We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Bray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Great location, quality breakfasts and friendly staff - specially Phil the general manager. We had a few fixture and fittings problems with our room but these were resolved by the management. It's good that they have a car park but it is small and manouvering can be difficult when other guests have parked inconsiderately. Whilst this is a predominantly gay friendly hotel there were other couples staying there and we did not feel out of place.

Room Tip: The management did acknowledge that we had the worst room in the hotel (room 4) which is very small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NRH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    113
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
75
583
106
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

By far the best place we have stayed at...ever! The staff are always willing to help with a smile, the food is beyond delicious, the rooms are spotless, comfortable and stylishly furnished, and the pool deck is the perfect place for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Thank you! A long over due review, but we will be returning really soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
189 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We definitely had an amazing stay at the Glen. It´s modern and stylish, yet not overdone. The pool area is fantastic and the rooms are very individually designed. Maybe some of them lack a bit of cupboard space, but I was totally satisfied. Breakfast is fantastic, especially the wide selection of warm dishes!! It is true that sometimes Service is a bit chaotic but - after we complained on the second day - we had a "running joke" for the rest of our stay! Glen is not for Dining, but you still can get something very decent to eat, if you want to spend the evening in the Hotel. But Cape Town is definteliy full of suberb Restaurants which are not to be missed!

The Location is nice in Sea Point - which is not directly in the Center but nice and quiet and very nearby the stunning beaches of Camps Bay and Clifton. Taxis to the Center and the Restaurants are not expensive!

The staff has often been praised before and I just can say that they ALL really try to to their best to make their guests happy. Very helpful and always fun! I was really sad that the days went by so fast but I will defintely come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansjoergn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

unfortunately we did not have a very good experience at the glen. we asked for a quiet room, were told this is no problem and got room 20, right above the bar and pool. the room looked very nice, but after just a few minutes we realized just how noisy it really was. so we asked for another room. philipw, was very nice and gave us room 10. not a luxury room in the new building, but a standard room. we did not care, since we were simply looking for a few relaxing nights. when we got back from dinner though we realized that our room stank like a sports locker room with a touch of chemicals. it was really sickening. we could not open any windows, since we were on the ground floor, so no sleep for us. we asked to change again, but nothing was available. we were promised a luxury suite a few nights later to make up it all. next evening, when we came back from dinner, we realized that room 10, apart from its stink, is more or less attached to the spa and that the noise of the jacuzzi was making our wall tremble. we checked the spa, nobody was inside, but everything was turned on full blow. (PS: the glen has a little sign above the sinks reminding your that water and electricity are scare in africa! obviously miraculously their spa uses neither of these resources!) we tried to turn it all off, couldn't find the right switches and called the front desk. they were eager to help, but nothing happened. it was 22.30 at that time and we had already lost a night of sleep, so we called again. we were told the spa is open until midnight! what? with a room attached to it, that we were given because it was definitely quiet?by the time somebody came from the front desk, some people had already entered the jacuzzi, party hats on and all. they were reluctant to leave and until the whole situation was solved, it was midnight. not really what i expect from a boutique hotel. the room itself was not exactly clean or in any way up to standards. there was mold on the wall, the bed cover was covered with funny stains (don't think!). the last 3 nights we were given the luxury suite as compensation (thank you philip), which was very nice. unfortunately we heard doors slamming, people talking when the came back,.....all night. the last night the management had to call the police because of some lovers quarrel. all in all, not a relaxing experience. breakfast was not bad, but a bit bland. service was sometimes very slow. the pools, are not really pools. don't get fooled by the pics. they are 2 little birdbaths, only useful to stand around in with a cocktail and chat. the space around the pool is also very small and with the buildings around it, its a bit claustrophobic. and noisy. the staff was very friendly and helpful , especially philip, but all in all it certainly should not be described as a boutique hotel and is not good value for your money. i can not recommend it for a nice, romantic, quiet stay in cape town. PS: i want to add that the management did the right thing and did not charge us for 1 night! nice gesture, highly appreciated, but unfortunately does not make up for the experience. 'FUNNY FACT': they have a little note in each room, that if you LIKED your stay and write a tripadvisor review while you are there, they give you a free drink at the bar! i suppose only if you LIKED your stay & write something positive......:-)

Room Tip: if you still want to stay there, book the luxury suite in the old building! the best and most quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elkspitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenBoutiqueHotel, General Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We see all feedback as supportive to meeting our current and future guest aspirations.

Your complaint and unhappiness with room 20, a superior deluxe room that is regularly requested by our VIP (repeat) guests surprised us.

Regarding our sustainability focus, all heated water for our Rooms and Spa is generated from Solar panels and our Jacuzzi’s and Spa utilize re-purified and recycled waters.

We have followed up your complaint regarding noise in room 10 and have arranged the insulation of a secondary door to the Spa facility.

We trust in future your stay with us will be an enjoyable one and look forward to welcoming you back to experience the great standards we normally achieve.

Warm Regards,

Phil Thurston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We had to extend our stay in Capetown and tried to book in to the Glen at the last minute but unfortunately the hotel was completely full. However the owner Mark and manager Phil tried in every way to help us and found us alternative accomodation nearby. We used the relaxing pool area on a daily basis and were made to feel extremely welcome. The standards were exceptionally high with first class service from all the staff. We ate regularly from the menu and felt the food and wine were excellent value for money. We plan to return next year and will be sure to book in advance. A hidden Oasis in the heart of Capetown!

Paul and Gareth
London


I

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pradc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenBoutiqueHotel, General Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Paul and Gareth,

It was a pleasure to be able to assist you during your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Glen in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Phil Thurston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Dilli
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

One's hotel often goes unnoticed in a city as striking as Cape Town. Not Glen. Their keenness to serve, genuine empathy and thorough professionalism is as much of a takeaway from my trip as any of the sights of Cape Town.
Tarvinderjit Singh & Saumya

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Whiteturban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

What an incredible place! Well designed, luxerious, spacious, gorgeously decorated and run by a team of wonderful, beautiful, friendly, warm, funny and talented staf. We were lucky enough to be able to book on relative short notice and the fact that we had to change rooms 4 times in 5 days just added to our experience. We saw about every category of room from the deluxe to a junior suite to the incredible pent house, where we were lucky enough to spend 2 whole nights. Each of the rooms though breathes similar atmosphere. Some serious interior decorating went into each category of room. Soft beige colors with top of line ammeneties, high quality bed and bath finishing, and impressing bold local art: Simply spectacular. It's not all perfect at the Glen. We were less than impressed with the pre-sales service: sloppy communicaiton kept us in the dark for about a week whether we could stay or not. Still not sure what the reason was, but with a full hotel for the season I can understand there is less focus on sales. There were some minor maintenance issues, but nothing too serious. The presence of a young crying child was a bit of a surprise at this property and I can imagine the parents may have had similar chock seeing an overwhelmingly gay crowd. I also had some issues at the bar ordering a bottle of wine, where the first resonse after making the order was a curt "ROOM NUMBER??". I can hardly imagine to have been invisible for the 4 previous days and this approach was a bit harsh for such a small hotel (also, changing rooms daily, I lost track of my hotel room number). When I pointed this 'slip of service' out the response was overwelmingly kind and professional. And that is what makes this place a paradise. The staff, from housekeeping to the owner has an exceptional eye for the needs of the guests. They use a wide array of interaction techniques (from a good sense of humour to the occasional but never inappropriate flirt) to give everyone attention, appreciation and a fantastic time. I have never seen so much interaction between staff and guests and I could see how everyone truly enjoyed that. We were also lucky enough to join a pool party with BBQ organized by the hotel. This was a lot of fun and brougth some outsiders to the hotel. In this beautiful environment I met so many wonderful people. Amazing. Food is lovely and drinks from the bar are friendly priced and served with grace. I am sure that running a hotel at this level in a city like Cape Town comes with tremendous challenges. Although the facility is top quality it really is the staff that makes this place paradise. I truly hope to be able to return some day soon. Thank you all for an absolute gorgeous time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCBAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,816 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sea Point, Cape Town, The Glen Boutique Hotel offers luxurious accommodation in a breathtaking setting. As a non-discriminatory hotel we warmly welcome both straight and gay guests from all over the world. In addition to free WiFi and satellite TV the hotel also offers guests a spa and outdoor pool. The spa includes a spacious steam room, a traditional Swedish sauna and a Jacuzzi. We offer a selection of rooms with different views; some rooms either face the ocean or the mountain, while some open directly onto the pool area. Many of the rooms have their own private balcony. The hotel also offers a luxurious penthouse apartment, which includes restricted elevator access, breathtaking views, a private living and dining room and a double volume bathroom. Guests can enjoy continental or full English breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool or at the restaurant, and the a la carte menu provides for round-the-clock informal dining. Fresh juices, teas and coffees are available throughout the day. Easy to find, the Hotel is only 12 miles from Cape Town International Airport with on-site parking as well as an airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Boutique
Glen Boutique Cape Town
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing