We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Paternoster, South Africa
Level Contributor
169 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Superb Accommodation”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

What a great room. Large by any standards and squeaky clean. Wonderful shower and good quality soaps and shampoos. Nice size balconytoo, overlooking the pool. And quiet - especially considering the location right in the heart of Sea Point and close to Cape Town CBD. Staff available round the clock ; we were welcomed back after a night at the theatre with an offer of a nightcap. Nice welcome too , a glass of red wine in hand before we were shown the room and our luggage preceded us.
Would like to see in the bedroom a luggage rack and in the loo a can of air freshener.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CourteneyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    111
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
68
573
105
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in September 2012. We chose it online because of the good reviews and the low price offered (probably due to the low season), and we were just blown away.
Firstly, the hotel itself is gorgeous. From the pool to the plants to the decor, just everything was so well designed and beautifully chosen. Then, the room was large, offered a lot of light, and most importantly, was VERY clean. The breakfast was amazing-- buffet AND à la carte were included in our rate, and neither disappointed. Most importantly, the staff was amazing. We were concerned that we would perhaps be the odd man out as a straight couple in a gay hotel, but the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We were greeted by Jean-Claude and Doudou, who were beyond lovely, and I am only disappointed that I don't remember other members of the staff's names to praise them in this review.
Free high-speed wireless internet and free parking were also a big plus. No gym, but it is very close to a road where you can jog along the ocean.
Great location in sea point, and great atmosphere at the hotel (bar, restaurant, and spa!)
Overall really amazing experience, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CF2252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

A simply stunning hotel that is pure luxury.
The staff are the most welcoming at any hotel I can remember, a glass of wine was in our hands on arrival even before we had the key. Any questions we may have had were handled brilliantly along with great recommendations for restaurants, getting around and bars.
I wont even look at another place to stay on any return visit I may have and I've recommended it to anyone who mentions that they may be visiting gorgeous Cape Town.
Above excellent!

Room Tip: From what we saw you'd be in luxury even in the broom cupboard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeenAroundTheWord1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

As a birthday surprise for my wife, I set up a 10 day vacation in South Africa. The first five days were spent in Cape Town staying at the Glen Boutique Hotel; the last five days we stayed at the Vuyani Safari Lodge. This review focuses on our time in Cape Town staying at the Glen Boutique Hotel.

Bottom line ... the Glen Boutique Hotel is a GREAT(!) hotel. In terms of hospitality, their willingness to go out of their way to be helpful and their friendliness, it ranks up there with the best hotels we've ever stayed at (matter of fact, sitting here, I can't think of a better hotel in those respects). They leverage their 'smallness' ... every guest is personally greeted. And when you come in from a day trip, you're greeted with a sincere 'welcome home' and 'how was your day'.

Our room was spacious, clean, well decorated and had a small walkout balcony. It had a large, flat screen TV with Direct TV. They have two Apple computers (one in their bar and another off their dining room) with high speed I'net connectivity. They also have WiFi throughout the hotel.

We stayed in August, at the end of their winter season. While I don't know their 'high season' pricing, I can say the cost to stay there for us was very reasonable. The price also included a light buffet breakfast that included a full cooked-to-order course.

When I first found this hotel and booked it online, I did not realize it also catered to the gay/lesbian community. But for us, it didn't matter at all. Other hetro couples were there and everyone was friendly and we had a great time interacting with all the staff and other guests.

The hotel is located just a couple of blocks from a 'Red & Blue Line hop on, hop off' bus stop. The 'hop on, hop off' bus tour is a very effective way of seeing the city. Be sure to order your tickets online ... they have a ticket package option for two days, canal cruise, etc.

I thought about renting a car for one day to get down to Simon's Town, Cape Point, etc, but instead opted for hiring a cab/driver. We went from 10am to 6pm and he drove us everywhere. This was great for me since I did not have to focus on driving 'on the wrong side', navigating, etc. He also served as a personal tour guide as we stopped at various locations. For example he had us try a local fish (Snoek) at a small walk-up fish market/deli and he made sure it was cooked/served the way a typical South African family might have it.

BTW, in Cape Town, the Two Oceans Aquarium is a great place to visit and have lunch. We had a lunch featuring Hake, another local fish.

Since a trip to Table Mountain is just about mandatory, be sure to ask the Front Desk at the Glen to order your tickets online and print them. That way you don't have to stand in line to buy tickets at the base of the mountain.

In any event, if you're going to Cape Town, this is the hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scubadiver3000
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We had an amazing time while we stayed here. The staff could not be more friendly or accommodating. They went out of their way to help with parking our rental car and assisting with the luggage. The room was very nice and well appointed. We stayed at other B&B's while in Cape Town and the Glen Boutique was head and shoulders above the competition!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubadiver3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My husband an I stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon. The place it self is so beautiful, the decoration is amazing, the room had everything we needed, every little detail is taken care of, even the food looks beautiful, the way they arrange it, it was like being in wonderland for 3 days... Not only that but the service was the best ever! They are happy, respectful, and always ready to go the extra mile... They give as a beautil surprised when we came back from a walk they ha canddles lights in the room, a way of roses petals to a champagne bottle, an more roses and chocolates in the bed... It was sooooo romantic! We will never forget it! The next day they also help us arrange a tour around which was more than perfect! We got to see pinguins, seals, horse ridding cape of good hope, table mountain wine testing, fisher town all in just one day! Tjey even gave as a weding greating card! I would go back a million times!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My wife and I had the privilege to stay in the penthouse for one night; it is one of the best places we have ever stayed. Our experience has been wonderful from the moment we entered reception. The staff was very friendly and helpful; very clean hotel and room with beautiful finishes and décor. Food was great although a small menu. The small bar was basically new when we visited and need some tweaking; the barman was not up to standards and is our only complaint if we have to have one. Just a small note: I visited the hotel’s website after I made an online booking I was rather shocked with what I saw, it appeared to be a gay hotel. I immediately called them and asked about this as I wanted a romantic getaway for my wife and I, the reception told me that they are gay friendly and that it would not be awkward for us. This was 100% correct and I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jothe74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sea Point, Cape Town, The Glen Boutique Hotel offers luxurious accommodation in a breathtaking setting. As a non-discriminatory hotel we warmly welcome both straight and gay guests from all over the world. In addition to free WiFi and satellite TV the hotel also offers guests a spa and outdoor pool. The spa includes a spacious steam room, a traditional Swedish sauna and a Jacuzzi. We offer a selection of rooms with different views; some rooms either face the ocean or the mountain, while some open directly onto the pool area. Many of the rooms have their own private balcony. The hotel also offers a luxurious penthouse apartment, which includes restricted elevator access, breathtaking views, a private living and dining room and a double volume bathroom. Guests can enjoy continental or full English breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool or at the restaurant, and the a la carte menu provides for round-the-clock informal dining. Fresh juices, teas and coffees are available throughout the day. Easy to find, the Hotel is only 12 miles from Cape Town International Airport with on-site parking as well as an airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Boutique
Glen Boutique Cape Town
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing