We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in the middle of Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise in the middle of Cape Town”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Glen is a fabulous hotel to stay at if you want a relaxing place with a great vibe. The staff are wonderfully attentive; they were always on hand when we needed the next drink by the pool!

The hotel itself is wonderfully contemporary with great rooms and facilities - if you get the chance, stay in the penthouse! It's huge, glamorous and has amazing views of the sea. The pool area has always got a great buzz, just the place to while away the time under the sun with cocktails while chatting to other guests.

Phil, Mark and all the staff must to be congratulated on creating a great boutique hotel with a great atmosphere. They fall over themselves to make sure you're comfortable, you have everything you need as well as great restaurant recommendations!

We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The penthouse. Definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    111
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
68
573
105
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My first visit here but I will definitely be back !! Great and very friendly and knowledgeable staff on hand to ensure u enjoy your stay and time in Cape Town . Customer service is second to none . Breakfast is superb . I will be back next year for sure . If u r a fitness fan, check out the Virgin gym nearby too.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 2 which has a big balcony and bathroom .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 411Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

A difficult question with an easy answer: just go to the Glen in Cape Town. I will explain. I stayed with my partner at the Glen this year from 8th to 15th january. Over the last decades we have stayed in many hotels in many countries and this one stands out. The most striking feature of the hotel is its incredible staff. They made me feel welcome and being looked after in a pleasant way. Somehow you feel that the staff does not consist of a number of employees but that it is a team that considers the Glen to be their thing. I had the impression that the owner wants it to be that way and that he wants to provide more than a simple job. Anyway, the staff are making the hotel.
The hotel could be described as gay-oriented. This is reflected - as is to be expected - in a certain number of gay guests. But is also straight-friendly which is reflected in number of straight guests as well. The mix is very nice as it produces a very relaxed atmosphere. The hotel is a good choice for gay and straight people, for solo travellers and couples.
The location is good. Sea Point is a nice and safe area to stay. It is less touristy than the city centre so it gives a more authentic feel. There are several good restaurants at walking distance and you actually can go on foot because it is not a scary area (on the contrary) and I can tell because I tend to feel unsafe rather quickly. The beach front is at 5 minutes walking distance so it is easy to enjoy a morning run along the seaside with the locals!
We stayed in a deluxe room. This room was spacious, clean and tastefully furnished and it also had a nice balcony. I slept like a baby.
Breakfast was a feast. A lot of options and all good. You can also dine at the hotel but the menu is limited. We ate their our first evening and after that we explored the many restaurants Cape Town has to offer. We asked at reception where to go and we were provided with a lot of good recommendations from basic braai to fine dining.
If you think this all sounds a bit to good to be true then I can reassure you: I have been in a lot of hotels in a lot of different countries and this one is really exceptional. It is a pity there is only one Glen Boutique Hotel because I would like to have a place like this in every city I visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Where to start...

At check-in you are greeted by smiles and helpful hands, all warm, friendly and sincere, yet super efficient! A great Strawberry and Watermelon welcome drink in hand you are led outside to get the paperwork done, while your luggage is taken through to your room.

The front desk staff, Phillip, Abigail, Rudi, JP and Dudu are amazing, one or more of them are always available to help with any queries or reservations you need, arranging everything from dinner to sightseeing and wine tasting.

The room we stayed in was modernly decorated with a great entertainment system and my favourite item, a Nespresso Machine :) Large comfortable beds and great bedding are all part of the experience.

The pool area (both of them) are great for catching some sun and enjoying a coctail made by one of the great barmen, Armold's Long Island Ice Tea is unique and quite frankly I had a few too many of them :P

All in all a great experience and I would not hesitate to recommend the Glen Boutique to anyone visiting Cape Town!

PS: The friendliest and happiest team of people I have encountered in any hotel anywhere in the world, even the Housekeepers (Who are always smiling and do a great job) are gracious and charming!

LOVE THE GLEN!

Room Tip: New wing definitely the most modern, the older part of the hotel has a bit more classic decor if tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Wow! My partner and I LOVE The Glen. We stayed here this year from 3rd Jan to 11th Jan and were so sad to leave.

From the moment you arrive at the hotel you're made to feel exceptionally welcome. The whole Glen team, from the management to the cleaning staff are super-friendly and make your stay perfect.

The facilities of the hotel are fantastic too. We stayed for a couple of nights in a standard room and then moved up to a deluxe room. They were both beautifully designed, well appointed and very comfortable. The pool area is brilliant and the perfect place to relax, catch some sun and sink a bottle (or two) or the delicious local wine (Delairre Sauvignon Blanc for us, YUM).

The breakfast is great too, a fantastic selection of hot and cold foods. Once again, the staff are exceptionally friendly and make it a pleasure to start the day. An added bonus is that the brekkie runs until 11am, so you don't have to get up too early.

The team have made some brilliant recommendations for local restaurants and activities, which means you never have a dull day.

Where the hotel is located, Sea Point, is far nicer (for us) than the much more touristy Waterfront, with some great local restaurants and a short drive from Camps Bay.

So, like I said, we LOVE it. Now to start saving for next year!

… the only bad thing is that we had to leave!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoyOhBoyPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I don't even know where to start. I am a global traveler from NYC, and first of all Cape Town was one of the best places I have been. Staying at the Glen Hotel just made it so much better. The location is perfect, in Seapoint, right outside of the city ( I would not recommend staying downtown at the Taj or One and Only which are much higher in price), yet close to everything. Once you walk in you are genuinely welcomed and it's paradise from there. The property has a fabulous layout. 2 levels of pools, lounge chairs, hot tub, and outdoor tables. I stayed in room 20 which was very chic and had a large terrace. The best part about this hotel is the service. The entire staff here truly makes you feel special, and is always smiling. The concierge primarily consisted of Phil, Philip, and the owner Mark. They all made my first time experience in Cape Town so much better because they were able to recommend the best restaurants, best tours, best driving routes, and lots of other detailed information for my days. Phil packed a backpack for me with water and a map for my table mountain hike. Mark took me to go paragliding off Signal Hill. Phillip and Rudi took care of many other things for me. It''s so nice to have a real concierge consisting of locals who love the place they call home. All of the staff and housekeeping were also super friendly. Special shout out to JP, Dou Dou, and Jonathan at the bar (make sure to try his special Glen Cocktail. It will definitely give you a nice buzz). The food and drink prices were pretty reasonable. As a solo traveler I met a lot of new people I would now call friends. It's perfect for couples as well as it's very romantic. It tends to trend a bit gay with clientele but it was also mixed, and everyone just had a great time, chatting each other up at the pool.

I have to specifically write a note about the owner Mark. He is truly one of the kindest, most generous business owners I have met. He deeply cares about his staff and it shows. You will feel that you are supporting a good local business that is positively affecting the lives of the people who work here.

I cannot recommend this hotel any more, and CANNOT WAIT to come back!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PS: Breakfast, which is included in daily rate, is AMAZING.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor room with terrace facing ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmazhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We spend 3 night there. They have a very fair pricing, the rooms are clean and well decorated. The staff is very dedicated and friendly. It’s not far away from the table mountain and takes only around 10-15 min to the waterfront. I would recommend this place and go again. Well done..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mateomeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sea Point, Cape Town, The Glen Boutique Hotel offers luxurious accommodation in a breathtaking setting. As a non-discriminatory hotel we warmly welcome both straight and gay guests from all over the world. In addition to free WiFi and satellite TV the hotel also offers guests a spa and outdoor pool. The spa includes a spacious steam room, a traditional Swedish sauna and a Jacuzzi. We offer a selection of rooms with different views; some rooms either face the ocean or the mountain, while some open directly onto the pool area. Many of the rooms have their own private balcony. The hotel also offers a luxurious penthouse apartment, which includes restricted elevator access, breathtaking views, a private living and dining room and a double volume bathroom. Guests can enjoy continental or full English breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool or at the restaurant, and the a la carte menu provides for round-the-clock informal dining. Fresh juices, teas and coffees are available throughout the day. Easy to find, the Hotel is only 12 miles from Cape Town International Airport with on-site parking as well as an airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Boutique
Glen Boutique Cape Town
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing