We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT OPTION IN CAPE TOWN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2011

The Cape Royale is an imposing hotel that makes an instant impression as you walk through the doors. The Doormen in tails, the complimentary Jaguar chauffeur drives, the marble entrance and rich lobby all scream pure luxury. You do feel as if you have arrived.

The rooms are extremely well appointed, and the added space of the 3 bedroom Penthouse we had was fantastic. The bathrooms have top end fittings and have a well though out layout. Ample space.

If I am to nitpick, perhaps the main flatscreen was a bit on the small side for such a large apartment, but then who goes on holiday to watch tv?

Service was generaly great, most of the staff were extremely accomodating and willing to help.

On the negative side the room service tray charge was simply ridiculous in my opinion, R 50 per order. I thought this excessive.

Now, to the unfortunate experience of why I can't give this hotel a full 5 stars.

We had a rental car while in Cape Town and the Valet service was usualy efficient, a quick call to let them know you are ready to leave means that by the time you are down the elevator your car is infront of the hotel waiting for you.

On a particular occasion, we called down as usual, and to our suprise, as we walked out of the lobby, a total stranger arrived with our car in front of the hotel, removed his belongings, got out the car and walked in to the hotel! It turned out to be another guest at the hotel who had hired a similar car and the guys at the Valet confused our cars! Or that is what we assume.

We were in a bit of a rush at that stage, and being a group of guys on holiday, chose to look at it in a humorous light and let it slide. A brief apology from a manager on the phone later was given. Nevertheless, it is something that should be regarded as unacceptable from the hotels side.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeyDock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,121 - 1,127 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

My wife an I stayed in Cape Town after a trip on the Blue Train from Pretoria.

We booked the Cape Royale to spoil ourselves with some opulence and to maintain the high standards set by the Train.

The hotel is in a fantastic location, literally a 5 minute walk from the V&A Waterfront and with a selectiion of bars and restaurants close at hand.

We had a one room deluxe apartment which was very well appointed and offered a "home away from home" experience with a fully fitted kitchen and seperate living room.

Staff were extremely curtious and helpful and the prices for room service were surprisingly low compared to the standrad of hotel............but there's a but!

The corridors to the rooms are on suspended floorways that are effectively open from ground level to the 13th floor, the floors are highly polished ceramic tiles that create a very clean look and some of the rooms bedroom windows are "internal" and overlook the corridor.

The combination, however aesthetically pleasing creates a hollow echo that disturbed us on both nights we stayed. Returning visitors on every floor can be heard and the doors often slam into their wooden frames.

It's a pity, because everything about the hotel would encourage me to stay again, but the sound proofing in the rooms needs to improve and they need to find a way to dampen the noise that does echo around the open plan, ceramic corridors.

Pity!

Room Tip: Try not to have an internal bedroom that overlooks the corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshman_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Two night stay, just outside the waterfront which we are glad we did not choose as it appears to be a tourist trap, still close to everything and an awesome view! Rooms are very "straight forward" but all the luxuries you might need

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

first of all the hotel was in a great location. after the first night,i walked passed the front desk and the lady asked about our evening.i said it was nice but a king bed would have been better.that afternoon we got back to our room & they had moved a king bed and replaced the queen bed.we stayed four nights,they were all great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiremanKnoxville_tn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Stunning hotel! The staff are warm and friendly, hospitable and extremely helpful. Local chauffeur service available should you need it. The apartment bed very comfortable - lovely place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bj69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

This hotel is most certainly, without doubt, the best hotel in the World! On arrival we were treated like royalty and throughout our stay everybody was accommodating and friendly. The suites are to die for and the staff give a little extra to make your stay as memorable as possible.

Room Tip: A room overlooking Table Mountain is the type of room you would not want to leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

What a fabulous experience. The staff are warm and friendly, hospitable and extremely helpful. From when you walk the red carpet to when you leave you feel like royalty!
Thank you for a truly memorable weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £184 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Luxurious All-Suite, 5-star hotel, is centrally located, within walking distance to the Cape Town stadium, V&A Waterfront and close to all popular beaches. It offers bright spacious Suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen and large living & entertainment areas. Guests have a choice between several dining options, Wellness Centre, Fitness Centre and a rooftop Pool Bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain. Ask the Cape Royale Luxury Hotel concierge team to offer suggestion on Cape Town and surround activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing