We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royale experience but housekeeping can improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Royale experience but housekeeping can improve”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite in November 2012 which had a good view of the stadium and waterfront. Staff was very friendly and helpful and guests were treated like royals with announcement of our arrival on the first day accompanied with a gong and welcome letter addressing us as Lord and Lady. Nice touch. Service at 1800 was exceptionally good with amazing breakfast. The only compliant we had was the level of housekeeping service which we would expect of this hotel. After the first night, the housekeeping staff did not seem to complete restocking the coffee/tea tray and toiletries and even left their worksheet on the kitchen cabinet. We also tried washing some of our clothes having just been back from 4 nights of safari up at Sabi Sands seeing that the washing machine has both a wash and dry function. However, there was no instructions on how to work the machine and we tried the cycle with wash and dry but the dryer did not work at the end of the cycle and we called for help. The housekeeping staff had no idea how to work the machine and said we had to wait for a technician the next morning. In the meantime, they took our semi-wet clothes from the machine and promised to have it delivered the next day dried and folded. When we came back from a whole day of sightseeing the next day, our clothes were not returned and again the toiletries were not restocked properly as all they did was capped the bottle back with whatever was left in the bottle. We realised we had no shampoo and not enough body wash when we were in the shower and what an inconvenience it was to have to call for supplies when you are already wet!

The management was apologetic and gave us a bottle of wine and tray of cheese and fruits as gesture which kinda of redeemed the poor housekeeping service. However, with a suite hotel as well appointed as Cape Royale, management needs to ensure that housekeeping service is in line guest expectations given the price we pay for the rooms. Guest experience needs to be end to end and it's not enough to have friendly and excellent front office and restaurant service only to be frustrated with housekeeping services.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fauziah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    330
    147
    42
    54
See reviews for
540
490
38
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the Cape Royale Hotel in a two bedroom apartment which was amazingly large and luxurious. The apartment included two en-suite bedrooms, large lounge area, full size grantite kitchen and dining area. There was a balcony but really not very functional as it was only about 40cm wide!

We got a very good deal through tripadvisor. The location was very good with a 10 minute ealk to the Q & A waterfront which contains great cafes and restaurants, entertainment recincts and boats the places like Robben Island. The area surrounding the hotel has cafes, restauarant, a good supermarket and laundry. It is about a 45 minute walk into the city or short taxi trip.

The service was generally very good but quirky. The staff was helpful at all times ecept in the pool area where I had enormous difficulty getting a pool towel. It seems the pool and rooftop bar have been contracted to another company and I found the staff very annoying.

While the apartment was extrmely well appointed both my friend and I found the bedrooms very dark. They do not look outside but rather had windows with one way glass facing the internal corridor. Obviously not all the rooms are like this one I would think.

I had a dental emergency during our stay and the front desk staff were very ghelpful in organising an emergency dental appointment.

I would stay here again. It is very convenient and was excellent value.

Room Tip: The two bedroom aprtments are very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
at home
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Cape Royale in Capetown, South Africa!

Accommodations- we stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was huge, very modernly decorated & updated, not a spot of dirt or sign of wear anywhere! The furnishings & decor were modern, tasteful, and luxurious. The washer/dryer all in one was a nice addition that we took advantage of...though it does take a long time for that type of machine to dry. Beds were very comfortable & bed linens were very nice.

Staff- the staff are friendly, smiling, and ultra-courteous...you can tell they are trained to treat everyone like the ultra-wealthy that probably occupy the permanent living apartments in the building. There's no affectation at all, though, it seems completely genuine.

Food- 1800 has a wonderful breakfast buffet with everything you can possibly want for breakfast laid out there...and if they don't have it, you can ask & they will cook to order eggs benedict or bring anything else they possibly can. We ate here for dinner a couple of nights as well & their menu had a nice variety...not too much to make the food not so great, but just the right amount of variety so that food was excellent, but there was still a choice. The servers at 1800 are wonderfully friendly & helpful & the chef even came to our table to ask how our meal was. Prices were completely reasonable as well. Of course, you have a full kitchen in your apartment & a Woolworth's Foods just steps away, so you can easily cook your own meals as well. Our kids loved decorating gingerbread men & dolphins at breakfast!

Location- As far as location in Capetown, we couldn't really say as we were taken somewhere by car each day (Ilios). It did appear it wasn't a terribly long walk from the water where many people are running & exercising, but there doesn't appear to be a beach. The hotel will drop you anywhere within 5km of the hotel, though...departing every hour on the half hour & will pick you up within the same radius at any time, so location becomes irrelevant with such service!

Recommendations- this place was truly 5star, and ultra-classy from the lobby all the way to the living room in our apartment, but there were just a few tiny items that weren't 5 star which I'd like to list...of course they're so small they don't really affect the rating I'd give this hotel or the fact that I'd totally recommend it to others, just a couple small details we noticed. Towels- although the towels were fresh & clean, they're not as 'cushy' and 'fluffy' as you would expect in a hotel like this...nor is there a large bath sheet that you would expect, rather the standard smaller sized bath towel. Toiletries- in the days of eco-friendly & in comparison to the 5 stars we've stayed in elsewhere in Africa, the toiletries were way too perfumy (smells like a woman, which is ok for a woman, but not a man! The Africology products smell like Africa, which is a nice compliment to any stay in Africa), they were in the small plastic disposable hotel-style bottles rather than in a full size refillable bottle...the refillable bottles look more classy & are more eco-friendly.(a note saying a charge will be made if removed from the room is ok if that is a concern) The shower head in the master shower in room 209 is absolutely pathetic! It appears the overhead shower head must have broken at some time, so there is only the hand shower wand which blasts so much water & the spray is non-uniform that you spray water all over the floor opening the door to get in...plus the head ends up being way too low...this truly needs to be fixed! If you were to use the tub here, you will find the hand shower wand hook on the wall, but the wand itself missing.

All in all, though, we must say this stay was absolutely fantastic, the staff & accommodations superb & we would highly recommend it to others & stay there again ourselves should we return to Capetown!

Room Tip: We were in 209 & although there is an open hallway up to the top of the building & hard floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LookingForFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
WOW what a review!

Dear Royal Guest,
Thank you, thank you, thank you. Firstly for taking the time to write this indepth review and secondly for the valuable feedback you have given us. Reviews like this help us to perfect the services that we offer to ensure we create superb guest experiences at all time.
I am so pleaed that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you also for the constructive comments you have provided and rest assured I will investigate suite 209 with my maintenance team...in detail. These comments are warmly received.

May I wish you and your family a wonderful 2013. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in this new year 2013. Until then....
Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

From my first interaction with the Reservations Manager, to our warm welcome in the Porte Cochier, the Cape Royale really lived up to it's motto of "Your home away from home". Nothing was too muh for the CR Team and they were always willing to assist. Our room was beyond words - the attention to detail something you come to quickly admire about the Cape Royale. Everyone is friendly with a ready smile and from porter to Maintenance Manager enquire how your stay is going, have you seen the sites, what are your plans for the day? Its amazing how proud they are all are of where they work and it shows in the way they treat guests and their environment. We immediately felt part of the family and were treated as such. Breakfast was a treat under the warm Cape Town skies and Resident Manager, Terri and MD, Johann, ensured they came past and said good morning daily. Clement, the Concierge, gave us great advise on tourist spots and restaurants, and even led us to a quaint night market in Adderly street which we thoroughly enjoyed! Blessing our valet/porter always had a smile, regardless of the time of day, and looked after us well. There are too many names to mention, but know this - want to be treated like royalty and yet feel at ease, "at home"? Then the Cape Royale is the right choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMDBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and for this fabulous review you have given us. We do take pride in what we do. We love that every day brings new challenges, new opportunities to make dreams come true and a chance to create superb experiences for all our guests. Receiving comments like you have given us, encourages us to be the very best hotel in Cape Town.

Wishing you and your family a wonderful 2013...may it be happy, healthy and filled with lots of fun.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar & the team at Cape Royale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We had an excellent stay there. The staff was very courteous and the location was perfect. 1800 was a great place for breakfast. I loved the welcome letter which addressed me as Lord Singh [never happened before, but I could certainly get used to it]. We would definitely recommend this hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is ocean facing. But everyone already knows that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manmeet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you kindly for your comments and the feedback you have given us. Please be assured that I have shared this with all our team.

Wishing you a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back this year 2013.


Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2012

What a beautiful hotel. The service was awesome and the hotel is most definitely worthy of a second visit. Service, staff attitude, quality of food and the overall experience makes for this hotel to be my hotel of choice when revisiting the Fair Cape. The rooms are simple breathtaking with all the mod-cons a traveler could wish for and a special mention needs to be made of the concierge, which will tend to your every need and request.

The hotel is located about a 5 minute walk form the V&A Waterfront and there is a number of restaurants within walking distance from the hotel, but you need not go anywhere else but The 1800° Grill Room to experience the absolute best steak in Cape Town. A visit to the pool bar is an absolute must, offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain.

There is also a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art equipment and an superb spa with a range of treatment options. Thank you to the staff and management for creating amazing memories.

You all Rock!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Awesome awesome review - thank you very much indeed. I hope you had a wonderful festive season and may I take this opportunity to wish you a very happy, healthy and prosperous new year.

I notice you have stayed with us before. Thank you for coming back to stay with us time and time again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

A great hotel where we enjoyed a fantastic stay until we were getting ready to leave and realised a significant about of money had been stolen from our room. Admittedly it transpires that the money was in the safe which had been left open but you still don't expect someone to come into your room and steal your belongings at a 5 star hotel. The hotel say they have reviewd the CCTV and no one unknown was seen entering the room which unfortunately suggests one of the cleaners stole the money. The safe was in a wardrobe so someone would have had to go looking, the feeling someone may have been through all our other belongings is hardly ideal either.

Our insurance won't cover us (money not stolen from our person) and unfortunately neither will the hotel which we very disappointed by. On reflection of the situation we were discouraged from contacting the South African police and went through the hotel security, something in hindsight we wished we hadn't. We hoped that the hotel may have shown some discretion and reimburse what we had stolen.

So a word of warning, a good hotel but be careful what you leave in your room. We were celebrating a delayed honeymoon and the theft ruined our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding having had a fantastic stay with us. However I would like to comment on the remainder of your review.
As you are aware we carried out a thorough and detailed investigation into the alleged theft from your suite. Our property manager was in regular contact with you regarding the investigations. I would like to reiterate the following:

We offered to call the SA police on your behalf which was declined. CCTV footage was reviewed. Polygraph tests were carried out with our staff. We also reviewed the necessary safe readings and this highlighted that your safe was left unlocked during your stay with us.
As with your insurance company, our insurance company will also not pay out as the money was left unsecurely locked and there is no evidence to prove that we were at fault in anyway. We do advise and encourage as a standard procedure, for all our guests to securely lock their valuables in the safes provided in the suites.

It was not our intention to ruin your stay by the alleged theft and we take incidents extremely seriously. We cannot reimburse as a good will gesture for an incident which has no evidence to state that we were at fault.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,730 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing