We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #52 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We booked 5 nights here as it offered the best rates for 5 star hotels in Cape Town city centre. The hotel is set opposite Green point and the Cape Town stadium and is an easy 10 minute walk to the V&A Waterfront (or there is a free hourly shuttle bus from the hotel). It is classed as a "residence" hotel so the rooms are a little unconventional in design but are very well equipped (include fridge, freezer, cooker and washing machine). We had a few noise issues as the wind (which was strong) whistled through the windows and there are big gaps between floors which means that late night / early morning noise travels more freely around the hotel. The hotel breakfast were great with a buffet element and a very impressive freshly cooked breakfast menu (including steak and fish options). There were plenty of staff who were all very friendly and willing to please although a little disorganised at times (not sure there was much management control). The views of Cape Town from the rooftop were fantastic. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor room at the rear of the hotel to minimise any potential noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyW1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would stay with us again...we look forward to it.

I do note you comments regarding the noise from the wind and will investigate this. I will also follow up on your comments regarding management control with the staff being disorganised. This is very concerning as management presence is a key focus for us, especially in the main guest areas, such as; the restaurant, lobby, sky bar and guest corridors. This is generally not the case.

Once again thank you for your comments and we do look forward to welcoming you back...hopefully in the not too distant future.

Royal Regards
Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

941 - 947 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed here with our family for four nights during the christmas time. It seems as if this hotel operates on two different worlds. Front desk, concierge was outstanding - searching for doctor giving helpful tips with very friendly service to all of us all along our stay - absolutely 5 star service.

We stayed in a very spacious two bedroom suite with large kitchen. The rooms are on lease base - somebody owning the share and letting it be leased by the hotel. Even if rooms have quite recently been renovated there were alreday quite a few signs of not keeping the rooms up to standard. No electricity until we asked this to be fixed, safety box was not funtioning etc. The most severe issue we faced as we kept the do not disturb sign on since my wife was ill. While sleeping a cleaner came in and was walking in the apartment. Once my wife woke up the cleaner quickly run out of the room - she did not even lock the door after escaping(as door doesnt lock automatically when closing). It seemed as if her purpose of the visit was not cleaning the room, especially keeping in mind that some others have experienced thieves... Also the cleaning quality and timing was absolutely not five star level. We addressed the cleaning level and our incident but this property manager never got back to us at all.

The pool area was really nice but water was below 20 degrees so not too appealing. The restaurant was great quality both on breakfast as well as dinners.

So if youre looking for a spacious room this is the place for your family with 5 minutes from V&A waterfront. But if youre looking for true five star experience and are normally demanding then you should stay elsewhere

Room Tip: ask for a room up floor. low floor and street facing rooms will be disturbed by traffic and the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jounianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Second trip to the wonderful Cape Town. We checked out the hotel prior to booking on Trip Advisor and felt that this would be ideal for our needs. Rooms are incredibly spacious and very well appointed but as ever the make and break of any institution is it's staff. Wonderful service throughout but would particularly like to thank the management: Lizzet, Stephanus (Phani), Sedick Ackmat and Girschen Clingen for their expert assistance, recommendations and professionalism. Amongst the other staff - too many to name personally - but however, James Chitowe on the door, Kudzar and Admire at breakfast were incredibly attentive and helpful and the very helpful waitress who always had a smile (you know who you are!). This hotel is really great value for money, ideally positioned and we would recommend it for a group or family who require more than one room as the suites are truly massive. As a couple, the staff made us feel very important and always stopped to chat and give us great attention. Plan to definitely return

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear Royal Guest,

What a fabulous review and such lovely comments you have provided us with, thank you. Especially thanks for your comments relating to our staff and management: Lizet, Stephanus (Fanie), Sedick and Girschen, aswell as James, Kudzar and Admire. I have shared your feedback with all of them. It is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we do value these staff members tremendously. They are an asset to our team.

I look forward to having the opportunity of you staying with us again. Until then....
Royal Regards
Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Very impressed by the level of service and value for money proposition. Room was available at relatively short notice. Special thanks to Mr. Sedick Achmat, Assistant Guest Services Manager, and to his entire staff!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavel_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for you valuable feedback and positive comments. This is excellent news to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
Thank you for your feedback regarding Sedick, who is an asset to our 'Champion' Team.

Royal Regards
Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The hotel staff did provide very attentive service and the room got decent size. Great view of the Green Point Stadium and very close to the V&A Waterfront. Walking distance to nearby restaurants and bars in Mullie Point and Sea Point. I did got invitation to try out their restaurant on top, magnificent view apparently. Did not go but I am sure it will also be some exprience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for you comments and your valuable feedback. It is greatly appreciated and helps us gain an understanding of our guest satisfaction.
I note from your profile that you are from Cape Town...therefore we look forward to welcoming you back....hopefully in the not too distant future!

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We had two nights at this perfect place. The warm welcoming and genuin service combined with a room with a fantastic view did this stay perfect. The concierge helped us with booking some tickets for various things to do in Cape and he also helped us solving a situation that came up with our rental car.

Breakfast was ok but we will always remember this place for its friendly and professional staff.

I strongly recommend you to stay here.

Room Tip: We had a three bedroom suite facing the water and the stadium. It was perfect. (#706)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We, a family of four, stayed for three nights. We had a huge and nice apartment with two rooms, two bathrooms, a complete kitchen and a large living room. No space problems.

The breakfast was good and the staff attentive. The only problem: the level of noise due to to the lack of double glass noise protection. We had to request to change from a front room to a back room. The next hotel reform should face this problem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augusto53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,852 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,732 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,861 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £171 - £467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Luxurious All-Suite, 5-star hotel, is centrally located, within walking distance to the Cape Town stadium, V&A Waterfront and close to all popular beaches. It offers bright spacious Suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen and large living & entertainment areas. Guests have a choice between several dining options, Wellness Centre, Fitness Centre and a Rooftop Pool Deck offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain. Ask the Cape Royale Luxury Hotel concierge team to offer suggestion on Cape Town and surround activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing