We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place”
Review of Cape Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape Riviera
Ranked #32 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“What a place”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It was my Second stay at Cape Riviera this time was out of this world loved it a great place to stay. The staff were great and know their stuff felt like I was at home. The Views and closeness to the cbd was great. The best B&B in Cape town great to stay a nite or 7 you will be sad to leave

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garradon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    58
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
111
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Gorgeous place to stay and so central - the breakfasts can't be surpassed. My family and I really enjoyed the friendly and helpful staff. The ambience is sophisticated and the views from the balcony area are delightful. I highly recommend staying at this stylish B&B whilst you are visiting Cape Town.

Room Tip: Visit the website and speak to the friendly staff who will be delighted to guide you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The rooms and en suites were fantastic, lots of space and nicely decorated.
The staff were all very friendly, offering great advice on where to eat and where to go.
I'd recommend this guest house to anyone, we had a great stay.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I arrived at 7 o'clock in the morning and received a warm welcome, a hot cup of coffee and a tasteful breakfast. My room was ready in an hour, which was vey nice, I could freshen up, leave my luggage in my room and start a fresh day in Cape town, The ambience of the hotel is classy, neat and warm. Spent many houers on the balcony, enjoying the view over Capetown. It was a 15 minute walk downhill to city center, and another 10 minute walk to the Waterfront. Ideally located at the foot of the Table Mountain and not far away from Camps Bay. I enjoyed my last days in Capetown which was patly due to this great hotel and very friendly staff!

Room Tip: I slept alone in a double room with a small patio. Very nice, clean and spacious bathroom, no compla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsWierenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Sadly we didn't even have 24 hours at Cape Riviera but for the time we were there, I was really impressed - our room was fantastic, the staff couldn't have been friendlier and the breakfast was one of the best I had while I was in South Africa.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We are an elderly couple. The stairs to the rooms were many but fortunately there is a small lift. Very central location to CTN city bowl. Rooms large and comfy. The breakfast was not up to scratch for the price you pay. If you came letr in the morning there was nothing left and staff had to scrounge for some items. We looked into the kitchen and it was also not clean. Service on the whole was poor in the absence of supervisory staff or owners, especially in the breakfast area. For the price the rooms were OK but not service and the breakfast

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DrCjb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is our third visit to Cape Riviera over quite a number of years and we have never been disappointed - nor do we expect to be. The service is great and they are happy to assist in any way possible - always nice to meet Owen when he is there. Travelled this time with our 30 year old son and he was suitably impressed with everything. The location of this venue was perfect and the amenities were everything that we required as a family. Took the opportunity to make use of the overnight covered parking and do this each time that we stay - just ask! Will stay again of course, in probably four years time, when next we visit South Africa and the Cape area.

Room Tip: Rooms 10, 11 and 12 have the best views but the others are good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherandDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Rutland Lodge
#44 of 155 in Cape Town Central
209 reviews
City Bowl
Villa Lutzi
Villa Lutzi
#85 of 155 in Cape Town Central
61 reviews
City Bowl
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
#34 of 155 in Cape Town Central
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 Camp Street Guesthouse & Self-...
#31 of 155 in Cape Town Central
180 reviews
City Bowl
Lezard Bleu
Lezard Bleu
#33 of 155 in Cape Town Central
189 reviews
City Bowl
Rosedene Guest House
Rosedene Guest House
#29 of 155 in Cape Town Central
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Riviera

Property: Cape Riviera
Address: 31 Belvedere Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cape Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Riviera Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Riviera
Cape Riviera Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing