We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Cape Diem Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Diem Lodge
Ranked #36 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We arrived at 9 oclock, earlier than the check in time but they still managed to have cleaned the rooms in order for us to check in early. The rooms were huge and very clean, with big comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet provided everything you could want for a breakfast, with a nice seating area on the patio. Would definetely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jake_royle095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Cape Diem Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Alexandra and Daniel, and their lovely staff, looked after us very well. We loved our enormous room, and delicious breakfast on the terrace. The garden is beautiful. We did not try the pool, as it was too cold in late April. Coming back at the end of the day it was nice to help ourselves to the huge pitchers of cucumber and lemon water.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krooble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We came to Cape Diem lodge for a girls weekend, and we were absolutely speechless at the level of beauty and serenity of this lodge, and it is like disappearing into another little world! We could not have asked for a better atmosphere! The staff are amazing, food is outstanding and rooms are beautiful!!!! Would definitely recommend this place to anyone and everyone!!! Worth all their stars and more!!! Love this place and will certainly be coming back again in the near future!!! Love love love CAPE DIEM!!! And it's wonderful quirks!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Perfect spot within easy (and safe) walking distance of the waterfront. Loved our room which had the sleeping area on a mezzanine and doors opening onto the pool. Staff were helpful and attentive, without being intrusive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geordiewinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

If you are visiting Cape Town & you want a place in the City with easy access to all the City's main attractions including Table Mountain, Waterfront, Sea point, Campus Bay, Robin Island etc, this is the 5* place with its excellent facilities & efficient staff. Althogh we stayed for 1 night only we felt more than welcome & the breakfast was fantastic & would go back again the next time we are in this part of the World.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.

We really hope that should you come back to Cape Town, that you are more than welcome at the Lodge and hopefully will have more time to spend here.

All the best

The Cape Diem Team and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

As a solo traveller this was the perfect choice for me. Wanted a more personal touch and a place to relax and cape Diem was perfect. My room was the first on the left and had doors that opened to the pool area. Everything was just perfect and the staff excellent. Location was great and taxi back from waterfront was cheap and a savior after a day of walking and sightseeing.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Within our 3 weeks round trip through the garden route we have seen some very good
guest houses, but Cape Diem was the best.
We stayed there for 4 nights and enjoyed our time beeing there very much.
Especially we like to point out the designed rooms in the old farm house.
Also the breakfast was excellent. Particularly we thank Alexandra for her hospitality.
We had a great time at Cape Town and if we may come back to Sout Africa we will stay
at Cape Diem which is located nearby the waterfront.
Ute & Kurt Germany

Room Tip: our room was fine
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Ute and Kurt,

thanks for your wonderful TripAdvisor review .

We are so happy that you had a great time in South Africa and at the Cape Diem Lodge- we are always happy to do anything for you and our guests.

We truly love what we do and are happy that it reflects on our guests.

Greetings from sunny Cape Town, your Cape Diem Team and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.2 mi away
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Sugar Hotel & Spa
#60 of 111 in Cape Town Central
351 reviews
13.2 mi away
Colona Castle
Colona Castle
#1 of 1 in Lakeside
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oxford House
Oxford House
#7 of 128 in Cape Town Central
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Standard
Cape Standard
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apartments
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Diem Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diem Lodge

Address: 11 Vesperdene Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £105 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Diem Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don’t expect the ordinary…”better sleeping, better relaxing, better eating – better Cape Diem LODGE!” In our brand new and stylish Cape Diem LODGE you’ll find victorian charm, mixed with an award winning european interior design and all of that in the heart of vibrant Cape Town. Let us free you from the normal hotel stress. Our fresh, host and easy team wants to treat you like friends and as such, you will be sure to come. The house represents one of the first Farm Houses in Greenpoint, dating back to early 1875, equipped with the latest of modern interior, set in a beautifully landscaped garden with a sparkling pool and a Teak wood sundeck, where you’ll enjoy your rich english breakfast in the morning. It is gently attached to the lower slopes of Signal Hill, overlooking the Bay, Blouwberg Strand, Robben Island and the VA Waterfront and only minutes away from the cities major attractions.Our idea to “relaunche” and converte this victorian jewel from early 1900, in one of Cape Towns most thought after positions, into a luxurious meeting point for friends from around the world, came with a blink of an eye. The complete restoration in 2007/2008 was taking us several month and carried out with the greatest care to details. Influences of old and new, local and global, come together in playful harmony. Our motto: contemporary design in historical surroundings!In the heart of the house, you’ll be able to relax in our cosy and elegant lounge. Enjoy a book and a glas of exquisit south african wine or lay back in front of our open fire place during the winter.Our perfectly appointed rooms are offered in Classic or Superior. The interior is inspired by the new generation of young south african designers. Light and characterised by innumerable details, as well as kingsized beds, innovative bathrooms, state of the art self controled cooling & heating system, LCD Flatscreen TV’s & DVD’s and a fully loaded minibar including south african wines and champagne. Our complimentary wireless Lan internet connection does not only cater our friends on business, but may be enjoyed by everyone. Furthermore, all of our guest rooms are equipped with a CD sound experience, an Nespresso Coffee station, self dial telephones, digital safe, hair dryer, bathrobes + slippers, luxury bath ameneties, shower & bath and so much more… Why not trying out our pillow menu? Challenge us – what more can we get you?We also would like to offer you a personal, secure and hassle free pick-up in a luxury SUV from or to the Airport to the Cape Diem LODGE at a total of only R 450,- for 2 guests/per way. We only ask you for an early reservation and your exact flight details – leave the rest to us!We wish you already today the best possible trip to Cape Town and a very pleasant stay at your Cape Diem Lodge.Warm regards from Cape Town,Your Cape Diem LODGE Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape Diem Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Diem Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing