We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a true royal experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #53 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Absolutely awsome experience. We decided to be tourists in our own city so booked in for the weekend. Enter the foyer and immediately you are made to feel welcome. The ellegance and splendour of this hotel will immediately put a smile on your face. The family room we had provided ample space and had all the modern conveniences you would expect. The staff are the real stars. Doesn't matter how brilliant the hotel may look but without staff who goes the extra mile it wouldn't be anything special. Here i would like to single out the following people, Thomas(brilliant concierge), Gershon (travel concierge) and last but not least, Faith and Alex, the best waiters that I have ever come across. Their service is so good that it prompted my daughter to say that " these people are freakishly good".When you book in at this hotel, you can be assured that your stay will be fantastic with them watching over you. The sky bar is a brilliant set-up and the only drawback here is that it can get very busy and crammped as the space is limited, but it's a spectacular location for sundowners. There is no wait here however as drinks are served promptly. Only negative comment I can make about the whole experince, is that the sky bar personel is a let down when you measure them up against the staff I have mentioned before. Overall, we had a brilliant experience and it will be a destination we will visit again as we are seriously considering having my daughters birthday party there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,150 - 1,156 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

Our first trip to S Africa and all four of us loved it,We did all the usual sights but our new year celebrations at the Hotel were fabulous with great food and all the staff were great. Only one little gripe was that the Hotel pool with a bar area was far too small for the Hotel.The rooms are lovely and spotless and the staff were so helpful and smiley at all times. We would certainly
go and stay at the Cape Royale again which is in a perfect location of the waterfront.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winnie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Our first time to travel to South Africa, and also our first time to stay in a 5* hotel. Booked for for 5 nights, 2 adults and two teenagers. Family suite was big, spacious and well equipped. Staff were very friendly and helpful, Spa voucher was a lovely treat. Excellent food, wine and cocktails! Hotel is in a great location for sight seeing and offers a free courtesy bus to the Waterfront. Would definitely stay here again if we returned to Cape Town, the standard and service provided was first class

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david1303_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We travelled as a family, 2 adults and 4 older teenage children and this was our first visit to Cape Town and one we had been looking forward to with great expectation. We had spent the first week in Kruger park and then flown down to Cape Town for 8 nights from Christmas eve through to New Years day staying in a very comfortable 3 bed apartment on floor 7 of the hotel. The hotel is very refined, even chic and I'd like to think that at any other time of the year may well operate to a standard expected of a 5 star deluxe property however for us the hotel fell short of what I have come to expect from a deluxe hotel.
The room advertised a "butler" service however having been introduced to our butler upon arrival and been shown to our room we neither saw nor heard from him again the whole week. With hindsight this was part of our ongoing problems, no one co-ordinating our concerns as they developed and helping resolve them or preventing them in the first place. The 3 bedroom all with ensuites and a full kitchen, lounge and dining area was large and as advertised, however the telephone system had been replaced that week and the instructions on its use bore no correlation to the new hand sets which meant we had no communication with reception or the Butler which was supposed to be pre-programmed. This required us to descend the 7 floors to reception on a number of occassions before a technication arrived (Christmas Day) to reprogramme the defective phone after which we then had a single facilty for calling reception for all our needs that week. This did work, however was quite different to the Butler concept which we should have experienced and I assume other guests actually received.
The shower door broke the first time we used it and the kettle didn't work and was replaced. There was no washing powder for either the washing machine or dishwasher or kitchen towels all of which must be requested. The main problem for us however from the very start was the firmness of the master bedroom mattress. After the first night I made the reception aware of this discomfort and the very poor sleep we had had and they arrived with a cover. That didn't work, so the following day I reported the matter again. New thicker covers arrived, which whilst better for me were not great and my wife who borrowed variuous pillows from other rooms upon which she slept for the rest of our stay. The hotel offered to change the mattress which I accepted but that did not happen. Rooms to the front of the hotel, such as ours, suffer from the busy traffic and road noise at night. Cars appeared to us the dual carriageway as a race track at times! Even though we had large balcony window doors these could not be left open at night due to the noise.
It is only fair to confirm the hotel staff are all very nice and do respond and do try to help and that perhaps some of the problems we experienced were due to the fact the hotel was almost full, very busy and it was a Public Holiday in Cape Town, as elsewhere. However, after finding no toilet paper in our bathroom or any bathroom towels left in the master bathroom I had had enough and no choice but to complain forcefully that this was just not acceptable. A duty manager promptly attended and I noted the cleaning staff changed afterwards as a result following which we had no further similar problems. Something which did become very tiresome was the constant intrusion and the coming and going of various staff carrying out the daily tasks of cleaning and making beds and attending to the kitchen, all of which which could easily span an hour or so. I know this has to be done but it occured frequently whilst we were in the room and was not at any specific time of the day it seemed. Why could this not be done when we were out and about and why was it not better organised? I can only put this down to the fact the hotel was full and the usual effeciency was therefore not possible. Don't get excited by the roof top pool either, it is very small, more of a plunge pool and with very limited space for loungers. Again staff do try and assist when you attend the pool, offering mattresses on the floor but its not quite what you'd expect.
Our stay was not all problematic, we had several excellent meals in 1800 the inhouse small but comfortable restaurant including Christmas day itself (thanks Grace) when the buffet excelled and included oysters, wonderful salmon as well as all the traditional trimmings and a chocolate fountain much to my daughter's delight! Also high praise must go to the Hotel Conciege (thanks Guershen) without whom our stay could have turned into a total disaster. They arranged our tickets to access to some of the most popular (Robben Island and Table Mountain) and all fully booked attractions, then transported us all in comfort, always on time and with the utmost courtesy.
In conclusion, we liked Cape Town, the V&A watefront and its surrounds however we will never return to Cape Town over this very busy festive period as it affects everything you would wish to do and enjoy as part of a normal tourist visit and that includes the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front suffer from the busy traffic and road noise at night. Rooms on upper floors may a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kdaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed for four nights including new years eve in December 2011 and it was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. The service was beyond first class and the food and wine were excellent. Our suite was very spacious and well designed - I could not fault it in any way. We will definitely stay there again when we next visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dacol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed for 3 nights from 19 to 22nd dec. Booked via preferred hotel group website and got the 14 day advance bookings. Rooms less than half normal price. Fanastic value. Rooms great size, everything u need. Stayed in delux room. Kitchen, big bathroom, lounge and laundry facilities.
Great location about 500 meters to v&a waterfront. Hotel will also provide free drop off & pick up within 5 km of hotel. Great service.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craigy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

The Cape Royale is an imposing hotel that makes an instant impression as you walk through the doors. The Doormen in tails, the complimentary Jaguar chauffeur drives, the marble entrance and rich lobby all scream pure luxury. You do feel as if you have arrived.

The rooms are extremely well appointed, and the added space of the 3 bedroom Penthouse we had was fantastic. The bathrooms have top end fittings and have a well though out layout. Ample space.

If I am to nitpick, perhaps the main flatscreen was a bit on the small side for such a large apartment, but then who goes on holiday to watch tv?

Service was generaly great, most of the staff were extremely accomodating and willing to help.

On the negative side the room service tray charge was simply ridiculous in my opinion, R 50 per order. I thought this excessive.

Now, to the unfortunate experience of why I can't give this hotel a full 5 stars.

We had a rental car while in Cape Town and the Valet service was usualy efficient, a quick call to let them know you are ready to leave means that by the time you are down the elevator your car is infront of the hotel waiting for you.

On a particular occasion, we called down as usual, and to our suprise, as we walked out of the lobby, a total stranger arrived with our car in front of the hotel, removed his belongings, got out the car and walked in to the hotel! It turned out to be another guest at the hotel who had hired a similar car and the guys at the Valet confused our cars! Or that is what we assume.

We were in a bit of a rush at that stage, and being a group of guys on holiday, chose to look at it in a humorous light and let it slide. A brief apology from a manager on the phone later was given. Nevertheless, it is something that should be regarded as unacceptable from the hotels side.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeyDock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#33 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,858 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,441 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,863 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £162 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Luxurious All-Suite, 5-star hotel, is centrally located, within walking distance to the Cape Town stadium, V&A Waterfront and close to all popular beaches. It offers bright spacious Suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen and large living & entertainment areas. Guests have a choice between several dining options, Wellness Centre, Fitness Centre and a Rooftop Pool Deck offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain. Ask the Cape Royale Luxury Hotel concierge team to offer suggestion on Cape Town and surround activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing