We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest meals to a good price with swift service”
Review of joe fish

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
joe fish
Ranked #661 of 1,148 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
227 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Honest meals to a good price with swift service”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is a great place for a quick bite when you want to get some decent food. I am very critical, most others would give it a 4 but that is in my world reserved for places like Five Flies and the five for Laserre or Comme Chez soi so this is a good restaurant thou not world class.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Our favourite fish restaurant”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

We are so fortunate to have this excellent fish restaurant right on our doorstep. Always take friends there as we are never disappointed and a first place of call for my USA cousin for their grilled calamari. The specials board is a pleasure and enjoy the fact that often there will be something new on the menu.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidBo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Booking essential”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Joe Fish is a delight! A quaint little restaurant tucked onto the corner of Howard Centre shopping Mall. The menu is extensive, with a wide variety other than seafood also on offer. Service is always attentive and efficient and the food delicious (although sometimes rather oily). I would recommend the mussels with chips, the fish pie or any of their very reasonably priced, daily specials. As the restaurant tends to get very busy during peak mealtimes, and is quite tiny, booking is definitely advised.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandiman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Local favourite”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Joe Fish is this little restaurant in Pinelands which is kind of unknown but always fully booked. They don't do fancy- but the do quality, consistency and always the freshest options. I'm a huge fan of their hush puppies
Joe Fish is incredibly reasonable priced- always a great deal for a casual dinner. Service is always great- for a restaurant that is always packed in keeps their staff on their toes but somehow they never manage to skip a beat

for more pictures and information:
http://toomuchloveliness.blogspot.com/2012/09/joe-fish-pinelands-secret.html

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toomuchloveliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
486 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great Potential”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Joe Fish has been around for awhile in Pinelands and appears to have a regular clientele.

However, on the night we visited, the service was so slow it was going backwards! As we were a group of 8 we had loads to chat about but still! The food was tasty, but the kitchen looked chaotic and very upside down. The loos were accessed via the kitchen ( a no-no in my book)

A few days later we compared notes and most of us ended up with tummy problems that night.

Whether this was a once-off, we cannot say as the poor service put us off returning.

Fish needs to be 100% fresh at all times - perhaps we just picked a bad night.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaapie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed joe fish also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to joe fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing