We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed at the Cape Royale for a couple of nights in their three bedroom suite. We chose this hotel because we needed a hotel room that had private bathrooms. Most of the modern hotels that we have seen in South Africa have frosted glass walls and doors leading to the bathrooms. This room mostly fit our needs, but the upstairs bathroom had frosted glass walls and one of the rooms downstairs had an open concept bathroom where the room lead straight into the bathroom. The kitchen was nice, it also had a washing machine. Rooms were decently clean. Staff was nice as well. One of the downsides is that it is not easy to stop in front of the hotel to unload. If you come in with your own car, there is only one spot on the side of the street where you can stop to unload/pick up guests. Additionally, the elevators tended to be a little slow during busy times.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JH8749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback on our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the suite and the lay out of the rooms and bathrobes. Please be assured I will investigate your comment regarding the lifts. Apologies for any inconvenience.

In reference to your comments about parking, we do not have street parking at the front of the hotel, we rather offer a valet parking service for all our guests in secure car parking within the ground of the hotel.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    330
    147
    42
    54
See reviews for
540
490
38
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Papendrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Everyone is being welcomed personally with applause...
Our room was spacious, hotel amenities are great.
We were disappointed that out of the 3 nights we stayed, we couldn't have dinner in the '1800' due to private parties.
But apart from this. we had a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze_Kooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for your review and for the positive feedback.
My apologies to learn that you did not get to enjoy a meal in our Bistro 1800. It is indeed a busy restaurant and we do encourage guests to book in advance.
Please do contact me directly should you be returning to Cape Town and Cape Royale and I will personally ensure to secure a reservation in 1800 and that you have a wonderful meal. My email address is terri.jabaar@caperoyale.co.za

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at the Cape Royal Hotel in Cape Town this month in 2 x 2 Bedroom Business Suites with our family of 7 adults and 2 kids on a vacation. The hotel is located very close to the waterfront in a great location. The rooms are superb, extremely spacious, well equipped with a full sized kitchen and amenities like washing machine, dish washer, fridge, cooking area, a large living and dining area.. The staff is very friendly and the room service did a wonderful job. Not only this, its a value for money hotel. The Reservations lady Ms. Tamara did a great job for us. We totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Prefer the Business Suites over the Family Suites for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkshatKedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

And a Truly Royale review you have given us for Cape Royale. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your feedback with Tamara, an asset to our reservations team.

Once again many thanks & Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenford, Middx, England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Yes the title says it all and I'm not usually in the habit of lying.
From when we first stepped into the lobby, right up until when we checked out, our every need was accommodated.
I agree with PRogersDublin about the announcement of your arrival with the gong sounding to be a little OTT, but still it's quirky.
Since we arrived very early, our suite was not yet ready, so we were invited to have brekkie at the restaurant, to pass away the time (I'll visit that point later on in the review).

Since my mum accompanied me on this trip, we had to book a room with two beds and this was a suite with living area, a small kitchen and two separate bedrooms (basically like a mini apartment).
View was not spectacular, as we overlooked an apartment complex, but this was of no real concern, to be honest.
The hotel is situated near the V & A Waterfront, which is basically like the harbour and marina area.
Now you can walk it (takes about ten to fifteen mins,depending on your walking speed) or you can ask the hotel to book a shuttle for you, but this all depends on driver availability, so if you have a time critical appointment, ask them to call you a cab (there are usually three or four cabs waiting outside, but let the staff direct you to the most appropriate one).
There are several bars and restaurants located within easy walking distance of the hotel and walking there at night is not an issue (we felt quite safe generally).
Avoid a restaurant called Marios, which has lousy service and a limited menu (I had a dodgy stomach for three days after having veal there).
Booking trips and tours is childs play as they have a dedicated travel desk,manned by knowledgeable staff who can advise you of the best places to see in Cape Town.
Note, that if you plan on going to Robben Island, advise the travel desk early on, as the tours fill up very fast and you normally have to book in advance.

Now sadly here are a few gripes

1. Beware of the showers as they do not seem to mix hot and cold water properly. What you have to do is turn on the hot tap, wait three minutes, then turn on the cold tap and then play mix DJ as you try and blend hot and cold to the right ambient temperature (no such thing as a quick shower in Cape Royale)
2. Hot and cold taps on the sink are slightly better, but just be careful, as the hot water can be scaldingly hot
3. Extractor fan in bathrooms did not seem to function at all. In most bathrooms, when you put the light on, the fan kicks in automatically, but not here
4. Closet rail extremely high. You literally have to step into the closet and streach up to hang your clothes on the hangers.
5. Only one room safe. If you are sharing a double room with a partner or someone you trust, not an issue, but surely if you give a suite and it has two rooms, why not have two safes as well.
Bit of a 'scratch head' moment.

Now with regards to the restaurant, for breakfast it's great with excellent service, but for dinner, go down to waterfront or check out some of the local restaurants (Hudsons on Somerset and Manos are both a stones throw away).
And if you do have brekkie there,avoid the french toast, as it's pretty awful (nothing like the quality you would get in US hotels).
Cereals are good and they do an excellent selection of rolls and other baked goods for you to try.
If you like your coffee strong, then you'll love the coffee there (me personally, I can't do that).

To summarize- if you want a pleasurable and enjoyable Cape Town experience, then stay at Cape Royale

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londongeezer222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
What a Gem of a Review.
Thank you very much for your detailed review of our hotel. I am pleased that you did enjoy your stay with us. I am also very grateful for the constructive comments you have given us, particularly in reference to the shower, the bathroom fan, the French toast at breakfast etc. I assure you we will attend to these matters.

I do hope if travelling to Cape Town again in the near future, you will please come back and stay with us. Once again thanks for your comments.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillion, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This hotel provided an outstanding experience for our first visit to Cape Town. The rooms were wonderful and provided great amenities including coffee and butler areas and turn down service. We had a deluxe suite which perfectly met our needs. The staff was incredible and the best part of this hotel. They were warm, genuine and really helped to make our trip one to remember. They helped us create memorable day trips, had great restaurant and excursion recommendations and were overall attentive to our needs and concerns. We enjoyed the Equinox spa, the delicious breakfasts, room service and ate dinner one night in the Bistro 1800. The hotel location was a convenient walk to the V & A Waterfront. We would highly recommend this hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbstroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thanks for this fabulous review about our lovely hotel, the service provided and especially your comments about our staff. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional guest service, that is warm and friendly to our guests.

Please do come back to join us for a repeat of your wonderful stay when you are next in Cape Town.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Cape Royale was out first stop on our Western Cape experience, whilst the entrance with the gong is a little over the top and signing the guest card with a huge feather pen is a little surreal the restof the experiece is first class.

Our room was a 1 bedroom suite, which overlooked a road to the side of main road, not an unpleasant view but would liketo get a seafacing room next time.

the room was perfect and presented to a very high standard with an IPOD dock and two TVs, having the fridge was nice but we didnt use anyhing in terms of the kitchenette.

Roof top pool was smaller than i first imagined, but a great place for a sundowner with views overlooking the stadium and down towards the waterfront.

Bistro 1800, the hotels restauarant was amazing and very reasonably priced, you must try the steaks, best that i haveever had.

The location was good, a 10 minute stroll down to the waterfront area

Overall we loved this hotel and will definately return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
And a perfect review you have given us. Thank you very much.
It is great to read your feedback and to learn about your experience. I am glad you managed to make use of and enjoy the hotel facilities such as the Sky Bar, Bistro 1800.
I do hope the rest of your Western Cape Experience was just as perfect as your time with us at Cape Royale.

Safe travels and I hope we would have the opportunity to welcome you back, one day in the future.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

3rd time staying here. And we live in Cape Town. Always a pleasant experience, treated very well (almost too much pampering from the staff !!) Great spot to stay when something is happening in the city and I am sure great place to stay while on vacation. Central location, clean, friendly.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stewart_Stoffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Royal Guest

Stunning review, thank you very much.
Thank you also for your support. We look forward to welcoming you back....hopefully in the not too distant future.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,730 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing