We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Having been to Cape Town many times we normally try to go central however find we drive everywhere anyway. This time we thought we would try Sea Point as it seemed that you could get nice places cheaper. What a pleasant surprise... as soon as you step into The Glen you think you are in a 5 star luxury hotel - from the entrance to the pool area - which you cant believe is where it is. The staff are very helpfull and friendly and the breakfast gorgeous. Walking down to the main road through Sea Point there are number of very good restaurants within 100m - so we never ended up eating in Cape Town itself as were so impressed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    111
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
69
573
105
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our experience with The Glen Boutique hotel started much before we even arrived. The hotel staff, notably Philip Botha, had helped me and my wife a lot to get together all required visa documents. The booking experience was also very courteous and efficient.
When we finally arrived, we fell in love with the whole ambience of the place. Stepping inside the gate transported us from a regular street to a resort that is almost artistic in its appearance. The carefully selected furnishings and tastefully elegant yet lively decor gives the whole place a rich and romantic feel.
The rooms are no less in their magnificence. The decor is equally elegant and unique without a typical hotel feel. The room and bathroom are very spacious and luxurious. There is a lot of attention to small details, like keeping multi-country adaptors to easy-to-use holders for soaps, shower gels and shampoos.
This overall feeling that you are being taken care of very well is also reflected in the interactions with the staff. All of them are friendly, polite, always smiling and ready to help.
Overall, a very romantic place. I wish we had more days to spend here. Highly recommended for any visitors to Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SahilPotdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

A very cool looking hotel,pool & bar. More importantly, phenomenal & friendly service by everyone we came in contact with. Over & above! Made our 4 day stay a treat. Thanks for everything! We were especially impressed with the quality & variety of the daily breakfasts, including fresh squeezed orange juice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBikeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here for around 5 nights spread over two visits. The hotel is very smart and right in the middle of Sea Point. The rooms are excellent, clean, spacious, well set out and had great balconies. The pool areas are lovely, a real sun trap and the service was excellent. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed in Glen for a day and 4 more in Pepper club which is a 5 star. I would like to rate the stay at Glen is better than the other one. The interiors of my room were bright, white colored theme and display some amount of vibrancy. Not the same dull colors that you see in big chains. The room service was good, breakfast spread was decent. Always felt the personal touch and warmth by the staff whether they are at check in counter, or room service, or at the bar. I will stay here again if i visit cape town.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasanna_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed eight fantastic days at the Glen. Our room was very comfortable and elegant. The hotel is stylish, clean, and very well staffed. We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone.

I'd like to mention the staff first before talking about the hotel since they made all the difference in the world! We can't say enough about the front desk crew lead by Phillip. Simply amazing service. They couldn't have been more helpful. They answered so many questions and booked everything for us - including the car which is the Hotel's. We got a fabulous rate on the vehicle and simply drove it out of the driveway anytime we needed it. Additionally we used the car for three days to visit Stellenbosch wine country and Phillip met us at the airport at 5:00 a.m. to retrieve the car! Simply unheard of commitment to service. All of out needs were met. They solved shopping and banking questions for us. Made endless reservations at restaurants, clubs, and other services such at the Red Line Tour and Robbin Island. On and on.... it felt like we had personal staff! Very luxurious and accommodating and all with a smile and wink and touch of personal attention that makes you feel so welcomed and secure away from home. Thank you guys from the bottom of our hearts.

The Hotel itself is very stylish and comfortable. It's also very clean which is important to me. Our room was on the third floor of the newer section overlooking the pool with view from the small veranda. We loved the spaciousness and the bathroom. It had a huge walk in shower and separate toilet closet separated by a wide two sink station which accommodated all our stuff. The bed was large and comfortable. And all the lights were on dimmers! The hotel is a bit labyrinthian in it's maze of rooms and additions so be sure to ask and check what sort of setting you're getting. i.e. there are older rooms with "charm", upstairs attic types, downstairs bungalow... Ask. Again, we stayed in the newer section on the third floor and loved it. It was large, modern, clean, and quiet.

The pool area is as pictured - fun and inviting. We were there early in the season so we didn't get to take too much advantage of it. But we did lounge and dine there some and loved it. I'm sure in the summer it's really fun. The other spa features tucked below decks are a little dated and if you want to use them (at least when it's not very busy) plan ahead and have the staff turn it on since it takes a couple of hours to get hot. Breakfast in the main lobby is a delight - very well presented and ample. We loved having coffee by the fireplace in the morning before taking a table - indoors or out by the pool. The food is very good and has the comfort of feeling very homemade. The tapas platter we had one day for lunch by the pool was the best one I've ever had. We could hardly believe it was service for one person. Easily a full lunch for two adults and an ample platter for four to snack on with drinks on a sunny lazy day in Cape Town. The adorable bar area with it's own fireplace setting area wasn't busy when we were there but when the weather gets hot I'm sure it's fun too! We'd love to come back for that. Also, there's a computer station there and in the front lobby.

The location is very good. But you have got to check out all the neighborhoods in Cape Town, do your homework, and decided what you want. This area is a bit removed from the main downtown and waterfront which is perfect for us. Close enough by taxi to be easy to get to, but far enough to be quiet and a little romantic. The beach promenade, lined with hotels and shops, is just a block away and there's a boulevard just down the street with a few essentials like banking, shopping, and liquor store. Every time we needed to go anywhere, when we didn't use the hotel's car or the Red Line pass, we just called the front desk and a taxi would appear in minutes. There are a few restaurants in the area but you'll probably want to go somewhere else for a few diners.

I kind of wish I didn't have to point this out buuuuut even though The Glen is a very gay friendly hotel it isn't a bathhouse. Sorry, just putting that out there. It's elegant and classy and I think any adult would be comfortable there who doesn't mind seeing a couple of guys hold hands by the pool and that's a good thing. I also don't think it's a place for kids really. Everything is white, chic, sharp, and made of glass if you know what I mean.

Overall the Glen is the best of a "boutique" experience. Large enough to give you options and be interesting but small enough to provide impeccable personal service and feel welcoming. We loved it and desperately hope to come back soon. Thanks to everyone there for making our stay so wonderful.

Cheers.

Room Tip: The hotel has a lot of different types of spaces - some old some new. Some charming some modern. Ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCatII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Very design and confortable hotel and rooms. You need an advice, they kindly answer you. You have any problem, they solve it for you. you feel very confortable. the beakfast is delicious, good variety and fresh fruits, cakes, bread...We will have to come back frequently to Cape Town for business and will certainly come back to Glen!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and different
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmelleAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sea Point, Cape Town, The Glen Boutique Hotel offers luxurious accommodation in a breathtaking setting. As a non-discriminatory hotel we warmly welcome both straight and gay guests from all over the world. In addition to free WiFi and satellite TV the hotel also offers guests a spa and outdoor pool. The spa includes a spacious steam room, a traditional Swedish sauna and a Jacuzzi. We offer a selection of rooms with different views; some rooms either face the ocean or the mountain, while some open directly onto the pool area. Many of the rooms have their own private balcony. The hotel also offers a luxurious penthouse apartment, which includes restricted elevator access, breathtaking views, a private living and dining room and a double volume bathroom. Guests can enjoy continental or full English breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool or at the restaurant, and the a la carte menu provides for round-the-clock informal dining. Fresh juices, teas and coffees are available throughout the day. Easy to find, the Hotel is only 12 miles from Cape Town International Airport with on-site parking as well as an airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Boutique
Glen Boutique Cape Town
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing