We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
mz_authentik
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome..”
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I really didn't know what to expect when I got to South Africa, and after a long flight of 18 hours, staying here made it worth it. Peter, Martin, and the rest of the staff were nothing but awesome. The location was a 10 min walk to the stadium and V & A Waterfront. The morning buffet was sooo good and hot foods were made to order. Anytime we needed a recommendation of a place to go, or something to eat, they came through. Only issue I had, was that we didn't stay long enough. We only stayed for 6 days, when it really takes about 2 weeks to thoroughly enjoy the city. The room we had was nice, and the bathroom stone floors and carpet were heated. I will definitely be staying here for my next vacation in Cape Town!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mz_authentik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    40
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
290
26
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bosen, Saarland
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2010

The dysART guesthouse is the nicest accomodation you will find in Cape Town ... IF you like the following (as we did !!!): it's a 5 star guesthouse. The interior design is beautiful, with a lot of modern chic and love for details, and very comfortable. Each of the 6 rooms has its unique character and view (we had a sea view, additionally looking over robben island and the brand new stadium!). The owners Lo, Pete and Frank are incredibly kind and personal "travel guidance" is guaranteed. The V&A Waterfront (marvellous place to shop, eat, drink and enjoy music and harbour atmosphere) is at walking distance (15min. past the new stadium). In case you need to get around in Cape Town, call Intercab taxis (very kind and reliable) to the hotel or use the red/blue tourist bus lines, which stop at 2 locations near dysART. They take you all around town in 2 hours and you can hop on or off anytime. If you plan on going to Cape Town for the World Cup, there's no better place to stay than the dysART, also of course in terms of distance to the stadium. Bottom line: Perfect stay !!! We'll be back !!! ... Manuel & Britta

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuels-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Out room was clean and well appointed with huge shower and own cool, calm, private courtyard garden, complete with further hot and cold shower. (room 3). The decor is modern and artistic with a lovely dipping pool at the front and comfotable decking and lounging areas. Frank and Peter, (the owners), were very helpful and knowledgable about the area and gave excellent advice on times and places to visit local attractions and restaurants, and made bookings for us and called taxis when necessary.
Breakfast has a wide choice of options and all hot food is cooked to order.
This is the perfect hotel if you want something more intimate and well situated within easy walking distance of good local restaurants and The Waterfront where there is a wealth of shopping and even more restaurants of all styles and nationalities.
Nothing is too much trouble at this guesthouse and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feebeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Dysart Guesthouse is located in the trendy Green Point district of Cape Town. It is a stone's throw away from bars, restaurants and the popular waterfront area. Run by a lovely couple, Dysart is a boutique guesthouse - stylish, contemporary and amazingly decorated. I give it two thumbs up!

Watch my video review here-
http://www.tripfilms.com/Travel_Video-v69195-Cape_Town-Dysart_Guesthouse-Video.html

  • Liked — the stylish decoration
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tascha007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in February. Room was quite large and well furnished. Bathroom had a double shower (no bath). Breakfast was good. Owners were pleasant enough and helpful.

The only thing that I really disliked was the bedding. We had a king size bed but the duvets were 2 singles placed together so if you turned over in the night the covers dropped off and you ended up in a cold draught. Couldn't understand why they didn't have a king size duvet. Small point but a bit irritating.

20min walk to the V&A Waterfront in the daytime but definately take a taxi back in the evening.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

As mentioned in other reviews, this is a very comfortable hotel. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood, about 15 minutes walk from Waterfront. The room and bathroom were very comfortable and clean. The staff was very nice and helpful. Airport pick-up was also arranged (not complimentary) and the driver was a very reliable guy that we used afterwards several times.
The rooms were of good size and with good bathrooms. The whole building is built in a modern style with some African decoration. There is stylish pool, but a bit too small to swim in and too close to the terrace, creating a bit a of a cramped feeling.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Dutchman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunfun33
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2010

I visited the dysART hotel with my boyfriend (we are a gay couple) last week and had a fantastic time. The owners/managers Lo/Peter/Frank genuinely care about their guests and went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one including helping us with renting a car and booking a shark diving tour.

Fashionable Lo was especially enjoyable to talk with and was spot on with her restaurant recommendations both in Cape Town and on day trips to The Cape of Good Hope and Stellenbosch / Franschhoek. She has excellent taste and kindly helped us plan each day which really made the trip a relaxing and enjoyable one.

The hotel is a joy in terms of thoughfully designed rooms, luxurious bathrooms and our room had a beautiful private ground floor terrace / garden off the back with sun chairs and a brilliant outdoor shower, perfect after a dip in the pool.

Would highly recommend and hope to come back!

Also - definitely gay friendly.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunfun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,402 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,028 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dysart Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dysart Boutique Hotel

Property: Dysart Boutique Hotel
Address: 17 Dysart Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dysart Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Dysart Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dysart Hotel Cape Town Central
Dysart Cape Town
Dysart Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing