We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely oasis!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely oasis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had an amazing time at the Glen. The staff are friendly, breakfasts are great (choice and quality). It has a bus stop close by so it's easy to get to the city centre. The Penthouse is WONDERFUL and has views of the sea and Lion's Head. The decor in communal spaces and rooms is classy.

The spa is a (free) treat, and if we'd been there is summer the pool and sunbeds would be welcome too. There's great attention to detail e.g. in our room there are plug sockets that fit lots of different plug types from different places.

It's incredibly good value for travellers used to UK prices. We'd recommend this to anyone who wants a nice hotel in Cape Town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theglenhotel, General Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Hannah,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are happy you got to experience the Penthouse and that you enjoyed the use of our complimentary spa facilities.

We trust you have a safe journey back to London and hope to see you return soon.

Warm regards from the whole Glen Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    107
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
67
542
101
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fes, Morocco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Glen is amazing. The location is great (Sea Point, a little removed from the central business district); the rooms are stylish and comfortable; the breakfasts are delicious; the price is great; and, the staff and services are unparalleled. Phillip Botha, the concierge, deserves special mention, as he is the best concierge I have ever encountered. Phillip planned our activities in Cape Town as well as created a tailored itinerary for our week around the Cape, including making all our bookings. Further, he was incredibly sweet and delightful.

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel, its staff, and the experience it provides for its guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theglenhotel, General Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Courtney,

It was a pleasure to meet you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip. Have a safe trip back to Washington.

Warm Regards from the whole Glen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

If you like having your expectations exceeded, then this is the place for you. This place is incredible! It is the kind of place where you can't wait to get back to at the end of the day. The hotel is located in Sea Point on a quiet side street just a short walk to the beach and many stores and restaurants on the main street a block away. This was a return trip to CT and I decided to stay on the ocean side having stayed on the city side previously. For the first time, I really understood why people sometimes switch neighborhoods when traveling. I am not really a fan normally, but with CT it makes a lot of sense with the mountain really creating two distinct parts of the city. Where to start...Upon arrival I was greeted and offer a drink of my choice (go with the strawberry juice - delicious!). I sat by the pool while my room was readied (I was early) and my bag brought up.

The pool area is gorgeous, immaculate and so inviting. There is a hot tub there as well. Super comfortable lounge chairs and comfy towels. Bar and snack service is available poolside as well as at outdoor tables. There is also an indoor jacuzzi with steam and sauna. (They steam was under repair, but the jacuzzi and sauna were a treat after climbing Table Mountain.)

My room was amazing. Spacious, modern, clean lines, large balcony. The bed was so comfortable and the robe is heavenly. I wanted to live in it forever. For the first time, I really wanted to purchase a hotel amenity. Even the drapes were great. The room had a lot of lovely light and a partial view of the ocean and a lovely view of the sunset. (The only thing I would change is the cow hide rug which kind of creeps me out.) The lobby areas are gorgeous and the fireplaces are a nice touch. Breakfast has lots of buffet options as well as made to order menu all included in room cost.

The hotel is physically just beautiful and kept to the highest standards. But what really makes this hotel is its staff. They are all so friendly, helpful and attentive. Phillip the concierge is also a great resource. I was greeted by name each time I went through the lobby. I also noticed that the same level of care was given to each and every person which is something that I look for. Every guest was important to them and it really showed. I also think what really shows a places' character is how they handle problems. There was a slight mix up with my car service going to the airport and they resolved it quickly and easily and I was on my way in no time. I think the quality of their service just shined in that moment. I cannot say enough about this place, I absolutely loved it and I hope that I get the opportunity to go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aps101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Wonderful place to stay in Cape Town! Love the hotel!!!I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel. I stayed at The Glen for 5 days and wished I could have stayed for longer. The hotel had a restaurant in it which was wonderful and convenient. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. The shampoo and conditioner were also top notch. ( i ended up buying some to take home with me)
My daughter (23) and I LOVED it! Everything was great, especially the staff.. Great service .traveling with my daughter , I have never felt as safe and comfortable as I did at The Glen.
Philip is by far the biggest help : Polite, professional and extremely knowledgeable
You will be absolutely well taken care of, and Philip will always be there and eager to help with whatever inquiries you have! He also helped us with the booking of accommodations elsewhere , He gave us great recommendations for the rest of our stay in South Africa. He also kept in touch with us throughout our stay in South Africa to make sure everything was going good. He went as far as calling us on his time off to make sure we arrived at our destination.He went above and beyond to make not only our stay at The Glen terrific but our whole South African experience. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pavlinaAnja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theglenhotel, General Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
It was a pleasure to host you and your Daughter. Thank you for your lovely review on the hotel. We hope to see you again soon with the rest of your family!

Warm Regards from everyone at The Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Wonderful place to stay in Cape Town! All the reviews were wonderful and thats how we can to our decision to stay here. I'm so glad we did, our vacation wouldn't have been the same without all the lovely accommodating staff here! One of our favorite vacations and would definitely recommend The Glen to friends and families. It's conveniently located, not a far drive from the airport and close to the beach! We walked to dinner and breakfast a few days, very safe and easy to get around. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast that was served each morning was fantastic, and probably my favorite of anywhere we dined for breakfast! I can't say enough about the staff, they were all truly amazing. The concierge helped us book all of day trips and had great suggestions for dinning out, etc. The private tours booked by the Glen were some of the best we have ever been on and our vacation wouldn't haven't been the same without these wonderful trips. The guides were so amazing and knowledgeable, we saw and learned so much! The Glen made our stay memorable and wouldn't have been the same without them!!

Room Tip: We had a standard room and it was perfect for our 4 day stay. As far as we can tell all rooms are gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theglenhotel, General Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at The Glen Hotel. It was a real pleasure to host you both and we are glad you had a memorable stay with us.

We loo forward to welcoming you and your family and friends in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards, The whole Glen Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a great stay here the staff was super friendly and very accommodating, the concierge Phillip was fantastic and planned our week nicely for us, our room was clean and comfortable, the food was also very very good, I loved everything I ordered! Would love to come back here with my family!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theglenhotel, General Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time in Cape Town and that you enjoyed our food. It was a pleasure to host you and hope you return soon. Safe Travels back to Vegas!

Warm Regards, the whole Glen team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Excellent stay. The staff is enormously helpful. Parking onsite. The outdoor pool area is unique to say the least and very trendy. The room was very clean, large, with an amazing shower that could fit 2-3 people easily. The breakfast and restaurant are pretty good. Not the best views of the city and not really within walking distance of downtown, but still excellent hotel. We had a car, so location wasn't as much of an issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theglenhotel, General Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Andre,

Thank you for your stay with us at The Glen Boutique Hotel. We are pleased you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back from Connecticut in the near future.

Safe travels from the whole Glen Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sea Point, Cape Town, The Glen Boutique Hotel offers luxurious accommodation in a breathtaking setting. As a non-discriminatory hotel we warmly welcome both straight and gay guests from all over the world. In addition to free WiFi and satellite TV the hotel also offers guests a spa and outdoor pool. The spa includes a spacious steam room, a traditional Swedish sauna and a Jacuzzi. We offer a selection of rooms with different views; some rooms either face the ocean or the mountain, while some open directly onto the pool area. Many of the rooms have their own private balcony. The hotel also offers a luxurious penthouse apartment, which includes restricted elevator access, breathtaking views, a private living and dining room and a double volume bathroom. Guests can enjoy continental or full English breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool or at the restaurant, and the a la carte menu provides for round-the-clock informal dining. Fresh juices, teas and coffees are available throughout the day. Easy to find, the Hotel is only 12 miles from Cape Town International Airport with on-site parking as well as an airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Boutique
Glen Boutique Cape Town
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing