We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a business trip”
Review of Cape Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape Riviera
Ranked #33 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for a business trip”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Very convenient position for the CBD. Breakfast is decent (and comprehensive). Staff are friendly and helpful. There is a Virgin Active gym nearby. Slight negatives: parking on the street, no safe in my room, no food options in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LordVegetable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    58
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
110
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I had a wonderful room with a view to the mountain at the back and the harbour in front.
I love the statues in the front of the house and at the pool. The contemporary feel in the lovingly the cared for old house makes a profound statement.
The staff is friendly and attentive without seeming so in an overwhelming way.
I loved staying here and will be back...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ansie7ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful. Would definitely stay there again and recommend others to stay there. Great views of Table Mountain. Location was an easy walk to Kloof street with bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

As a lover of all things art-deco I was more than captivated by the beautiful surroundings that comprise this fantastic Cape Town bed and breakfast. Situated on a hillside overlooking the city the property is still within walking district of shopping and dining.

For me, however, I cannot, compliment enough the kind and courteous attention of the staff for assisting me during my stay. They certainly went above and beyond my expectations and as a solo traveler needing a bit of encouragement to get out and see the sites I cannot thank them enough. Well done!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TamiCinNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duisburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

It has been our 7th visit to the Cape Riviera and we are already looking forward to coming again. As soon as we enter the house, it's just like being at home. We really like the relaxing atmosphere in the beautiful house in Oranjezicht with the view to Table Mountain and the city bowl. For us, spacious room no. 12 in the new building is our favourite room though also room no. 1 in the main house with its view to the city and Signal Hill is just magnificient. It's always nice to meet Owen, the owner, again and to be looked after by Michél who is managing the guest house.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea & Michae... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qacha's Nek, Lesotho
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Guest house is excellent, very comfortable and in a very nice locality. The lounge is very elegant with good magazines to read. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great.
The only areas where the facilities differed from what was indicated on the website was a private and secure parking (we did mange to get one finally) and massage facility which was indicated but not there. Also, it would help if along with washing, the facility of ironing of clothes is also available for the guests. The overall experience was enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shriram P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We spent a night here on our way back home from the Antarctica. It was such a great way to return back to the "real world". The whole house is comfortable and the staff really makes you feel welcome. Highly recommended by all of us!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Rosedene Guest House
Rosedene Guest House
#24 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Tintagel Guesthouse
#10 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Rutland Lodge
#35 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#23 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
City Bowl
Villa Bianca
Villa Bianca
#59 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
City Bowl
Cactusberry Lodge
Cactusberry Lodge
#50 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Riviera

Property: Cape Riviera
Address: 31 Belvedere Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cape Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Riviera Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Riviera
Cape Riviera Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing