We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will I return? Oh 100% yes, yes, yes!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The big question, will I return, oh hell yeah. Myself and my partner stayed at the Glen Boutique Hotel for 6 days on holiday from the UK. Upon arriving at the Hotel, Rikki checked us in. Wer were early, but this was not a problem at all. Check in was really quick, we were offerd a drink and our bags taken to our room. Our room was one of the many delux rooms at the Hotel and was spacious, lots of wardrope space, lovely big bathroom,satelite tv, clean and tidy and the bed, don't get me stared on the bed ( so difficult to get out of). Oh that bed was so comfy! The pool area was much loved and enjoyed by myself and my partner.
Riaan, what a pleasure to have met him. Made us feel so at home. Always smiling and always has a time to stop and chat...he made our stay very enjoyable and very pleasurable too. A huge thank you to Riaan. A huge thank you to all the guys there, everyone is just so lovely and very friendly staff...this Hotel oozes South African Hospitality indeed. You will not be dissapointed at all.
The Glen Hotel is a little gem in Sea Point, a home away from home and I just can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9, loved it. Close to pool and bar. There are over 20 rooms to choose from. Ask th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

918 - 924 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Outstanding from start to finish. Staff were incredibly helpful, facilities are excellent. Very handy location, two blocks from the sea, several excellent restaurants in close proximity, close to the Waterfront (a short taxi ride or enervating walk). Overall, we were totally impressed. A lot of thought and attention has gone in to this place. Very high quality breakfast. What else can I say?! Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annacarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I loved this hotel. I stayed here 6 nights. It's located in Sea Point, which is maybe 5-10 minutes to downtown, Table Mountain and other places. The hotel itself is stylish, has a great breakfast, super-clean and quiet. I can't complain about one thing. Rianne and Gareth, were awesome hosts and really made me feel at home. I loved coming back to this place after a long day. The neighborhood is quiet and just one block to the Main Street with shops and restaurants. Another block over is a beautiful beach. The other guys that work in and around the pool like Jean-Paul are so helpful. Will get you anything you need. He even walked to the store for me when I needed something. I want to go back ASAP.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank StevenBFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Monica and I stayed at the Glen for five days and had the best stay ever! Everything was wonderful. The food and staff were excellent. Nothing was too big or small to handle. We met new friends and we are planning to stay at the Glen the next time we are in The Cape. The Glen Boutique Rocks!!! The Glen is a MUST!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divaonthedim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We booked the Glen as a one night stop over in the Cape, because it was one of the best value options around for a late deal.
There was private off road parking, we were greeted by an incredibly friendly staff and offered a welcome drink whilst we checked in. The room was beautiful and roomy. The staff recommended a restuarant for us in the evening and reserved our table.
Breakfast was unhurried and delicious, with everything from croissants, and fruits to a full english breakfast.
Incredible value for money, and we will definitely be back. Have already recommended it to many friends.
We are a straight couple, and didn't know that this was a gay hotel, but this certainly didn't impact our stay at all.
What a pleasant surprise!

Room Tip: We had room number 3 in the main building, but I think they are all similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pool Snooker B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Firstly I want to thank all the staff making our stay such a wonderful one, we stayed in March but due to illness am only just getting around to writing this.

When we arrived staff met us and took our bags. We were offered a welcome drink straight away.
We were then taken to our room which was absolutely STUNNING. Huge room with balcony area, king size bed, apple mac , huge flat screen tv, roll top bath, shower, lots of wardrobe space. The room is very funky and lovely decor and extremely clean.

The hotel has a lovely pool area, with comfortable sun loungers, and everyone is very friendly there and chats with one another. We had gorgeous snacks and drinks and it was so reasonably priced for a hotel.

The bar area is lovely, we had a drink there before going out in the evening. The hotel is only a short taxi ride to the bars and restaurants of Cape Town. Again the staff were so helpful and took time to advise us where to go out etc.

We only stayed for one night but wished we could have stayed for a week. We both work in the airline industry and stay in hotels all over the world every week and have to say that the Glen Boutique hotel is one of the best we have stayed in. THank you for a wonderful stay guys

hope to come back soon !!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schnarfkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We arrived in Cape Town following a four day safari ready to rest and relax. We were greeted by a front desk clerk that seemed surprised that we were standing in front of him. Once checked in (very cumbersome and lengthy) we got to our room. While the rooms are nice, it's definitely time for a freshen up - at least in the old section. If you do stay here, please ask for a tutorial on the phone, TV and AC/heat systems - all very, very confusing!

While the Glen is stylish and offers nice amenities, it really comes down to service. The staff is friendly (ish), but extremely unprepared and seemingly dim. This sounds harsh, but on several occasions (car rental, restaurant options, ordering in) the staff seemed 100% surprised by these requests and really didn't know, immediately, how to tackle the tasks....weird! We weren't asking for much.

I know we were there during the winter, but on our last day the temps soared to the mid 70's so we hit the pool. We were the only ones at the pool. I asked for two beers and let them know we were going to be poolside for some time. We never saw anyone again, for the next two hours! I finally took two beers from the bar...twice. We should probably send them a few Rand.

One last note, both hot tubs were out of operation and they were unwilling to reduce our rates - bad business practice!

They need to hire staff that can accomplish simply tasks and also handle problems. They all smile - a lot - (watch for the diamond in the front tooth, classy) - but can't do much else!

With the amount of straight couples there in tandem with the service levels, we won't be back!

Room Tip: The old section is cool, but the new section is a bit cleaner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,879 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#47 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,813 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,105 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £106 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For availability please book directly with us between 1st November 2017 until 31st March 2018. We have limited availability on all partner sites The Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa is the perfect destination for travellers who are looking to unwind, relax and explore the very best Cape Town has to offer. Our team are dedicated to making your stay as memorable as possible filled with wonderful experiences and treasured moments you’ll cherish for years to come. The Glen is chic, tastefully styled, and will embrace you in its warmth. The hotel has 24 individually furnished rooms, ranging from Standard, Deluxe and Suites, through to the crème de la crème of our stunning Penthouse - with direct lift access. The hotel itself is rich in décor and modern artwork, and most rooms come with their own balcony or private terrace. The Glen also offer 3 other properties, G on Barkly, G on Herbert and G on Rochester with their own unique self contained facilities. these properties are perfect for families and groups looking for a high standard of living and accommodation - please enquire directly with us for more details. Our G Spa is inspired to bring you complete wellness and honours the African principle of natural beauty. All treatments are designed to take you on a journey of rejuvenation with our trained massage therapists, who are there to help you to discover a whole new level of relaxation. Our sun terrace and cascading pools are the ideal spot for you to relax and enjoy the warmth of South Africa. Our outdoor Jacuzzi is ideal for evening sunset, and our spa includes a sauna, steam room and hot tub for your enjoyment, open from 6pm to 11pm. The G Kitchen hosts breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving a combination of Mediterranean and South African cuisine. Braai’s are held weekly during summer (Sept to April), where guests can enjoy traditional food and relax by the pool with one of our legendary cocktails. Our G Car Hire service has a fleet of luxury vehicles; from city runarounds to top end convertibles. For those who prefer to be driven around, we have experienced chauffeurs to take you anywhere in the City. Cape Town is known for its beautiful people, breathtaking scenery and rich history. To make sure you don’t miss any of these, we offer bespoke Tours and Activities, for both half days and full day experiences. As a non-discriminatory hotel we warmly welcome both straight and gay guests from all over the world. In addition to free WiFi and satellite TV, all guests can enjoy continental or full English breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool or at the restaurant, and the a la carte menu provides for round-the-clock informal dining. The Hotel is located in Sea Point, Cape Town and is only 12 miles from Cape Town International Airport with on-site parking as well as a luxury airport transfer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Boutique
Glen Boutique Cape Town
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing