We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed 16 August 2009

dysART is the sort of place we would give 11 out of 10 to, if that was within the rules. The rooms are excellent and the location convenient (an easy walk to the V&A waterfront). It's the quality , flexibility and extent of the service, however, which really makes this small hotel outstanding. Whether its an early or late breakfast or advice about where to go for dinner the service is superb. We wanted to go to a restaurant our daughter had recommended and the dysART staff went to check it out before they made all the arrangements for us to have dinner there! Their advice on where to go (and just as important when to go there) let us make the most of out time in Cape Town and was far better than the guide book. We would not have thought of watching the stunning sunsets from the top of Table Mountain or from an evening off shore cruise if they hadn't suggested it. The arrangements dysART made for us at restaurants and for excursions (vinyards and crocodiles in one day!) left us with memories of our vist to Cape Town we will treasure for a long time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZacAndJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    38
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
34
288
26
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We stayed in a very well designed, spacious and comfortable room. We loved the modern spacious bathroom. From the pool side you can spot a glimpse of the new nearby soccer stadium. Very helpfull & friendly owners and staff. Definitely recommended!.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitri_Vissers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Wow! What a find this place was! For some reason we decided to stay out of town (this was my third time in Cape Town) and this little gem popped up when we looked at Green Point.
The room was just pure class: one wall was floor-to-ceiling windows; white walls tastefully ornamented here and there; queen-sized bed with a fabulously elegant mohair, feather and bead throw across the foot of it; the best bathroom I've ever had the use of, half pebble-clad walls, twin basins and a walk-in shower big enough to get the South African rugby team in with a plentiful and powerful supply of hot water.
The rest of the house was equally elegant and I got the impression that everything, from the furniture to coffee table books had been agonised over before (correct!) choices were made.
The breakfast buffet was top class with locally baked bread and freshly brewed coffee top of my list. There were also cold meats, cheeses and pastries. Eggs were cooked to order. Perfect.
Lest I forget, the house wine (around £10 a bottle) was most excellent value and in good supply.
The views from our room (over the terrace, pool, seating area, loungers and life-size, very real-looking aligator) looked out to sea and the new 2010 World Cup stadium being built (off to the right so not really an eyesore!).
Last and far from least, the staff and owners...What a lovely bunch of people! Lo, Peter and Frank, the owners, shared many a bottle of wine with us and advised us on the best places to eat (Cape Town is great for foodies!) whilst sharing many a joke. Martin, the night-manager, is full of local information and a great source for of what's happening in South African politics (if you can get him to stay still and chat!).
This boutique guest house (a really downmarket description for what it is!) is within about 15 minutes walking distance of the city and the V&A Waterfront and taxis are very cheap for those of you who 'don't do walking'.
I've stayed 4* in Cape Town on other occasions and dysART was MUCH better than that. I hope it's still there when the football has been and gone as I so much want to return.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldfrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2009

We stayed for a week and the team running the hotel (although it feels more like staying with friends) are very hospitable, helpful, and their main goal is for you to have a great time.
Location is quiet but within easy reach of a majority of things you will want to do.
Rooms are great and extremely comfortable whilst stylish and with amazing showers!!
Breakfast would cater for everyone and set you up for the day.
Their tips and assistance just make your trip that much more enjoyable.
Thanks for a superb week :)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Liked - everything
disliked - nothing at all
We spend a week there in March and we could happily stay for a month.
The guesthouse is nicely done, simple and stylish with some distinstive modern and african art pieces as well. The rooms are bright and functional, we really liked the pebble tiled bathroom. Basically, everything is very new and modern, yet very cosy and warm! Our room had a patio as well, cute garden and outdoors shower : perfect to sunbathe and chill in the afternoon.
Breakfast is great either by the pool or at your room's patio - all freshly made and delicious! and always served with a big smile!
What makes the place so unique are the people : Lo, Frank and Peter obviously enjoy Cape Town and that's how they decided to start Dysart! Now they make sure you also get the best out of it, recommending the best restaurants and bars in town, arranging trips for you, sharing some lovely wine by the pool in the evening.
And the best thing is that nothing feels "pre packaged" or artificial : you feel you are among friends who will try to make your holiday unforgettable!
Great place, we hope to make it back there soon!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthensTrip123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Perfect place to relax and unwind but also conveniently located for those who wish to explore Cape Town and beyond. The owners and staff are very friendly and happy to help and advise on trips, tours, restaurants, etc. The guest house is tastefully designed with a contemporary feel, rooms are clean (as everywhere throughout), spacious and stylish. The pool is perfect for a refreshing dip and big enough for an energetic swim. Personally, I do not hesitate in recommending a stay here whether for a couple of nights or a couple of weeks. My stay at the DysArt was simply delightful and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happynomad50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We spent a weekend in Cape Town on a whim and found the dysART online at the last minute. We weren't really sure what to expect.

We arrived to find an intimate and elegant boutique hotel in an absolutely gorgeous setting. The rooms are truly 5 star, with beautiful stone bathrooms, LED lighting, comfy beds and minibars stocked with delicious South African wines. Breakfast is included and can be served in the dining room, on the patio by the pool or in your room.

The owners - a husband and wife team from Germany - couldn't have been friendlier. Each of their restaurant recommendations was fantastic and the wine they served us in their beautiful pool area was great. They seem to take great pride in their adopted city. I will definitely be back on my next trip to Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCilley02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dysart Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dysart Boutique Hotel

Property: Dysart Boutique Hotel
Address: 17 Dysart Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dysart Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Dysart Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dysart Hotel Cape Town Central
Dysart Cape Town
Dysart Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing