We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feel like home”
Review of Cape Diem Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Diem Lodge
Ranked #38 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“feel like home”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

i keep a very good memory of my trip in cape town particulary the time spent in this nice house.
the personal is very sympatic and they take care of you all the way . it is a really restful place and the house is very nice and the decoration mixed between design and old archtecure .

i will go back for sure next time i will go to cape town

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    35
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
162
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We found Cape Diem a refreshing change from big city hotels. Reception and all other contacts with the hotel management and staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were attractive and spacious. Our only query would be presence of the bath tub in our bedroom and not in the bathroom! The breakfasts were outstanding and there were always fruit and candy available throughout the day. Importantly, we felt safe in a city where some people might feel nervous about going out at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belltif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Marvellous guest house just ten minute walk from the V&A!! Lovely breakfast on the veranda and super helpful owner and staff made out stay a pleasure. Will definately stay again on our next visit!

I think I remember reading a review about the rooms being too small or something like that, we had a quick snaff at most of the rooms and they all seemed as good as ours! The coffee machine is a nice touch as well!

Enjoy, we did!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micksterooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel is a lovely place, well situated in green point (only 10 minutes to walk to the Waterfront or 20 minutes to the City).
All the rooms are different – but every room is special and you find everything what you need ( tv flat screen, dvd player, hair dryer, a huge comfortable bed, .. and these very delicious turndown cookies on the bed in the evening :D ).
The breakfast was rich and healthy- and the staff very friendly and helpful. Very important is also that our room was every single day so clean – we were really surprised of all these small details!!
The Cape Diem Lodge Team really makes a good job and all the recommendations for the restaurants and attractions were fantastic (including that everything was booked by Jil so that we don’t have to do anything…. )
We will try to come again – as soon as possible.

Take care lovely Cape Diem Lodge Team!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S__B204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alzey
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have stayed in this lodge for a shopping tour in Cape Town for 4 nights
Shopping Malls and nice restaurants are in walking distance.

Our room was beautiful and we liked the breakfast service.
As a hotel owner myself I was impressed with the service and the attention to detail such as a Nespresso machine in your room.

The owner and the staff are extremly helpful and nothing is too much for them.

All in all a very nice stay.

Thanks to Ginger, jil & Daniel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I was not at all impressed by Cape Diem Lodge, which was disappointing as I had chosen it on the basis of some very good Tripadvisor reviews.
Our room layout was designed more with profit in mind than comfort, I suspect. In the main body of the room there was no seating area, limited space for relaxation or storage and, worst of all, guests sitting eating at a table right outside the window, staring in from no more than five foot away. Made me realise how a goldfish feels!
The bed was up an open staircase at a sort of mezzanine level within the room. This meant a low ceiling and very limited headroom.
The TV was virtually hanging off the wall opposite the bed and for an unknown reason we were unable to get any TV programmes at all. We decided on a DVD as an alternative and then we even had to prop the screen up with a shoe to make it viewable. (There were no staff around mid-evening to resolve these problems).
Breakfast was limited in choice; the croissants were stale; and at a time when there were only 4 couples in total having breakfast, it took at least 3 staff in the kitchen 45 minutes (yes 45 minutes!) to serve us a poached egg on toast.
I would give this hotel the lowest rating if it were not for Helena, the Assistant(?) Manager who was welcoming, helpful and pleasant.
We had only booked for one night and at £145 per night I'm glad of that!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poldhupaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay at Cape Diem Lodge - this always gives us scope from another person's perspective and help us improve .....

You stayed in one of our Classic rooms that is naturally a bit smaller than the other four rooms and it is directly located next to the lovely outside breakfast terrace and pool. This particular room does have limited seating space ,but we do have a wonderful ,large cosy lounge that provides our guests with comfortable seating.

We are sorry that you could not operate the TV properly and that you could not find the channels you were looking for.
We have 24 -hour staff on site that could have assisted you, however at that time you could not find anybody. We are very sorry about this and addressed our staff.

Most of our guests agree that our breakfast is varied in choice and we are sincerely sorry that the croissants were stale this particular morning.
We have changed our croissants which are specially imported from France and also offer fresh German rolls that are baked in the oven the same morning.

All good things take time-so we ask for your understanding that we had 4 couples that particular morning, which meant making hot breakfast for eight guests as each dish is individually cooked.
So taking up to 45 minutes to serve you our hot breakfast was possible and we are sorry that you had to wait long.

We hope however that should you come back to Cape Town, come by for a coffee and have a look at our other rooms. We hope be able to change your mind about Cape Diem Lodge and show you that we can offer you what you have in mind...

The Cape Diem Lodge Management & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giessenburg Nederland
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

What a very nice questhouse with super kind people! We had a beautifull room with acces to the swimmingpool. In our nice decorated room there was everything we needed, music, dvd, a good Nespresso machine, a very nice 'open' bathroom and a super bed!
Accually we came for the Cape Argus bicycle tour. That was a beautifull and very specail race with 32.000 people and a super organisation!
We stayed ad The Cape Diem Lodge for 9 days. We starded every day with a very nice breakfast on the terras with a super personal service. After the breakfast we did a lot of bicycling around. It really was wonderfull!
At the end of the afternoon we had a relaxing time at the swimmingpool. In the garden was enough sunshine and shadow, nice chairs and beds to have a wonderfull time.
The Cape Diem Lodge has a very good location. The street is save en quiet at night. The are some nice restaurants and bars around the corner and if you walk 10 minutes, you are in the famous Waterfront.
We had a wonderfull time in the Cape Diem Lodge and are certain to book this again when we are coming the next time to Cape Town!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorienboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.2 mi away
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Sugar Hotel & Spa
#55 of 109 in Cape Town Central
347 reviews
13.2 mi away
Colona Castle
Colona Castle
#1 of 1 in Lakeside
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cape Finest Guesthouse
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#41 of 155 in Cape Town Central
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oxford House
Oxford House
#7 of 128 in Cape Town Central
557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
Dock House Boutique Hotel
#54 of 109 in Cape Town Central
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Diem Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diem Lodge

Property: Cape Diem Lodge
Address: 11 Vesperdene Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Diem Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don’t expect the ordinary…”better sleeping, better relaxing, better eating – better Cape Diem LODGE!” In our brand new and stylish Cape Diem LODGE you’ll find victorian charm, mixed with an award winning european interior design and all of that in the heart of vibrant Cape Town. Let us free you from the normal hotel stress. Our fresh, host and easy team wants to treat you like friends and as such, you will be sure to come. The house represents one of the first Farm Houses in Greenpoint, dating back to early 1875, equipped with the latest of modern interior, set in a beautifully landscaped garden with a sparkling pool and a Teak wood sundeck, where you’ll enjoy your rich english breakfast in the morning. It is gently attached to the lower slopes of Signal Hill, overlooking the Bay, Blouwberg Strand, Robben Island and the VA Waterfront and only minutes away from the cities major attractions.Our idea to “relaunche” and converte this victorian jewel from early 1900, in one of Cape Towns most thought after positions, into a luxurious meeting point for friends from around the world, came with a blink of an eye. The complete restoration in 2007/2008 was taking us several month and carried out with the greatest care to details. Influences of old and new, local and global, come together in playful harmony. Our motto: contemporary design in historical surroundings!In the heart of the house, you’ll be able to relax in our cosy and elegant lounge. Enjoy a book and a glas of exquisit south african wine or lay back in front of our open fire place during the winter.Our perfectly appointed rooms are offered in Classic or Superior. The interior is inspired by the new generation of young south african designers. Light and characterised by innumerable details, as well as kingsized beds, innovative bathrooms, state of the art self controled cooling & heating system, LCD Flatscreen TV’s & DVD’s and a fully loaded minibar including south african wines and champagne. Our complimentary wireless Lan internet connection does not only cater our friends on business, but may be enjoyed by everyone. Furthermore, all of our guest rooms are equipped with a CD sound experience, an Nespresso Coffee station, self dial telephones, digital safe, hair dryer, bathrobes + slippers, luxury bath ameneties, shower & bath and so much more… Why not trying out our pillow menu? Challenge us – what more can we get you?We also would like to offer you a personal, secure and hassle free pick-up in a luxury SUV from or to the Airport to the Cape Diem LODGE at a total of only R 450,- for 2 guests/per way. We only ask you for an early reservation and your exact flight details – leave the rest to us!We wish you already today the best possible trip to Cape Town and a very pleasant stay at your Cape Diem Lodge.Warm regards from Cape Town,Your Cape Diem LODGE Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Diem Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Diem Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing