need.

There are only six rooms, every one seems to have its own balcony and the bathrooms are splendid; two showers and one bath. The interior is very tasteful.

The cleaning is very fantastic, if you mess up your room, the next day it will be perfectly cleaned with all your stuff in the wardrobe or the storage spaces.

Breakfast is small but they make you what you want and everything is very good.

The location of the guest house is perfect, there are one good resturant in walking distance. You can easily walk to waterfront and tourist information during daytime.

For 4 nights we pay 4900 ZAR, compared to other hotels in Cape Town you get very much for your money. Though we stayed there during low season so it might be a bit more expensive in january-february.

If you like modern interior design, be inspired by arts and have good service in an intimate atmospehere, this is the place to be.

NB - Since it is a very small and fairly new hotel the taxi we took from the airport didn´t know the road or the hotel. We recommend that you let the hotel arrange with a pick-up for you.

  • Liked — The good service and the tasteful design of the hotel.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mia_and_Bjorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dysart Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dysart Boutique Hotel

Property: Dysart Boutique Hotel
Address: 17 Dysart Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dysart Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Dysart Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dysart Hotel Cape Town Central
Dysart Cape Town
Dysart Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing