We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful place.....”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 13 nights towards the end of March, officially in Cape Town for a wedding but also making it a first time trip to South Africa as well.

We chose the Glen from recommendations from lots of people and the amazing reviews predominantly from tripadvisor. The hotel certainly lived up to its expectations and can highly recommend it.

We were given room 16 which was directly onto the pool, this has it's advantages and disadvantages. Can suffer from noise pollution when the kitchen starts clanging about from around 5am which is next door, and the emptying/filling of the jacuzzi. However if you want to be in the thick of things going on in the hotel then it's perfect which is what we wanted really. Be warned, room 16 has sun shining on it most of the day and you will find other guests have pitched up with their towels from early morning almost blocking access to your rooms at times. This may be negated if you get there first and guard the sun beds with your life. The rooms were beautifully decorated, light and airy, air con very quiet, luxury shower gels and shampoo etc, I could go on and on! We had a massive issue with wifi, in essence there was no wifi which was hugely inconvenient as I was trying to make contact with family back home urgently (apparently the wifi was down but would be back up and running which was true, it worked for 1 day and then the following day it went again. Several attempts to reception to resolve the matter was made along with several different ways of trying to get it to work but to no avail). For me, if you advertise your hotel as having wifi, there really should be wifi. Needless to say we had to go and pay for SA SIM cards and data etc just so we could make contact with family back home which I needed to do unfortunately.

Breakfast was amazing in the sunshine everyday. Lovely staff serving you and they never looked too cross when we just about made it to breakfast before the buffet/hot breakfast stopped serving! Although the choice and quality was amazing, I did find the hot breakfast portions on the small side (don't get me wrong, there's lots more choice to fill you up) but we did eat out for breakfast on a few occasions and you notice the difference. However, very enjoyable all the same.

The spa would have been a welcome relief during days of bad weather but it only seems to be in operation after 6pm until 11pm (approx) which were times when we were always out for dinner or drinks etc so never got to enjoy it. We did try around 8pm one evening but the sauna and steam room were barely warm and the jacuzzi only half filled up. We did report it immediately but not sure of the outcome.

We were very lucky indeed to have an upgrade on the hotel's hire car. We used the Megane for the whole 13 days and it was so easy to drive and comfortable it was a shame to give it back. There are other cars to choose from but parking seemed to be a little tight in the car park during our stay, but parking in the street was fine for us.

The hotel is based in Seapoint which has some great restaurants and is easy to get to the V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay etc. The hotel had just launched their own restaurant which we never got to try out unfortunately.

We did check our invoice upon departure and there were several errors for some fairly lager amounts please do check this - although I'm sure they were genuine mistakes and were dealt with very quickly.

All in all, a great hotel and lovely staff. We were comfortable the whole time and having the boutique feel to the place really does give the place that special touch. I would give The Glen the full 5 stars but the spa being slightly disappointing and no wifi for 12 days out of the 13 days we stayed I can't give it my full marks.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeScottRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    111
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
70
573
105
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed in the Glen for 3 nights in March and it really was the best I've ever experienced in Cape Town. The staff were excellent without being intrusive, bar was well stocked. Rooms were cleaned to the highest standard. I would 200% recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kornaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Really wonderful stay at the Glen Hotel. Property is immaculate, modern and inviting. Customer service is 5-star. Great pool area, bar service, and good food. Everyone on staff was very friendly, introduced themselves by name, and was very responsive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJH518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong,
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stayed at the Glen for one week, we had an awesome time there and will highly recommend the Glen.
Mark and the team gave us great recommendation from restaurants to day tours. We were very lucky to be the first customer at BOA at the Glen, the three course dinner was fantastic we went back the day after.
We booked two day tours with Abu, ( to Cape Point and Wine Country, which we enjoyed very much) the hotel also has car for hire and next time we'll definitely bring our licence and consider the beautiful Range Rover with the sun roof!!
We had an absolutely amazing time in Cape Town and the Glen we can't wait to go back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PLStevieY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Having been recommended this hotel we had a fabulous 3 week stay here in 2013 - so good that all 4 of us returned (ie ourselves & those who recommended the place) for a 2 week stay in 2014. The staff are friendly but not over familiar & endeavour to cater to your every need so we can confidently say that again this hotel pulled out all the stops to ensure we had the full four star treatment & a relaxing time. Our special thanks also to the hotel for all their hard work on our behalf to make the breakfast birthday party such a wonderful memory for the gentleman concerned & a day for all of us to remember. To have found such a superb hotel which ticks all our boxes makes the 17000 mile round trip from the UK worth the time & effort. Not exactly sure when we will be back - but definitely one day.

Room Tip: As we hire a car when in SA the rooms in the block with the lift dirrectly to the underground garage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Plain, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

A great location in Cape Town, close to the beach, close to the V & A waterfront and reasonably close to downtown. The staff are very helpful and accommodating and the hotel is well decorated and very clean and neat. It appeared they catered to a mostly gay clientelle but there were other straight couples there and we certainly did not feel uncomfortable. It is in a reasonably safe area and we felt comfortable walking to nearby restaurants even in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stonyholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bornem, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our stay at The Glen hotel was memorable; from the moment you enter the hotel Mark and his staff take care of you. You feel welcome and home right away.
The hotel is modern with a nice South African design-touch. We stayed at the Penthouse; a very spacious room with seating area, dining room with small kitchen, a large bedroom and nice bathroom with bath, shower and separate toilet. To enter the Penthouse you receive a badge that brings you straight to your room with the elevator. A minor negative point is that you cannot indicate to not be disturbed as the elevator opens directly in the room. We made an agreement with the staff not to enter the room without calling us...just to have our privacy.
The location is perfect if you want to visit Cape Town and it's surroundings; there is a parking area next to the hotel and even an underground parking. Cars can be rented at the hotel.
The service is of a very high level; everybody wants you to feel super good, relaxed and taken care of. A very big thumbs up for everybody at the Glen.
We will surely return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sea Point, Cape Town, The Glen Boutique Hotel offers luxurious accommodation in a breathtaking setting. As a non-discriminatory hotel we warmly welcome both straight and gay guests from all over the world. In addition to free WiFi and satellite TV the hotel also offers guests a spa and outdoor pool. The spa includes a spacious steam room, a traditional Swedish sauna and a Jacuzzi. We offer a selection of rooms with different views; some rooms either face the ocean or the mountain, while some open directly onto the pool area. Many of the rooms have their own private balcony. The hotel also offers a luxurious penthouse apartment, which includes restricted elevator access, breathtaking views, a private living and dining room and a double volume bathroom. Guests can enjoy continental or full English breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool or at the restaurant, and the a la carte menu provides for round-the-clock informal dining. Fresh juices, teas and coffees are available throughout the day. Easy to find, the Hotel is only 12 miles from Cape Town International Airport with on-site parking as well as an airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Boutique
Glen Boutique Cape Town
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing