We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aubergine

Aubergine
Ranked #80 of 1,131 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Boulder
Level Contributor
221 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Based on great reviews we booked dinner at Aubergine one night in September. While the tasting menu was appealing, we decided to order from the regular menu because we wanted to sample several of the other dishes. My wife and I share so we got to taste many of their dishes. We asked the server to choose wines for each course which was done in excellent fashion. The dinner was exceptional in every way.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    139
    80
    50
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by the Concierge at our Hotel. I must admit I found it a little off putting arriving at the restaurant which was located behind security gates still I suppose this is South Africa.
The staff were extremely friendly and certainly made us feel very welcoming. The wine list is excellent probably a little too much for overseas visitors. The actual menus become confusing we were given no less than 3 menus only to be told that everything could be mixed and matched. We have never experienced this before either you have degustation or al la carte not with the two interchangeable. Having overcome this issue we ordered, now the meal was pleasant and I stress it was pleasant certainly nothing out of the ordinary. There was nothing really bad with the meal it was just mediocre.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallymay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Veggie and food lovers delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is one of the best vegetarian meals I have ever had. The vegetarian options were mouth watering. There were plenty of meat/ fish options as well so don't worry non veggies there are plenty of options for everyone. The food was excellent and wines delicious.
Make sure to make a reservation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hornetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“On an expensive side”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is an interesting place. Location does not look very welcoming in the evening as streets are empty and you're entering the place secured by electrically operated steel gate, but you tend to forget it once you're inside.

Staff is warm and welcoming, but sometimes struggle with explanations. Nothing to worry about, overall very pleasant experience.

I had a choice of game and it tasted very good, and so did every other course, but none of them really stood above other restaurants in Cape Town. Wine list is good and staff is ready to help. Great place, but in one of the most competitive food areas in the world and with prices it commands should be trying a bit harder.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodEliminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

This restaurant caters for the top end. The menu is excellent and varied, service is crisp and smart. The restaurant is cosy , great selection of fine wines and they know the pairings. We had a wonderful meal there but be prepared to pay for your enjoyment .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SACLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aubergine also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Aubergine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing