We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cape Royale
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$518
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$446
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$878
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$390
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,584)
Filter reviews
1,584 results
Traveller rating
952
355
160
46
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
952
355
160
46
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslord and ladybedroom suiteluxury hotelwasher dryerrooftop barfull kitchentravel deskfantastic hotelliving areagreen pointshuttle serviceour honeymoonself cateringwaterfront areafour nightsfree shuttletable mountain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,128 - 1,133 of 1,584 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at The Cape Royale for 9 nights. What a great place, staff so friendly cannot do enough for you, especially Sisonke in the restaurant, such a lovely member of staff. The food was lovely, highly recommend the steaks. The V&A Waterfront has great shops and restaurants, lovely Italian called
Meloncino, great staff especially Dingani. All in all a fantastic holiday, cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deengaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

would just like to inform anybody who has or going to travel to cape town to do themselves a favour and stay at the cape royale! I have never received this level of service and friendliness in any of the other hotels i stayed in on my travels. Top marks to the concierge and staff at the cape royale

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulpigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I have stayed in Cape Royale last March 2012, the hotel is an amazing experience, the suite was amazing, and the service was great.
All staff are very friendly, and helpful.
Also, the hotel is located in an area called "Green Point", which is one of the safest places in cape town, and also it is 5 mins away from the famous V&A waterfront.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ragy_R_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This place used to be memorable. It's still beautiful. It ends there. The service is poor. Maintenance is horrific. The concierge is useless. The follow through is poor. We had multiple things stolen, from money to toiletries. The management is non-existent. We told the owner about our issues and received an offensive attack on our integrity...I guess our money just evaporated on its own. This is the first negative review I've written on T/A...but this hotel deserves it. What a shame...we were here shortly after it opened and it was great, now it is awful.If you are staying here....find a place to hide your valuables as far from this place as you can!

Room Tip: The best rooms are not in this hotel
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We loved the Cape Royale in the past, but sadly, we had an extremely disappointing stay. We brought friends and we were embarrassed, as we had built it up to be such a wonderful hotel. Of the three places we stayed in South Africa on this trip, I am really glad it was the first, so we could improve from there...

The service was completely unreliable. We had an important appointment the day after we arrived and we double-checked that our room service order for breakfast was placed, only to find that somehow the order was lost without enough time to properly have something to eat.

We had heard that things were stolen from the safes in the rooms, so we took precautions with our money and valuables, but we made the mistake of leaving a large amount of money out, which we thought our friends were going to take and change for us. They forgot to take it and it was gone when we returned. That was our error, but we didn't expect to also have our TOILETRIES stolen... my husband's deodorant and cologne mysteriously disappeared over our stay.

Most troubling was that a heavy cabinet door fell off it's hinges on my husband's head. We reported it and it seems that the maintenance people only re-hung it, but did not repair the three hinges that were broken, so it fell on him a second time!

It is still a beautiful property, but we found it noisy this time and certainly not the place we loved in the past. We will be trying a different hotel for our next visit to our favorite city.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Baldwingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews