We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Awesome hotel....good natured and hospitable service.....loved the service.....love to go there again....special thumbs up for the consideration in food(vegetarian n indian)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazyforholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at Cape Royale. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    324
    146
    41
    51
See reviews for
526
489
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We were a group of 6 office colleagues who had gone to Cape Town for the weekend while working in Jo'burgh. this hotel was recommended by a south African colleague and we all were really grateful to her. Fantastic hotel, great rooms and great service. We had 3 two bedroom suites and these were really luxurious suites. The service was excellent. On the last day, we checked out in the morning and left our bags at the hotel as we were going to the beach for the day.Returned in the evening and and were given access to a suite so that we could shower and get ready for our flights back to Jo'burgh. If I did not say this before, superb service and great staff! If I go back to SA with the family, this is the hotel am going back to!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaykum71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and therefore I thank you for this and for taking the time to write it.

Please do contact us directly when you are planning to return to Cape Town with your family and we will ensure a repeat of our great service is experienced.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2012

An absolute wow experience from arrival to departure. Great rooms with a stunning view of the ocean and the V&A Waterfront. Amazing friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food and a reasonably good breakfast.

Really excellent value for money and child friendly experience. A definite choice for a 5star stay in Cape Town.

Hannes, Tania, Carla & Lara Boshoff

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannesBoshoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
WOW indeed :-)
Thanks for this fabulous review from the Boshoff family.
It truly is wonderful to receive such positive feedback and please be assured it as been shared with all of our team.

We hope to see you all again soon.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar & The team at Cape Royale
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Great service, great rooms, great location, great restaurant, very helpfull and happy staff.

Can't really say much else! We had a two bedroom and a one bedroom suite at a rate which was about 25% of that I just paid to stay in the Royal Livingstone at Vic Falls and the Cape Royale was an order of magnitude better!

The 1800 restaurant food was good with a charming smiley waiter (Alex) the barman in the Monkey bar was fun and helpful, the drivers for the complimentary transport bus were all friendly and happy to give advice and the rooms were simply excellent.

Favourite hotel of our trip, would love to go back

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantanHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you SO much for the great feedback. We are very pleased to note you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Please be assured that we will pass on your lovely comments about our staff to all of the team especially our friendly waiter Alex :-)

Hope to welcome you back very soon.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Our stay at the Cape Royale was a highlight in our recent trip. At a VERY reasonable price we had a suite that included 2 BR, 2 Bath, Kitchen (fully outfitted including washing machine!), Dining Room and Living Room. Perfect for our family of 4. Nicer than my first apartment for sure! Great location in Green Point. Free shuttle to most of the key parts of downtown Cape Town. Made a great home base for our stay in CT. Cannot recommend highly enough! Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of these apartments/suites. Make a quick stop at the PickNPay grocery store an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoneDivingVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Cape Royale, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

A BREAK IN THE CAPE

To overcome Winter Blues in SA a little pampering is needed. The Cape is very much geared to summer sunshine, however if you know where to go then a gourmet comfortable visit can be world class …without the crowds.

We started with a few superlative days in the Cape with a luxury suite [same cost as normal room] at Cape Royale Hotel. These guys know how to do superlative luxury whilst recognizing that a there is a recession. Personalities and smiles abound. They claim the best steak at the 1800 Grill and my partners was superb. Vegetarians are scarce in the Cape! So my gourmet weekend was heavily devoted to ‘Mushroom Risotto’!
We then travelled to Asara Wine Estate in Stellenbosch, to find a stunning boutique winelands style 5* hotel. Being quiet, the attention was all smiles and ready to meet our every whim. A stunning wine estate setting with early morning birdlife being the alarm clock. The weather meant we spent much cozt time by the fireplace with superb attention from …….
Our first choice was Delaire for dinner, however they are in midst of renovations. The Hotel recommended the restaurant at Jordan Wine Estate. An early disappointment with our seating plan was soon forgotten with the best starter of the decade a crispy duck with a delicious foam and delicate jus. The menu was just stunning and topped off with a soufflé which was the dessert of the decade. My Mushroom Risotto was made from scratch, as Vegies do not like wine, this delayed our main course which sadly meant my partners lamb was somewhat cold. However overall a Michelin Star performance, with a Cab Sav to delight.

Now we were on a gourmet roll! So we asked the Hotel late to book another restaurant and we headed off for Volkskombuise in Dorp Street. From the outside an interesting Afrikaans edifice. Quiet inside but it was 9.30 at this stage. Their signature dish for 35 years in their Chicken Pie. However my partners problem of choice was solved when the had a special that included the chicken pie, a bobotie and a curry lamb taster. The starters were a big let down. Libel concerns enter when we came to our main courses. My partners generous description of the ‘pies’ was that he misread the menu as they did say that they were 35 years old! My ‘Mushroom Risotto’ with white mushrooms was simply inedible.
Prior to a superb breakfast at Asara, it was time to take Rennies. So Saturday was characterized by Superb to Hopeless.

With uncomfortable tummies we set off for Sunday lunch at ‘Food and Wine’ at Moreson wine Estate. We were cheered being 45 minutes late to be greeted by Sunshine…a great name…, [stopped at DELI CAT EESSEN for a quick tea to settle tummies from night before]. Again starters were world class …but mains were ordinary.

There are so many options in the Winelands that you are spoiled for choice, however good homework and advice from the Concierges is necessary.

Room Tip: Rooms are unlike any hotel I have stayed in. They are all fully equiped apartments with a full kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie88888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Jackie,

Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed guest review. We are pleased to note you enjoyed the suite and our restaurant 1800 degrees. It is also great to learn of your feedback for the other restaurants you visited and these comments will be passed along to our Guest Services team to assist with recommendations.

I hope we will have the opportunity to 'spoil' you here again at Cape Royale...until then...
Royal Regards :-)

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We spent around 13 nights in this hotel. It was nice hotel. We were comfotable and enjoyable. Every body there was nice and has a smile face. They offered a transport to the waterfront by free with good cars. Also, they give you some suggestions about the places you should go to them. They respected our cultures. You should visit it when you go to cape town.

Khalid and his family,Saudi Arabia

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kh-1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Lord Khalid & Family,

Thank you very much for the lovely feedback you have given us, we are pleased to note that you and your family had such an wonderful stay. I hope your return journey home was a pleasant one.

We would like to wish you and your family a Ramadaan Kareem and a blessed Eid Inshallah.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing