We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, beautiful little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were very impressed by this hotel. Rooms are nice, staff are really friendly and service is excellent. Everything we needed they provided, any questions we needed to ask they had the answers to to. It is located in a nice area close to the hills but also close to the sea. We had an all round excellent experience in great hotel in a lovely city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel because of the great reviews in Trip Advisor. We stopped here after a 10-day safari in Botswana and Zambia. It turned out to be a great choice, close to the Atlantic. Check-in went smoothly and we had a nice dinner in their dining room. We were shown to our room, a third floor walk-up in the main building. We were excited to hear that the room had just been refurbished but it turned out that the plumbing still had some problems, especially very slow draining sinks. In the morning we asked for a different room and were immediately moved to another building, with an elevator and a wonderful third floor room where everything worked perfectly. The breakfast buffet was immense and we had the option of ordering several different hot dishes. The staff was terrific in answering our questions and providing very good advice on where to go, shop, and eat. After touring the city and Table Mountain on our first day the staff helped arrange a car and driver to go down the cape the next day and see the Cape of Good Hope and the penguin colony. All-in-all we had a great stay. I would have given it 5 stars except for the problems with our room the first night.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is the second time we stayed at The Glen. I will go back again! The location is great and is close to all the Cape Town must see! The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished. We had a welcome drink on the patio after check in. The is a great pool and you can have breakfast inside or outside weather permitting. The staff are friendly and very efficient. Although there is lots of places in Cape Town this is a must.

Room Tip: The delux rooms in the annex is a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

What can I really say about The Glen that has not already been said in the previous reviews. The Hotel has such a different feel to it than staying at a "Normal" Hotel. From the time we arrived and had a welcome drink next to the beautiful pool to the time we checked out we felt so welcome wherever we were. The rooms are spacious and has such a comfortable feel to it. If you want a different experience when travelling to Cape town, I would highly recommend a stay at The Glen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

From beginning to end the service here was flawless. Nothing was too much trouble and was always delivered with a smile.

I had one of the deluxe rooms and it was very close to the pool and outdoor eating/breakfast area. You could here the outside background music from within my room. However this was only on during reasonable day-time hours and not intrusive.

Despite a few things that I thought could be improved, the service made up for any other small blemishes. I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher levels with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Echoing many of the other reviews we only have positive things to say about the Glen Boutique Hotel. After a week spent in the Tamboerskloof area of Cape Town we were initially reluctant to relocate having settled in the area, but on arrival at the Glen Boutique that was all forgotten. The welcome was fantastic with everything done to make us feel at ease, the staff set a high standard from the beginning which was maintained for the whole of our stay.

We had originally booked the Glen Boutique Hotel based on its great Tripadvisor reviews and as a place to relax following a busy first week in Cape Town, but really could not of anticipated how special our stay was going to be. On our first day with the weather not being great we spent our day at the hotel enjoying our spacious room, relaxing at the bar and making use of the spa facilities, all made very easy by the service provided. This was to be repeated many times over our stay as the weather picked up and we were able to sunbathe and enjoy the beautiful pool area. The staff again made sure all our needs were catered for with notable mentions going to Arnold, Bogdan, Rudi and Moses who always seemed to be on hand to know just what you wanted and when you wanted it. We would have to apologise to the other staff at this point as I'm afraid I didn't catch your name tags. The breakfasts were superb with lots of variety including hot and continental offerings. The evening menu was limited but the standard of the food was good and more than was expected for a boutique hotel.

I'm afraid we cannot express to have gotten to know Sea Point, the area the hotel is situated in very well as we tended to take taxis back into the city or Camps Bay in the evenings, on our journeys through the area it did seem to have lots of restaurants and amenities. The location is fantastic though if like us you wanted to split your time between the city itself and Camps Bay.

A big thank you once again to everyone at the Glen Boutique who who made a special city even better. We'll certainly be back.

Jamie and Sarah

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BraytonNixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed in the luxurious hotel which is The Glen for 5 days. Upon arrival I was greeted by staff members Philip and Jean Paul, very courteous and friendly. Checking in and out was so easy. You couldnt ask for anything better. The room was great from the bed to the beautiful view of the city and ocean. Very helpful and knowledgeable about the city from activities to attractions to city history. I might add, I forgot something I purchased in the van from the day trip that The Glen booked for me. Philip and the staff went out there way to find the driver and delivered it to me. I would recommend everyone to stay in The Glen at least one night. You wouldn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Branndon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £105 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For availability please book directly with us between 1st November 2017 until 31st March 2018. We have limited availability on all partner sites The Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa is the perfect destination for travellers who are looking to unwind, relax and explore the very best Cape Town has to offer. Our team are dedicated to making your stay as memorable as possible filled with wonderful experiences and treasured moments you’ll cherish for years to come. The Glen is chic, tastefully styled, and will embrace you in its warmth. The hotel has 24 individually furnished rooms, ranging from Standard, Deluxe and Suites, through to the crème de la crème of our stunning Penthouse - with direct lift access. The hotel itself is rich in décor and modern artwork, and most rooms come with their own balcony or private terrace. The Glen also offer 3 other properties, G on Barkly, G on Herbert and G on Rochester with their own unique self contained facilities. these properties are perfect for families and groups looking for a high standard of living and accommodation - please enquire directly with us for more details. Our G Spa is inspired to bring you complete wellness and honours the African principle of natural beauty. All treatments are designed to take you on a journey of rejuvenation with our trained massage therapists, who are there to help you to discover a whole new level of relaxation. Our sun terrace and cascading pools are the ideal spot for you to relax and enjoy the warmth of South Africa. Our outdoor Jacuzzi is ideal for evening sunset, and our spa includes a sauna, steam room and hot tub for your enjoyment, open from 6pm to 11pm. The G Kitchen hosts breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving a combination of Mediterranean and South African cuisine. Braai’s are held weekly during summer (Sept to April), where guests can enjoy traditional food and relax by the pool with one of our legendary cocktails. Our G Car Hire service has a fleet of luxury vehicles; from city runarounds to top end convertibles. For those who prefer to be driven around, we have experienced chauffeurs to take you anywhere in the City. Cape Town is known for its beautiful people, breathtaking scenery and rich history. To make sure you don’t miss any of these, we offer bespoke Tours and Activities, for both half days and full day experiences. As a non-discriminatory hotel we warmly welcome both straight and gay guests from all over the world. In addition to free WiFi and satellite TV, all guests can enjoy continental or full English breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool or at the restaurant, and the a la carte menu provides for round-the-clock informal dining. The Hotel is located in Sea Point, Cape Town and is only 12 miles from Cape Town International Airport with on-site parking as well as a luxury airport transfer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Boutique
Glen Boutique Cape Town
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing