We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and new but could be much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location and new but could be much better”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Our travel agent recommended this hotel for our family of four. We stayed four nights on a Stay 3-get-1-free deal. I had a mixed experience so I'll say what I liked and didn't like.

I liked the fact that the apartment itself was nice and comfortable, very airy and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a washing machine (which we never used) and good-sized fridge. Room service was very reasonably priced and some of the food was quite good. It is walking distance to the V&A. The hotel offers a free shuttle service within a certain radius (5km, I think). The staff in the restaurant are lovely and one of them, Grace, is exceptional. Breakfast is generous with a good variety.

I did not like the housekeeping standards. There were no major lapses but the little lapses here and there meant minor irritations every day. Things like having a fridge and freezer but the ice tray was empty and the water bottles were not chilled. An apartment for four was equipped with drinking glasses for two. There was a full kitchen but not even a dish towel to wipe newly washed glasses. The snack amenity was not cleared for two days; the bowl had to be set aside by the door so the staff would clear it.

On our third night, the duty manager dropped by to ask about our stay. I told him about most of the above. He was very, very apologetic and I believed he was sincere in wanting to look into the complaints and make improvements. When we returned from touring the next evening (our last night), we had the dishtowels, the glasses and some lovely amenities and a hand-written note from the duty manager, which was lovely. That same night, we ordered room service. The menu mentioned the arrabiata as being "mildly spicy" but it was so hot no one in my family could eat it, and we are accustomed to Thai and Indian food, not to mention arrabiata in many other restaurants. My daughter just ate leftover bread, as it was already late. We told the waiter when he came to clear the table to please ask the chef to try a strand of the pasta and tell us if this is how it should be. He cleared the virtually untouched plate and the table and we never heard from anyone about the uneaten (inedible) pasta. We never got our wake-up call; thankfully our handphone alarm did not fail us. Back to square one.

If you only focus on the location and hardware and if the overall experience of a hotel stay does not matter much to you, then Cape Royale would be very good, or even excellent. But if service details matter, then this is really quite average.

I would recommend it for the location and the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    331
    147
    42
    54
See reviews for
540
492
38
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Sorry it has taken me so long to write this review. We had a wonderful time at Cape Royale. Perfect location, the apartment was fantastic and the staff, especially the concierge could not have been more helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The Cape Royale has easy access to all the popular tourist places in Cape Town and a stone's throw away from the V & A Waterfront. Stunning rooms with all the trimmings and great for business trips away from home. Just make sure you book a room higher than the 4th floor as the club noise can be a little troublesome.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We spend 6 wonderful nights here with friends.
The room is actually a small apartment: living room, separate bedroom, bathroom, and fully equipped kitchen + a washing machine with dryer which was absolutely great! Excellent sleep quality:comfortable bad and linen.
The location is very safe, 10 minutes walk to the waterfront.
We also used (especially in the evenings) the fantastic free shuttle service which takes you everywhere within 5 km.
Breakfast was very good and beautifully presented.
Staff were helpful and friendly,always willing to help.
Over all very highly recommended place to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Ca, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is a very nicely appointed hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Thomas, Angie, our concierge (sorry, I've forgotten his name), Stanley (one of the shuttle drivers) and the wait staff in the dining room. The suite was like an apartment with a very large living area. Our room did not have a bathtub but the other room did, so we shared. Housekeeping staff were very nice about bringing up anything we needed (pots, corkscrew, extra towels). We were a little baffled by the fact that housekeeping replaced our towels every day, even though we left a note not to replace them, but this was minor. Everything was very clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent and so were the things we got from the restaurant. We did not have a problem with noise. The rooftop pool deck is lovely, although the pool itself is too cold to use at this time of the year. Beautiful views of the city and Table Mountain.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less club noise. Be sure to ask for a tub if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, CA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The pros: Friendly service and comfortable and very spacious room with kitchen and washer dryer (an all-in-one that's a bit complicated but it did do the job)--great if you are on an extended trip. Comfortable bed and linens. In-room safe which I recommend you use as there was a theft in our group--not unusual in any large city needless to say.. Incredible gourmet breakfast buffet every morning with everything from omelettes and freshly baked pastries and muffins to champagne and fresh fruit platters, cereals, sauteed mushrooms and sausages etc... Great location within walking distance of V&A waterfront, Long Street, Botanical Garden. Small but workable workout room.

The cons: no bathtub in our room but some do have. More importantly, ran out of hot water more than once! Too busy to complain to the hotel so I can't say if there was a solution to be had.

Room Tip: If you want a bath tub request a room with one when reserving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coopdedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriMallett, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post these comments about our hotel here on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to note such an enjoyable stay.
Please be assured that your comments regarding the hot water are being investigated. This is not common practice and we will endeavour to find a soloution to the problem.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Spa.

Kinds Regards
Terri Mallett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2011

staff was incomparable....hospitable, accessible, and agreeable. The hotel itself is well located near the waterfront, and across from the soccer stadium. The rooms are huge and well appointed. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa19LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriMallett, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments. They are very warmly received and greatly appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Terri Mallett
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,518 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,034 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing