We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, welcoming boutique hotel”
Review of Cape Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape Riviera
Ranked #35 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Just a lovely place to stay. Especially at the end of a long trip living in five star concrete boxes masquerading as hotels. Well situated for cape town and Clifton beach. Warmly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oranjezicht1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Having spent some days on Safari and three days on Rovos Rail, it was nice to have some down time in Cape Town. What a superb guesthouse, thanks to Eric and Lisa for making us feel at home!
Comfy bed, wonderful shower, nothing was too much trouble. Oh, and the view from the balcony in room 10 was just beautiful!
Pics from the whole trip are at http://www.dd1961.com/southafrica

Room Tip: Room 10, lovely balcony and great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fasthound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had three nights here at the start of our holiday. What a great start. It might be nestled in a residential area but this is a great period property. All the staff were very helpful and our room spacious, clean and well equiped. As previous reviewers mention we were given sound advice on where to eat etc. There is a small italian cafe/bar/ just round the corner and up the hill a bit which does great lunches or a good value evening meal fora change.

We met the owner on the second night and spent a lovely couple of hours with him chatting away on the balcony over a complimentary bottle of fizz. You just don't get this at a big hotel!

The only negative was that the cooked breakfast was a bit limited; which if we were staying longer wouldhave been more of an issue.

This was just a taster of South Africa for us and we will definitely be back - to both Cape town & Cape Riviera. There is so muchmore to see and do. Highlights for us on this visit were Table Mountain & cable car ride (of course), Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens (excellent) and the penguins at Boulders Beach (remember to check under your car before driving off!).

See you all again soon!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wag_lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We recently stayed at the Cape Riviera for 4 nights and couldn't recommend this guest house highly enough. From the outset, Lisa and Owen were extremely helpful and full of advice and guidance to ensure we got the most out of the time we had in Cape Town. They made excellent restaurant recommendations (especially Societi - our favourite of the entire holiday!), and were always on hand to assist where necessary, without being intrusive.

The guest house is colonial in style and very tastefully decorated. Our room had everything we could wish for and was lovely and clean.

Whilst the location might seem a little 'residential' for some, we really loved it as it was easy to find, close to a number of good eating spots and right next to the foot of Table Mountain. There's also loads of space to park outside, so there were no issues with having a car. As the taxis are so cheap anyway, we didn't bother with taking the car down to the V&A area.

We'd definitely return to the Cape Riviera the next time we're back in this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CagsieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at the Cape Riviera for 3 nights at the start of our tour of RSA. We hired a car for out two weeks from the airport and with the directions given by the hotel it was easy to find. The hotel was very good, although our room (3) in the main house was a little frayed around the edges and in need of some attention it did not distract from our stay. Large room with large bathroom and a small terrace area – although no views of the town or Table Mountain – again this was not a cause for concern as we intended to stay in our room as little as possible and cram in as much as possible during our stay. The hotel has a very old colonial feel and is furnished sympathetically. We had a very warm welcome from Lisa the Manager and she was very helpful with suggestions of places to visit and booking restaurants and cabs.
Top tip: If only in Cape Town for a few days take the opportunity to visit Table Mountain immediately it becomes available, we were fortunate to spot the opportunity and change our plans for that day, if we hadn’t we would not have got to go due to cloud (no view) or high winds (no cable car) – Lisa will let you know at breakfast if the time is right. Breakfast was excellent (great sausages). Quiet neighbourhood, a little out of town but easily accessible by taxi (cheap) or car. We did walk to Bacinis Italian on Kloof Street (about 10 minutes) and Societi, but got a cab back as it was all up hill. Nice hotel with a very friendly/homely feel and a great start to our trip.
Good selection of restaurants at Victoria and Alfred waterfront – 10 minutes car/taxi and easy to walk into town during the day through the Gardens (although it is all down hill). Hotel not particularly disabled friendly as there are a number of steps up from the road. Owen (owner) and Lisa extremely helpful with suggestions, booking cabs/restaurants

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard-Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed at the Cape Riviera in October 2010 for the first two nights of our honeymoon in South Africa. It’s been a while but we were so impressed that I had to post some comments. Thankfully, I kept a daily diary.

For handiness, most visitors to Cape Town stay and socialise by the Waterfront but it has something of a theme park feel and the prices to match. There are great guesthouses and hotels, like the Cape Riviera, which is just a five-minute taxi ride away and far better value.

Cape Riviera is a stunning guesthouse / hotel nestled in the suburbs below Table Mountain. It was built in the 1920s and, as the name suggests, was influenced by a holiday the then owner took in the south of France. There is teak everywhere along with lovely furniture and well thought out décor.

The owner, Owen, was terrifically helpful with recommendations through our short stay. On the first night he directed us to ‘Societi’ restaurant nearby – a little gem of a place which is very popular with locals. Afterwards, we returned to our room to find it candlelit, champagne on ice, and flower petals strewn across the bed.

On our second night Owen recommended another top eaterie, the 'Opal Lounge', where we enjoyed another memorable meal. Here, two friendly Namibians bought us a bottle of champagne when they found out we were honeymooners.

Cape Riviera was quiet, authentic and wonderfully laid back. Be sure and check out the pics I’ve posted. It was also friendly and good value compared to hotels in the city centre.

Owen deserves credit for running such a lovely guesthouse and going the extra mile to ensure that guests experience the real Cape Town and not just the tourist traps.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnthemoveBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Cape Riviera surpassed our expectations in beauty, service, comfort, delicious breakfasts, special touches, and helpfulness. Lisa and Owen, with help from Samantha and Eric, saw to our every need, providing information and advice on where to go and what to see, calling taxis, reserving restaurants, helping with travel arrangements, and more. Our room was lovely and immaculate with all the amenities. If we return to Cape Town, we would definitely stay there.

Lee and Ben from Newport, RI

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
29onBuxton
#43 of 128 in Cape Town Central
8 reviews
City Bowl
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
#36 of 156 in Cape Town Central
143 reviews
Rutland Lodge
#52 of 156 in Cape Town Central
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Rosedene Guest House
Rosedene Guest House
#23 of 156 in Cape Town Central
228 reviews
City Bowl
Villa Lutzi
Villa Lutzi
#87 of 156 in Cape Town Central
65 reviews
Acorn House
#8 of 156 in Cape Town Central
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Riviera

Address: 31 Belvedere Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £87 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Cape Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Riviera Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Riviera
Cape Riviera Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing