We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cape Royale
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sugar Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dysart Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The PortsWood(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,584)
Filter reviews
1,584 results
Traveller rating
952
355
160
46
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
952
355
160
46
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslord and ladybedroom suiteluxury hotelwasher dryerrooftop barfull kitchentravel deskfantastic hotelliving areagreen pointshuttle serviceour honeymoonself cateringwaterfront areafour nightsfree shuttletable mountain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,011 - 1,016 of 1,584 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom suite which was immense, luxurious, and very comfortable. We did have some trouble figuring out how to use the washer/dryer as the staff member who came up to instruct us had a very heavy accent. Nonetheless, it was great to have this available in the suite. Breakfasts, included in our package, were delicious, with a great deal of variety. The wait staff in the restaurant were very attentive as were the doormen and the reception staff. Be sure to ask reception to book your cablecar to Table Mountain before you go so as to avoid the lineups at the site.

The hotel is located in an area which is a little sketchy at night, however. We took advantage of the free shuttle but there were problems with this - we were never picked up as requested one evening and ended up having to take a cab back; another time we had to call several times before being picked up. The drivers explained they had been swamped. In conversation with another family, we discovered they had experienced the same difficulties. If the hotel offers this service, they should make sure they have enough staff/vehicles to meet the demand.

Several travellers have mentioned the gong on arrival and being addressed as Lord or Lady. We found this amusing!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at The Cape Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Dear Lady Martha :-),

Thank you for this lovely review and for your very valuable comments. I am pleased to note you had an enjoyable stay and please be assured that your comments regarding the transfers are greatly appreciated. This feedback has assisted us in reviewing the availability of vehicles in the evenings and we will certain put measures in place to avoid a repeat.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

It is difficult to put into words how wonderful our hotel experience was! From the delicious food to the 2 bedroom perfect 5 star apartment not even to mention the very friendly staff!!! The list can go on and on. Thank you for a weekend I will never forget!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IreneV38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at The Cape Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Thank you, thank you, thank you,
Your feedfback is so greatly appreciated and I am pleased to learn that you had a fantabulous weekend with us!

I really hope we have the privilage of welcoming you back soon.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar & The team at Cape Royale
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our tour of South Africa and had a wonderful experience, the location is very convenient for V & A with a free hourly shuttle to and from the Waterfront, they also arranged for transport to District 6 museum FOC, all the staff we encountered were willing to go the extra mile to make our stay memorable. The breakfast choice was superb with excellent fresh fruit, pastries, platters along with traditional hot breakfast. Rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean with ours having a tremendous view of Table Mountain. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinteringhamSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at The Cape Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Dear Lord Steve,

Thank you for this review. Our guest experience is focused on going the extra mile and making that special little bit more effort for all our guests. We value every guest, every comment, good or bad and our mission is to be the very best at every opportunity. I am so pleased that we achieved this for you, especially at the end of your tour.

I hope you got back home safely.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We had total comfort , luxurious care beautiful food ,and wonderful personal attention given by all the staff, We loved having the 2 bedroomed spacious elegent apartment. We truly had a marvellous time and were made to feel VIPs.
The conceirge Sedich Atcheck could not have been more helpful in every way and gave great advice re tours , shopping, etc,
I have already recommended this hotel to family and friends due to visit Cape Town.

The hotel was ideally situated for visiting the V+A waterfront , so convenient for the many interesting tours etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna727272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at The Cape Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Dear Lady Anna....you VIP you :-)

VIP indeed, for all our guests...
Thank you for the comment, it is greatly appreciated and now Sedick is smiling even more, (if thats even possible!!).
Your comments are warnly received and are published on all our 'Champion' team noticeboards.

Please ask you friends to contact us when they are visiting.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar, Sedick and the team at Cape Royale
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

There are lots of pluses with this hotel. The location is very good being just ten mins' walk to the V & A (though there is a free hourly shuttle on offer to anywhere within a 5 km radius of the hotel). The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. It is impossible to arrive and reach the lifts without several staff members greeting you!

The breakfast is extensive with lots of choice including freshly made smoothies. We had dinner in the restaurant only once and our choices lived up to expectations.

We had a two bedroomed suite which was full of natural light with lovely views towards the sea. There is a kitchenette with a full oven and hob, microwave and full-size fridge-freezer. There is also a washer/dryer. Bathrooms are luxurious and beds comfortable.

We were a party of 3 adults so the suite suited us very well indeed.

Highly recommended.

NB At the time we visited the Sky Bar, pool and sun terrace were being upgraded so if this is important to you check that they are back in service before you book.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite at the front of the hotel, five floors up. There is some street noise in the master bedroom so the higher up the hotel you are the less noise nuisance there is likely to be. There are 9 floors in all.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at The Cape Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Dear valued guest,

This is excellent feedback you have given us, thank you.
Please be assured that the new and refreshed Sky Bar is up and running. We have receievd great feedback, especially now that we are stepping into summer.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews