We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service will always trump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

From beginning to end the service here was flawless. Nothing was too much trouble and was always delivered with a smile.

I had one of the deluxe rooms and it was very close to the pool and outdoor eating/breakfast area. You could here the outside background music from within my room. However this was only on during reasonable day-time hours and not intrusive.

Despite a few things that I thought could be improved, the service made up for any other small blemishes. I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher levels with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Echoing many of the other reviews we only have positive things to say about the Glen Boutique Hotel. After a week spent in the Tamboerskloof area of Cape Town we were initially reluctant to relocate having settled in the area, but on arrival at the Glen Boutique that was all forgotten. The welcome was fantastic with everything done to make us feel at ease, the staff set a high standard from the beginning which was maintained for the whole of our stay.

We had originally booked the Glen Boutique Hotel based on its great Tripadvisor reviews and as a place to relax following a busy first week in Cape Town, but really could not of anticipated how special our stay was going to be. On our first day with the weather not being great we spent our day at the hotel enjoying our spacious room, relaxing at the bar and making use of the spa facilities, all made very easy by the service provided. This was to be repeated many times over our stay as the weather picked up and we were able to sunbathe and enjoy the beautiful pool area. The staff again made sure all our needs were catered for with notable mentions going to Arnold, Bogdan, Rudi and Moses who always seemed to be on hand to know just what you wanted and when you wanted it. We would have to apologise to the other staff at this point as I'm afraid I didn't catch your name tags. The breakfasts were superb with lots of variety including hot and continental offerings. The evening menu was limited but the standard of the food was good and more than was expected for a boutique hotel.

I'm afraid we cannot express to have gotten to know Sea Point, the area the hotel is situated in very well as we tended to take taxis back into the city or Camps Bay in the evenings, on our journeys through the area it did seem to have lots of restaurants and amenities. The location is fantastic though if like us you wanted to split your time between the city itself and Camps Bay.

A big thank you once again to everyone at the Glen Boutique who who made a special city even better. We'll certainly be back.

Jamie and Sarah

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BraytonNixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed in the luxurious hotel which is The Glen for 5 days. Upon arrival I was greeted by staff members Philip and Jean Paul, very courteous and friendly. Checking in and out was so easy. You couldnt ask for anything better. The room was great from the bed to the beautiful view of the city and ocean. Very helpful and knowledgeable about the city from activities to attractions to city history. I might add, I forgot something I purchased in the van from the day trip that The Glen booked for me. Philip and the staff went out there way to find the driver and delivered it to me. I would recommend everyone to stay in The Glen at least one night. You wouldn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Branndon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Glen is, by far, the luxury boutique hotel with the most friendly, helpful and smart staff i 've ever been in. This team made my stay the best ever i had in any hotel (...as a frequent traveller with more than 70 hotel nights/year in boutique hotel and 4/5 stars). What made my stay unique is not only the fantastic quiet and green location of the hotel in Cape Town city (close to everything), not only the large and elegant room with a sea view, but also the exceptional friendly atmosphere, the "ready to help" and smart attitude of each team member. Definitely a great team both collectively and individually! I never found any hotel so far where i felt so comfortable and happy to socialize with the staff for a drink, a chat and even a unique dinner party in the city with 4 of the team members!
At the Glen I didn't face any "artificial or commercial" complaisant attitude. I believe that Mark, the owner, and Phil, the general manager, have a unique talent to recruit and motivate their team. Their generosity and humanity is the soul of The Glen . I was also impressed by their involvement: they are always here to ensure the best possible service from early morning to late evening. Each team member is so much truly committed that I felt like invited to their private house. Each one definitely exceed expectations.

I found The Glen Hotel by chance. When I googled "gay friendly hotels", I had no idea what a gem I was about to discover. I confirmed my booking after reading the excellent and consistent comments on Trip Advisor.
I had a couple of emails contact with Phillip, the Guest Relations Manager, before my arrival. Philipp could not have been more obliging or helpful. He organized for me the transfer and a great massage just when i arrived at the Hotel (he adapted kindly to my flight delay!).The day after, he found a great yoga trainer for a private session in my large room! This was the first time he had such a request but nothing was going to be too hard for him. He found the best trainer in the area and he convinced him to come!
After the relaxing and revitalizing massage of Hano, I felt ready to enjoy a nice walk from the hotel along the Indian Ocean. I was convinced by the charming smiling staff members to stay for the dinner at the hotel, (probably the best option after 18 hours trip from my home in France!). I truly enjoyed pleasant discussions (nothing commercial neither artificial...just friendly) with the team. This is how I met Bogdan who created the most elegant, giant and delicious fresh fruit salad ever!! Just imagine half of a big watermelon filled in with the biggest variety of fruits! Bogdan has a great talent for creating contacts and to make your stay unforgettable.
Now, The Glen is definitely the place in the world I dream to come back for holidays during the no-rain-summer-season to enjoy the spa and the large pool areas and to have good time with the amazing team of The Glen. An new opportunity to know more Morris, Rudi and Riaan who have been so kind and helpful...

Room Tip: I was in the XXL Suite 1, with its lovely terrace surrounded by trees, the elegant design and decora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthieu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I chose the Glen Boutique Hotel partially because of the reviews here, and just because I wanted to stay somewhere a little more intimate. I've found that you can't always depend on reviews but in this case The Glen Boutique lived up to every one, and exceeded most of them.

The room was very clean, which is always most important to to me, and very stylish while still making me feel right at home. It had all the amenities I could imagine needing. I was able to work and relax in comfort and luxury.

Although everything was excellent, the staff was the best part of the visit. From the time I walked in the door I felt like I was among friends. The restaurant in the hotel topped it all. They food was awesome. The presentation looked like it was done by a top food stylist, and although I didn't think it was possible it tasted even better than it looked. I can't say enough nice things about my waiter Bogdan. He made me feel like I was the only diner in the restaurant. He not only fulfilled every request but anticipated a few I didn't even know I had! He also took time to introduce me to Clara the chef so I could thank her personally for the amazing food she prepared. Once I ate one meal here, I had no interest in dining elsewhere.

Needless to say I will be returning to the Glen Boutique soon and often!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and i spent a night at this little gem and had a wonderful time. The check in was completely painless combined with a much needed welcoming drink. The room is a lovely size and we instantly jumped into our fluffy white gowns and headed for the sauna and jacuzzi. It was heaven. We managed to lock our personals inside the safe and the staff sorted the problem lightning fast with much humor to erase our embarrassment. The room was beautiful and the whole hotel has small little touches of beauty around every corner. Breakfast was outstanding and i can truthfully say we were very sad to leave. Little things like the in house washing cloths, lovely soft gowns and little sewing kit and nail files was the cherry on a very beautiful cake. We will return and advise every one we know to also visit this little piece of heaven. Well done!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anriacoetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Glen was a wonderful hotel that met all our expectations. Everyone we dealt with always had a smile on their faces and very helpful and professional. Phillip took my booking that included a double room and car for 3 days, the car was brand new and the room was lovely, spacious and clean. Breakfast was amazing, we had all the choices of continental and a warm breakfast. Thank you to Phillip and his team who really went the extra mile to accommodate all our needs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMichaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,422 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,074 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £120 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For availability please book directly with us between 1st November 2017 until 31st March 2018. We have limited availability on all partner sites The Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa is the perfect destination for travellers who are looking to unwind, relax and explore the very best Cape Town has to offer. Our team are dedicated to making your stay as memorable as possible filled with wonderful experiences and treasured moments you’ll cherish for years to come. The Glen is chic, tastefully styled, and will embrace you in its warmth. The hotel has 24 individually furnished rooms, ranging from Standard, Deluxe and Suites, through to the crème de la crème of our stunning Penthouse - with direct lift access. The hotel itself is rich in décor and modern artwork, and most rooms come with their own balcony or private terrace. The Glen also offer 3 other properties, G on Barkly, G on Herbert and G on Rochester with their own unique self contained facilities. these properties are perfect for families and groups looking for a high standard of living and accommodation - please enquire directly with us for more details. Our G Spa is inspired to bring you complete wellness and honours the African principle of natural beauty. All treatments are designed to take you on a journey of rejuvenation with our trained massage therapists, who are there to help you to discover a whole new level of relaxation. Our sun terrace and cascading pools are the ideal spot for you to relax and enjoy the warmth of South Africa. Our outdoor Jacuzzi is ideal for evening sunset, and our spa includes a sauna, steam room and hot tub for your enjoyment, open from 6pm to 11pm. The G Kitchen hosts breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving a combination of Mediterranean and South African cuisine. Braai’s are held weekly during summer (Sept to April), where guests can enjoy traditional food and relax by the pool with one of our legendary cocktails. Our G Car Hire service has a fleet of luxury vehicles; from city runarounds to top end convertibles. For those who prefer to be driven around, we have experienced chauffeurs to take you anywhere in the City. Cape Town is known for its beautiful people, breathtaking scenery and rich history. To make sure you don’t miss any of these, we offer bespoke Tours and Activities, for both half days and full day experiences. As a non-discriminatory hotel we warmly welcome both straight and gay guests from all over the world. In addition to free WiFi and satellite TV, all guests can enjoy continental or full English breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool or at the restaurant, and the a la carte menu provides for round-the-clock informal dining. The Hotel is located in Sea Point, Cape Town and is only 12 miles from Cape Town International Airport with on-site parking as well as a luxury airport transfer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Boutique
Glen Boutique Cape Town
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing